Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review [Paperback]

Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.95
Price: CDN$ 15.85 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.10 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Wednesday, July 30? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback CDN $15.85  
There is a newer edition of this item:
The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review 2015 with Online Question Bank and Exclusive Video The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review 2015 with Online Question Bank and Exclusive Video
CDN$ 17.29
In Stock.
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Sept. 8 2009 Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review
The only official quantitative review for the GMAT from the creators of the test

Anyone preparing for the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) knows it's important to study with the experts. With The Official Guide for the GMAT Quantitative Review, Second Edition, you'll get questions, answers, and explanations straight from the source. The only official quantitative review for the GMAT Exam, this book targets your study and helps you improve your quantitative skills by focusing on your ability to solve equations, interpret data, coordinate geometry, and determine probability with assurance and ease. Inside, you'll find

  • 300 actual questions from past GMAT tests, including 75 questions new to this edition
  • Sections on Arithmetic, Algebra, Geometry, Problem Solving, and Data Sufficiency
  • Questions organized in order of difficulty to save study time

The Graduate Management Admission Council certifies all content so you can trust that you're getting expert guidance as you prepare for the GMAT Exam.

The Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) is the association of leading graduate business schools around the world. GMAC's mission is to meet the needs of business schools and students through a wide array of products, services, and programs. It is the owner and administrator of the Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT), the first and only standardized test specifically designed for graduate business and management programs. Available in nearly 100 countries, it is the global standard for entry to the MBA degree course.


Frequently Bought Together

The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review + The Official Guide for GMAT Verbal Review + The Official Guide for GMAT Review
Price For All Three: CDN$ 63.01

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • The Official Guide for GMAT Verbal Review CDN$ 15.85

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • The Official Guide for GMAT Review CDN$ 31.31

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From the Back Cover

The only study guide with 300 past GMAT questions—and their answers—by the creators of the test.
  • Actual questions from past GMAT tests, including 75 questions new to this edition

  • 300 past Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions and answer explanations spanning Arithmetic, Algebra, Geometry, and Word Problems

  • Questions organized in order of difficulty to save study time

From the Graduate Management Admission Council

Trust the only official quantitative review for the gmat from the creators of the test!

Anyone preparing for the GMAT exam knows it's important to study with the experts. With The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review, 2nd Edition, you'll get questions, answers, and explanations straight from the source. An excellent supplement to The Official Guide for GMAT Review,12th Edition, this book helps you target your study and further hone your math and reasoning skills.

Inside you'll find:

  • 300 actual questions from past GMAT tests—including 75 questions new to this edition

  • Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions spanning Arithmetic, Algebra, Geometry, and Word Problems

  • Questions organized in order of difficulty to save study time

Visit www.mba.com to:

  • Get 2 free downloadable tests and practice questions

  • Sign up for the GMAT Teasers, a weekly practice question

  • Register to take the GMAT exam

About the Author

The Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC) is the association of leading graduate business schools around the world. GMAC's mission is to meet the needs of business schools and students through a wide array of products, services, and programs. It is the owner and administrator of the Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT), the first and only standardized test specifically designed for graduate business and management programs. Available in nearly 100 countries, it is the global standard for entry to the MBA degree course.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for GMAT Quant basics July 29 2011
Format:Paperback
This guide provides a basic review of the concepts tested in the GMAT quantitative section. It could provide a little bit more test-taking strategy on how to tackle the 600+ level questions but this is where you should start as a foundation to taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical Official Guide Resource for the GMAT Feb. 12 2011
Format:Paperback
If you are writing the GMAT this is one of a series of official guide books. It is critical. The questions, content and disposition of this material will make or break your GMAT success.

Good luck. See you in Biz school.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  56 reviews
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for GMAT OG Quant Sept. 18 2009
By hopeful - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
The GMAT OG Quantitative book should be an essential book for anyone preparing for the GMAT.

The Good:
You'll get hands on experience with real GMAT quant questions that have been previously administered on actual tests, but have now been retired. Since the questions in this book were once part of the actual test, you'll know exactly what type of questions to expect when you take your test.

How to Turn the Good to Work:
To make the best use of this book, use it after you undergo a thorough review of all the math concepts. The best source for doing so would be the Kaplan book if you need a quick refresher, or the EZ Solutions GMAT series if you need a thorough review of each and every math concept imaginable.

The Bad:
Although this book has real test questions, the level of difficulty doesn't go too high. If you are specifically aiming for 700+ score, you ought to do a lot more practice question than what you can find in this book. The answer explanations are not that great because of two main reasons. First, the explanations are not clear. Second, sometimes you can find an easier/shorter way to reach the answer. Moreover, don't expect to get any review of any math content in this book.

How to Overcome the Bad:
Like mentioned above, use the EZ Solutions GMAT series for in-depth math review and practicing problems of all level, from basic to advanced. Another great resource would be the Kaplan math workbook to get some additional practice problems.

The Bottom Line:
In spite of the "bad's," the "good's" makes this book a must-have for all GMAT takers. For under $15, you'll get to see real math questions published by the test makers. Before you turn to any other book for practice, this should be your first choice. Of course, like I mentioned earlier, you'll need to seek additional sources for reviewing math concepts and practicing math question.

Final Note:
Whatever your case may be, do not skip this book. I can't stress enough, but if you are preparing for the GMAT, get this book, along with the main Official Guide.

In my opinion, the above is exactly what you will get from this book, not an inch more, not an inch less. I hope my review would help at least a few of you, if not everyone. Thanks for reading. Good luck.
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It didn't do me justice. Nov. 9 2010
By matthew wanat - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I just took the Gmat. As in 30 minutes ago. I already wrote a review on the verbal gmat review and now came over to review the quantitative. The exam was much harder than this book. There were questions on the GMAT that are far more complex and difficult than are contained in this review or the official GMAT review. This book is ok for giving you the basic layout and ideas, but it just didn't come close to what I just went through. I know it sounds like I'm griping because I did poorly on the quantitative section. But take it as a warning. I know I studied well and had other books to go along with this review guide. I studied the principles and problems contained within this book, but when it came to the actual test, there were questions I simply didn't recognize. The practice tests on MBA.com didn't do me much good either apparently. Where I excelled at the verbal, I fell far short on my expectations on the quantitative. On average of the practice scores compared to my actual score, I dropped 24 percentile points!!! THAT'S 24 PERCENTILE POINTS!!! This book and the practice tests aren't difficult enough. They aren't in depth enough. My +17 points on the verbal, netted me at a percentile ranking 10 percentile points below what the practice test told me. Basically, 30 points lower than I averaged on the practice tests and 60 points lower than I wanted to score on the actual test. Needless to say, I am more than disappointed by this book.

It will help to get you started. But don't trust that this is the level to be expected. You have to find harder problems!!
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same as quantitative section in The Official Guide for GMAT Review June 25 2013
By Wildtigers08 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Was hoping for additional problems etc, but its the same material as The Official Guide for GMAT Review. No need to buy both
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much different from 1st Edition - 28 new hard questions Sept. 4 2009
By GMAT Club (Expert) - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
There are 44 new Problem Solving and 31 new Data Sufficiency Questions (a total of 75 new questions out of 300).

--- List of Changes:---
Problem Solving (PS)
- 4 new easy questions
- 21 new medium questions
- 19 new hard questions
Data Sufficiency
- 13 new easy questions
- 8 new medium questions
- 9 new hard questions

The main issue with the first edition was low question difficulty. This edition addresses the issue slightly, but as you can see, not by much. One issue that was fixed is the total number of questions. The first edition claimed (just like this one) to have 300 questions, but only had 294 - how can you make that mistake in the Official Guide for Quantitative Review? The question split is 176 for PS and 124 for DS.

As to content, changes, it is interesting to see many of the tables and data-interpretation questions go and addition of sequence questions. Also, DS lost many of its arithmetic questions, which were replaced by Word Problems.

Overall - pretty much the same book - would have loved to see more new questions, but $12 for 28 new hard and 29 medium REAL questions is not bad. By the way, the first edition is on sale right now The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review for $6.78!

Here is the full list of new questions for reference:
PS: 1, 2, 7, 41, 56, 60, 61, 62, 64, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 78, 79, 80, 81, 83, 102, 103, 108, 112, 117, 131, 135, 142, 145, 146, 147, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155, 156, 157, 158, 160, 162, 173

DS: 1, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 21, 22, 24, 31, 33, 43, 48, 51, 66, 70, 73, 79, 82, 85, 96, 102, 104, 106, 107, 111, 116, 117, 122

Good Luck on your GMAT!
BB - GMAT 750 - Founder of GMAT Club
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time! March 31 2012
By JEllis - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I studied this entire book, sat for the GMAT and did absolutely terrible. I don't think this book covered even a single question that the GMAT exam actually asked me. Going into the exam I felt prepared and thought as though I would do well on this portion of the test, nope, this review guide didn't prepare me at all for the type of quantitative questions that were asked.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback