Number Ones has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by nagiry
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Number Ones Best of

4 out of 5 stars 31 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 7.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
32 new from CDN$ 7.99 17 used from CDN$ 4.49

Frequently Bought Together

  • Number Ones
  • +
  • The Essential Michael Jackson
  • +
  • Thriller (Vinyl)
Total price: CDN$ 49.98
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 18 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Best of
  • Label: Sony Music Canada
  • ASIN: B0000DJE9R
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  DVD  |  UMD for PSP
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 31 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #4,707 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
2. Rock With You
3. Billie Jean
4. Beat It
5. Thriller
6. I Just Can't Stop Loving You
7. Bad
8. Smooth Criminal
9. The Way You Make Me Feel
10. Man in the Mirror
11. Dirty Diana
12. Black or White
13. You Are Not Alone
14. Earth Song
15. You Rock My World
16. Break of Dawn
17. One More Chance
18. Ben

Product Description

This CD collects all 17 of Michael's #1 hits plus the new song "One More Chance."

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Michael Jackson's sanity is clearly a matter of debate, but only a fool would deny his talent and chart supremacy since leaving Motown. "Number Ones" is yet another collection featuring the usual lineup of his classic hits: "Billie Jean," "Don't Stop Til You Get Enough," "Beat It," "Rock With You," and so on. The tracklisting is presented in chronological order, starting with material from "Off the Wall," right up to the previously unreleased R. Kelly ballad "One More Chance" and a somewhat unnecessary live performance of "Ben." There isn't much for me to comment about the hits themselves, except to say that unless you've been living in a 25 year coma, you're already familiar with 90% of this album. But the problems with "Number Ones" are twofold: first, the tracklisting overlaps Jackson's previous hits album "HIStory." Do we really need yet another recycling of songs millions of us already have? Also, not all of the tracks on "Number Ones" topped the chart, such as the excellent "Smooth Criminal" and "Break of Dawn," a cut off 2001's "Invincible" that was never even released as a single. Is "Number Ones" a competent survey of Jackson's biggest hits? Yes, it is. But is it a necessary purchase? Not if you already own "HIStory." While listeners green to Jackson's work should pick this up, "Number Ones" brings almost nothing new to the table for those who already own his prior albums.
0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
It may seem like overkill for MJ to release another greatest hits album after 2001's "Michael Jackson Greatest Hits HIStory Volume 1", but these songs are strong enough to warrant it (all of them were number one hits). This set omits the songs "She's Out of My Life", "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'", "The Girl Is Mine" and "Remember The Time" that appeared on the 2001 greatest hits disc but adds 8 (!) other hits. "Smooth Criminal", "Dirty Diana", "You Are Not Alone", "Earth Song", "You Rock My World", "Break of Dawn", his newest song "One More Chance" and the concert version of "Ben" from The Jacksons live album. Although there are some number one hits still omitted, this CD is the more complete of the two. As a bonus, the songs are presented in chronological order this time too.
The CD has been released in four different covers representing separate eras of his solo career. Who knows which one Amazon will ship, but the cover pictured is my favorite. Don't worry about not getting your favorite cover though as all are included in the bookelt. Which brings me to the only downside to this collection - the skimpy liner notes. Every greatest hits colection should list release date and chart information. Not all of these songs were number one hits in the U.S. It would be nice to know where it hit number one and how long it held the position.
MJ fans probably already have all 6 of his CD's and therefore the main reason to get this CD is for the new song "One More Chance" which is classic MJ R&B. If you only have one or two of his CD's then NUMBER ONES will be a perfect addition to your collection. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
There's nothing wrong with the songs on this CD. It's a good Hits album- as strong as Greatest Hits Vol. 1 (it repeats 10 songs from that CD), and a worthwhile purchase for Michael Jackson beginners. But the concept has some flaws. Number Ones? Glancing over the US and UK charts, these songs didn't go #1 in either Country: Thriller, Smooth Criminal, You Rock My World, Break Of Dawn. The version of Ben on this CD is a live cut from a 1981 Jacksons live LP (couldn't they license the original?, which was a #1). Earth Song went to #1 in the UK. As for the above 4, it's a mystery as the where they went to the top. There are no liner notes or chart information. Oddly, the title track to Michael's 1997 remix CD, Blood On The Dance Floor, which went to #1 in the UK doesn't get a nod here. Nor does Say Say Say, the duet with Paul McCartney. One note: the version of Don't Stop is the DJ 3:55 version-not the LP version. All of this may sound like nitpicking. But if you're gonna market a CD called Number Ones, then be prepared to back up your facts. This is a good Hits CD. If you're new to Michael Jackson and just want the goods, then this or Greatest Hits Vol. 1 will do.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By Aaron on Nov. 19 2003
Format: Audio CD
First off, all of these singles were not #1 hits so the title is misleading. Some were: "Billie Jean", "Bad", "Black or White", etc. Some were not: "Thriller", "You Rock My World", "Smooth criminal.
In the 80's, Michael Jackson recorded some incredible music that was really cool and innovative at the time. His singles are still cool, but have grown kinda tired over time as classics sometimes do. But by the early 90's Michael was really starting to change and now he seems like a completely different person and with the exception of "You Are Not Alone", his music after the "Dangerous" album just falls flat. This collection really was not needed at all. His "History" album or "Vol. 1 Greatest Hits" are completely suitable collections. This does include his new song "One More Chance" .... Still, there were already collections avaliable and this really doesn't offer much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Look for similar items by category