Overtures has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Price: CDN$ 20.81 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 12.29 9 used from CDN$ 6.76

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Composer: Moniuszko
  • Audio CD (Sept. 5 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cpo
  • ASIN: B000001RU5
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #296,731 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Halka
2. Hrabina
3. Verbum Bonile
4. Bajka-Winter's Tale
5. Jawnuta
6. Flis
7. Paria

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xaa91f0e4) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa76f5a0) out of 5 stars Obscurity of Moniuszko's music i so undeserved! Jan. 19 2008
By Roman J. Cybulski - Published on Amazon.com
Stanislaw Moniuszko: Overtures
Stanislaw Moniuszko: Overtures & Dances
I admit it - I am biased, being born in Poland, and used to listening a lot of Moniuszko's music on Polish radio. I now live in Australia and still hear Chopin, Wieniawski, Lutoslawski, Gorecki, Penderecki, Szymanowski ... but never Moniuszko. It seems Moniuszko's music is Poland's best kept secret - which should be revealed to the world. I have bought this CD and love it. I recommend it without hesitation to everybody who may be missing this marvellous music or never heard it in the first place.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa7759d8) out of 5 stars G.D.'s review hits the nail on the head... Sept. 30 2011
By orchestral21201 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Yes, this composer is one of Poland's best kept secrets. That being lifted from the first reviewer's text, and being the owner of the Witold Rowicki CD of mostly these same overtures, the difference between this CD and the one with Witold Rowicki as conductor are like night and day. Unfortunately, this CD is the "night" version. That is to say, Rowicki's performances on his older CD, particularly with regard to the overtures "Halka" and "The Raftsman," are animated as those of Leonard Bernstein's performances when he was young, and the tempos and articulations make the music very exciting and engaging. The performances here with Satanowski as conductor are for the most part completely uninspired, and do not do justice to this fine composer. It is as if these overtures were being conducted in the plodding manner of Otto Klemperer on one of his "off" days. Articulations by the orchestra are relatively poor or sloppy, and the recording engineer did not seem to be at his best either. I don't think conductor Satanowski understood this music at all. These overtures should be performed with all the zest of the Berlioz overtures, yet the conductor seemed to be in Strauss waltz mode here. My bottom line is that the definitive performance with modern sound (the Rowicki recordings date from the 1960's yet still sound great) is yet to be made. Since at this writing there is only one copy of the Rowicki CD available on Amazon at a rather high price, I'd recommend trying to find them at .mp3 sites. There are also some performances on YouTube that may also illustrate how this CD misses the boat on being a definitive recording.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa775e10) out of 5 stars Uninspired performances May 13 2009
By G.D. - Published on Amazon.com
Moniuszko's most famous operas, Halka and The Haunted Manor still retain places at the fringe of the repertoire (especially in Poland), and they are truly fine works, displaying strong melodic gifts and a fine ear for structure and instrumentation, and the results are often delightful, atmospheric music. A disc of overtures from mostly less famous operas should thus be very welcome. Unfortunatly, this disc doesn't really represent the pieces in the best possible light, since the performances are lacking severely in fire and excitement. In short, these are dull, plain run-throughs with little verve or vitality and in particular lacking in terms of dramatic contrasts. I have not heard the alternative older disc by Fitelberg and Rowicki, but I strongly suspect that it is vastly preferable to CPO's effort here. Sound quality is fine, for all its worth.