Organ Works Vol. 1 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Shipped from the US -- Expect delivery in 1-2 weeks. Former Library material - Used CD. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits World Literacy!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Organ Works Vol. 1 Import

Price: CDN$ 26.66 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
3 new from CDN$ 26.65 5 used from CDN$ 11.68

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 20 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: MD&G Records
  • ASIN: B000A0D566
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Praludium Und Fuge
2. Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen
3. Variationen Uber Den Basso Continuo Des Ersten Satzes Der Kantate
4. Aus Tiefer Not Schrei Ich Zu Dir
5. Adagio
6. Einleitung Und Fuge Aus Der Kantate
7. Oassacaglia BWV 582 C Minor

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa3c43330) out of 5 stars 1 review
HASH(0xa3c5e0c0) out of 5 stars An interesting release - with some qualifications March 18 2015
By G.D. - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
To some ears this may sound as heresy, but I am very unsure what I really think of Liszt’s organ works. To me they sound suspiciously like what a first-rate composer for the piano may write when first getting hold of an organ (indeed) and, overwhelmed by the aural potentials momentarily forget most of what she or he knows about composition, melody, counterpoint and so on because he or she is caught up in exploring the sonorities – “hey, even a plain C major chord sounds majest; let’s hold it down for five seconds. Wow.” Whereas composers like Franck or Widor mastered the organ and its potential, the organ seems to have mastered Liszt. And he had access to (and conceived much of his organ music for) the largest organ in Germany at the time; I’m not sure that helped.

That organ has been restored, and is the instrument used on the recording at hand, which should add a bit of interest to this release, both for organ aficionados and Liszt fans. And it does undeniably sound splendid; gloriously grand and colorful. The topic of the release is the connection between Liszt and Bach, and opens with Liszt's perhaps most famous organ work, the Präludium und Fuge über das Thema B-A-C-H, which is overall excellently performed here, though Michael Schönheit is perhaps a bit short on drama. The other original Liszt work is the Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen variations, which is a good example, I think, of the worry I expressed above – though it sounds imposing in this version (performance and instrument), it is musically a relatively shallow affair.

Liszt’s Bach transcriptions sound good primarily because of the originals. Somewhat interesting bonuses, however, are the original Bach works, the Passacaglia BWV 582 and the Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen prelude, played following 19th century registration plans (by Liszt pupils or colleagues). They sound undeniably romantic – stylistically really not such a far cry from Liszt’s own works, in fact, but better. Overall Schönheit’s performances are imposing if lacking a little bit in fire and drama. While I have some reservations about the music, I know that many others do not, and at least for them this should be a very interesting release.