Opera Arias has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Opera Arias Import

Price: CDN$ 19.76 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
11 new from CDN$ 7.63 2 used from CDN$ 7.62

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 12 2008)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Imports
  • ASIN: B0011X9S4E
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. L'amerò, sarò costante (Il Re pastore KV 208: Aminta, 2.Akt)
2. Voi, che sapete (Le Nozze di Figaro: Cherubino, 2.Akt)
3. Giunse alfin il momento - Deh vieni, non tardar (Le Nozze di Figaro: Susanna, 3.Akt)
4. Porgi amor (Le Nozze di Figaro: Contessa, 3.Akt)
5. Welcher Kummer ... - Traurigkeit ward mir zum Lose (Die Entführung aus dem Serail: Konstanze, 2.Akt)
6. Solitudini amiche ... Zeffiretti lusinghieri (Idomeneo KV 366: Ilia, 3.Akt)
7. In quali eccessi - Mi tradì quell' alma ingrata (Don Giovanni: Donna Elvira, 2.Akt)
8. Crudele? - Non mi dir bell' idol mio (Don Giovanni: Donna Anna, 2.Akt)
9. Come scoglio (Così fan tutte: Fiordiligi, 1.Akt)
10. Laudate Dominum
11. Laudate Dominum
12. Exsultate, jubilate
13. Fulget amica
14. Tu virginum -
15. Alleluia

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xaa2826c0) out of 5 stars 7 reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9db8d68) out of 5 stars We lost her far too soon........ Aug. 21 2008
By Robert C. Hufford - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The late soprano Lucia Popp was a real treasure in earthen vessel...she matured over the years from a coloratura to a lyrico-spinto, on several occasions singing different roles from those she had done earlier in the same operas. She NEVER failed to bring joy.........

Lucia was born to sing Mozart, and the great composer might well have written with her in mind. This release from at least two LPs is 77'24" of pure perfection. I'll only mention two examples...three cuts from "The Marriage of Figaro" show her in three different rolls, all done with beauty and style. The closing "Exsultate, jubilate" is as close as we're likely to get to Heaven's music this side of eternity.

Lucia was a pure delight, stolen from us by a brain tumor. She never failed to give us her all...grab this, and meet a truly great singer.
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9bbf0fc) out of 5 stars Grateful that we had Popp Aug. 27 2008
By Lin FENG SHENG - Published on Amazon.com
I have to especially comment upon Popp's rendition of Mozart's famous motet "Exsultate, jubilate." I was actually very MOVED -- I know the piece is in turn peacefully and innocently joyous, but I was really MOVED, almost to tears. Amazing. One hardly needs to listen to other recorded versions by all those chirpy light sopranos. Listen to Popp -- one graceful but far from aloof or condescending, agile and bright in timbre but also substantial.

There must be a heaven, since Popp is a more than first-rate angel. "Angel/angelic" are terms much abused, but here... one has to amaze at the absolute perfection in every turn of phrases, the taut legato lines, and beautifully placed notes with all the rounded shine of them. I tend to think that one should be grateful that we were given a Mozart, and today I have to say we ought also to be grateful for a Popp.

[To be sure, the orchestra accompaniment is rather old-fashioned, but that shouldn't distract the pleasure.]

As for other pieces, Popp doesn't necessarily enlighten as much in them, but her performance is never less than superb. Her sincerity and love for music are everwhere apparent. It's nice that Popp tackles the two donnas' arias from DON GIOVANNI. She's probably more of an Anna instead of an Elvira, whose aria taxes her somewhat on high and requires a deeper kind of sorrow. Still, all in all this is a great CD indeed, and no music lover should deprive him-/herself of this most treasurable and enjoyable experience.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9bbf114) out of 5 stars A Soulful Artist June 21 2009
By Artiste - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The original issue of this recording is the first CD I ever bought, well over twenty years ago. I listened to it a bazillion times on my single-disc player, and grew to adore this lovely Mozart voice. I still listen to the disc (I have the remastered version on my iPod), as well as others of Popp's. "Soulful" comes to mind for me in describing her singing; I don't know what else to call it. It's beautiful, it communicates and it's a joy to experience. What more do you require from art?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa000c30) out of 5 stars Lucia - we love you even IF you have imperfections! Feb. 19 2009
By Abert - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The liner notes of this remastered version of Mozart album from the late queen of lyrical sopranos Lucia Popp was written by Grammphone's top vocal critic Mr. John Steane.
Mr. Steane chose to point out the 'imperfections' of Lucia's singing.
First of all, he claimed that Lucia had a metallic edge that marrs a truly pure voice.
I don't know what standard of 'purity' is being aimed at. I myself are not that scared of 'edginess', if such do not surface at wrong places. Lucia's so-called edginess NEVER surfaced in any unbecoming manner. Yea, it was there, but, SO WHAT?
The voice is VERY beautiful, so beautiful that NO soprano today could ever come close - not Damrau, not Netrebko, no way Gheorghiu, no way Fleming.
So? Why complain? Why split hairs?
Music is made for enjoyment, not for crticism's sake. Give me a break!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9c5a8d0) out of 5 stars Lucia Popp still spectacular! Nov. 28 2011
By Bo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This has been one of my favorite recordings since I first heard it. I would recommend it to anyone who likes Mozart or just wonderful soprano arias performed flawlessly. The CD arrived on time and in the condition promised.

Look for similar items by category