Orff: Carmina Burana has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Orff: Carmina Burana
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Orff: Carmina Burana

Price: CDN$ 6.43 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 3.22 5 used from CDN$ 4.24

Artists to Watch
Artists to Watch
Be the first to hear about the hottest emerging artists. Featuring ten new artists each month, Artists to Watch will help you stay in the know when it comes to up-and-coming artists. See all of this month's picks

Product Details

1. Carmina burana
2. O Fortuna
3. Fortune plango vulnera
4. Veris leta facies
5. Omnia sol remperat
6. Ecce gratum
7. Tanz
8. Floret silva
9. "Chramer, gip die Varwe mir"
10. Reie
11. Were diu werlt alle min
12. Estuans interius
13. Olim lacus colueram
14. Ego sum abbas Cucaniensis
15. In taberna quando sumus
16. Amor volat undique
17. "Dies, nox et omnia"
18. Stetit puella
19. Circa mea pectora
20. Si puer cum puellula
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Warmly felt, spontaneous, exciting, and beautifully sung May 16 2014
By Long-time Listener - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
(This is a remastered release of Slatkin's 1990s recording; the sound here has marginally more presence than the original release.)

Slatkin here clearly outdoes a number of other well-known recordings of Carmina Burana. His performance is notable for its warmth, energy, and visceral excitement, tinged with baudiness where appropriate; there is also beautiful singing and a lovely handling of melody. In those respects it is clearly better than the somewhat cool and reserved Daniel Harding release on DGG, and also clearly better than the early RCA Seiji Ozawa, which also suffers from a rather square, solemn approach that misses some of the necessary festive quality and sense of abandon. The extra energy and flexibility of Slatkin's conducting pays dividends in terms of a more natural and spontaneous quality that benefits Orff's work greatly. Even James Levine, who basically handles the piece very well, sounds stiff and overly refined by comparison.

A natural comparison will be Jochum's reading on DGG, long hailed as a definitive version. The direct utterance of Orff's Carmina Burana needs playing and singing that can match its simplicity and unaffected charm. Both Jochum and Slatkin have that, and certainly Jochum directs one of the strongest performances on record, though he could relax a little more in some of the slower sections. Both also have warm and fairly close-up sound that adds to their earthiness. Where Slatkin wins out is in the quality of his singers. Haken Hagegard acquits himself quite well throughout, with pleasing tone and delivery; John Aler's tenor does better, I think, in the Olim lacus colueram; and finally, Jochum's Gundula Janowitz can't match the touching, unaffected charm of Sylvia McNair in the In Trutina, or the ease and beauty of her delivery in the Dulcissime.

All in all, this is a thoroughly delightful trip through the world of Carmina Burana. (And I thank the other Amazon reviewers, whose enthusiasm encouraged me to buy this.)

Look for similar items by category