Start reading Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Read books on your computer or other mobile devices with our FREE Kindle Reading Apps.
Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Marlayna Glynn Brown)
 
See larger image
 

Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Marlayna Glynn Brown) [Kindle Edition]

Marlayna Glynn Brown

Print List Price: CDN$ 16.85
Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.54 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 11.31 (67%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.54  
Paperback CDN $16.51  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*

Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning true tale of survival and resilience recorded in spare and convincing prose. This memoir describes the author's turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood in a haunting voice full of simple youthful perception.

Born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment amidst fallen adults, Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the people entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen.

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

"The language of gambling makes an interesting and recurrent motif throughout this memoir, asserting that it is only by chance that any one of us could have traveled this very same road. Decks are shuffled, hands are played. An ultimately uplifting, beautifully written, and inspiring memoir." - Fiona Edmonds

About the Author

Marlayna Glynn Brown is an award-winning nomadic memoirist, photographer, screenwriter and yogi. She was born in Las Vegas, Nevada but now lives wherever she lays her head. Her short film, People That do Something, is based on a chapter from Overlay and can be viewed on Youtube.
 Marlayna Glynn Brown's published titles include: Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas* City of Angeles Big as All Hell And Half of Texas The Trilogy: Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown One Day The Invitations Will Stop Arriving: A Travel Memoir Lovers, Liars and Lotharios: Lessons Learned and Self Esteem Earned The Nomadic Memoirist: Award-Winning and Best-Selling Promotion and Marketing Tips for Authors Soon to be released: Rest In Pieces: My Father's Post-Life Journey Around the World *Winner of a 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Award in the Overcoming Adversity Category. Find Marlayna on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Linked In. Please visit Marlayna at www.marlaynaglynnbrown.com.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 683 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Marlayna Glynn Brown (Jan. 16 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007IKDI0Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #105,414 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars  247 reviews
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept reading well into the night...didn't want the story to end March 27 2012
By Ann Ryan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I couldn't put the book down; I kept turning the pages, reading well into the night.

A story of survival even in the most terrible of circumstances. A child who lost her innocence early on due to her mother's neglect and her father's alcoholism, but who ended up rising above it, guided by her own morality and sense of right/wrong, despite never being taught. It came from somewhere; within.

This book is about the author's childhood but I think there should be a sequel: I want to know how she managed to navigate this world as an adult when she essentially had to learn it all on her own. How did those childhood experiences shape her as she entered her 20s, 30s...? I guess that is a testament to the author: That I was left with wanting more, and was sad when the story ended.
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She acheives what few authors do: making you care April 3 2012
By Kelly - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
When I picked up this book, a part of me expected a quick read akin to the reprinting of years of diary entries. What I didn't expect was that within a few pages of the end, I would realize that in what remained of the story there was no way I was going to learn as much of her as I wanted to know.

Some authors are able to help the reader create an emotional connection with the characters they create, and in so doing make the reader somewhat sad at the final turn of the page that their journey with that character has ended. Forevermore these characters linger in our mind's eye, and we imagine that somewhere, in some dimension into which the author was able to give us a glimpse, the character is alive and continuing their journey. Marlayna accomplishes the same feeling of connection with her main character, a fact that is made all the more overwhelming when the reader realizes that her protagonist is not a fictional creation; she is real. And she weaves this story with a humanity that leaves the reader feeling as if the emotions could leap from the pages to underscore particularly poignant observations.

One of the things that make writing a memoir tricky (aside from overcoming the obvious question of "who would care?") is in telling a real life story in such a way that the reader feels as if the journey is shared and extraordinary, but not pedantic. Anyone wanting to know what it is like to navigate the minefield that is poverty and addiction, a task difficult enough for adults, but harder yet for children, needs to read this book. In her uniquely simple, unassuming way Ms. Brown presents her story in a fashion that leaves you with an undeniable urge to invent a time machine just to find her adolescent self, wrap her in a protective embrace and offer a heartfelt promise that "it will all be okay." And you'll mean it when you wish that you could.
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Memoir Jan. 9 2013
By our3BEES - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was hooked right away on this book. I truly could not put it down. It is a memoir about the author's life from ages 4-17. It was hard to hear of her struggles, especially knowing there are so many children with similar experiences. Her strength was very inspiring and would help others with similar struggles. I did not agree with her statement at the end that she takes responsibility for her actions. It felt as though she was putting part blame on herself which I didn't understand. She was a victim of her circumstances but she handled it the best that she could. Children in those situations have no choices-just survival.
I will definitely be reading her next book.
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting July 19 2012
By Mary Ann Castro - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
An easy read, seemed like the child herself was writing. Her lonely life was sad, and also the life of the surrounding children were very sad. I am a few years older than she, and I too had an alcoholic father who left us when I was 6 and the youngest of 4. When my mother had to go on welfare, we finally had fruit and other good food in the house. At least I did have a loving mother who sewed clothes for us and rode the bus everywhere and took us to clinics for our health and once for my teeth. (I too had bad teeth.) I'm glad she has children of her own to finally have a family. I do want to continue to read her next book to see how as an adult, she dealt with men, drinking, smoking, eating habits, and bringing up a family.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Abhor Alcoholism, Abuse, but most of all Abandonment Sept. 16 2013
By Soozy - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed, if that is a relative word to use in this tragic child alcohol, abuse and abandonment book. The very fact that Marlayna rose above the disease and destruction of her life and the lives around her is astounding to me. I grew up with an alcoholic father then went on to marry an alcoholic, so I know the drill although not to your extent. I'm 63 years old and after all these years Marlayna made me realize that all my life I unwittingly put up with relationships and tried to fix relationships that I should have cut from the get go! My marriage (now divorce) produced 4 wonderful grown children although one is now unfortunately an alcoholic. However the relationships I'm talking about are ones that were before my marriage. Alcoholism, the disease, takes us all down! So Marlayna, I thank you, in my golden years, for opening my eyes to a fact I should have realized long ago. You are a survivor. I am too. Thank you for sharing your story, and I'm so terribly sorry that "the bottle" meant more to your parents than you did. But you are who you are today because of it. God bless. Great read.

Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xb3658ec4)