Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
Of Ruine Or Some Blazing ... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Of Ruine Or Some Blazing Starr Import

Price: CDN$ 20.92 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 16.16 4 used from CDN$ 16.14

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 26 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Sonic Unyon Records
  • ASIN: B000VGSQ86
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. A Voice From Catland
2. Steven And I In the Field Of Stars
3. The Teeth Of the Winds Of the Sea
4. 'Moonlight,' You Will Say
5. Into the Bloody Hole I Go
6. The Darkly Spendid World
7. The Cloud Of Unknowing
8. Let Us Go To the Rose
9. All the World Make Great Blood
10. The Great, Bloody, Bruised And Silent Veil Of the World
11. Into the Menstrual Night I Go
12. Dormition And Dominion
13. So: This Empire Is Nothing
14. This Shining Shining World

Product Description

Originally released in 1994, Current 93's masterpiece Of Ruine Or Some Blazing Starre followed the classic Thunder Perfect Mind album and marked another leap forward for the band. Michael Cashmore's gorgeously delicate guitar, augmented by drones, bells, and sound manipulations, help to make this one of C93's most musically hypnotic albums, with David Tibet's vocals and text adding a quietly controlled power and drama virtually unsurpassed in the Current 93 canon.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 10 reviews
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
my all time favourite record March 28 2002
By Z. Komar - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is, without any doubt, one of the best c93 records. It is incredibly cohesive both in music and quality/imagery of the lyrics (it is said in the liner notes it should be regarded as one piece of music), but it doesn't get even close to being boring at ANY point of the whole recording. Why? Because the substance, the meaning, the point the album develops from the very beginning til the end is extremely powerful, completely focused and vivid. What supports the meaning of the words is incredible passion and enthusiasm of Tibet's vocal which has meaning within itself. You could listen to the WAY he expresses himself without listening to the actual words and actually hear everything. Every little subtlety is there in his voice. Also, his poetry is extremely inspired, it always is, but on this record particularly. The music supports the vocal perfectly. It is consisted of Cashmore's guitar compositions which are really incredible and very effective drones by Steven Stapleton which really do add a surreal and deeper tone to it all, shifting music to some other plane (as if it wasn't shifted already). The drones swirl around Cashmore's guitar and Tibet's voice taking compositions out of time and space. This piece of art is timeless as it deals with things that shall exist as long as there are humans. Do not miss this delicate spiritual experience.
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
The Broken Heart of Man Sept. 24 2001
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I may be biased toward the calmer Gnostic side of this band. So, please consider that disclaimer when I say this is my favourite piece of Tibet's work to date. What is finished in 'All the Pretty Little Horses' is what starts here.
Heavily Inspired by Pascale and Wain (*again), this album is slow, deliberate, and wide of heart. It is not the rolicking fever of Lashtal and the like. It is internal and lovely.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Most pleasant and thoughtful Aug. 16 2005
By spizzletrunk - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is the best cd that has ever been made.

The Broken Heart of Man
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Tibet's masterpiece April 23 2004
By Robert E. Murena Jr. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Taking the styles developed on Thunder Perfect Mind which took well-developed folk formats and very lush scores similar to the band Sands, Of Ruine or Some Blazing Star is truly an inspirational and original album which is probably the pinnacle of David Tibets creative talent. Pulling away from his tape loop styles slightly this album mixes the right amount of noise and melody to make it an album that always has great replay value. Owning this album for nearly a decade I never am bored by it and rate highly
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Let Us Go To The Rose March 31 2008
By Philippe Landry - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This album should be played in conjunction with a reading of The Secret of the Rosary, particularly "the Seventh Rose", as well as Lives of the Saints, with special emphasis on the lives of Saints Genevieve and Julian. An intense and unhurried masterpiece, Of Ruine Or Some Blazing Star is like one rose in a decade of the Rosary. Definitely one of Current 93's best. Let us go to the Rose, indeed.

Look for similar items by category


Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images?