Pastoral Symphony/ Norfol... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pastoral Symphony/ Norfolk Rha Hybrid SACD

Price: CDN$ 22.58 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 18.37 1 used from CDN$ 23.45

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Composer: Vaughan Williams Ralph
  • Audio CD (June 3 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Chn
  • ASIN: B00008WQBB
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #44,959 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Norfolk Rhapsody No. 2 In D Minor - Larghetto-Allegro-Molto Tranquillo
2. I. Molto Moderato-Poco Tranquillo-Tempo I-Largamente-Tempo I
3. II. Lento Moderato-Poco Tranquillo, Tempo Rubato-Tempo I
4. III. Moderato Pesante-Poco Animato-A Tempo-Presto
5. IV. Lento-Moderato Maestoso-Animato-Poco Piu Lento- Tempo I
6. The Running Set - Presto
7. Norfolk Rhapsody No. 1 In E Minor - Adagio-Allegro Vivace-Tempo I (Lento)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa348fccc) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa32d1528) out of 5 stars A darker than usual "Pastoral"? Jan. 13 2014
By Long-Time Listener - Published on
The picture on the cover here is appropriate: a sunset behind a line of WWI soldiers trudging across the landscape. Vaughan Williams spoke of how, as an ambulance driver in WWI, he would stop in the evening and gaze at the sunset, and the symphony evokes not just English pastoral pastels, but the sadness of war and the intense desire for a haven of peace within (or after) it. This CD received attention in Stereophile magazine, not just for being beautifully recorded, but for evoking the darker wartime ambiance that Vaughan Williams presumably had in mind beyond mere English pastoral beauty. The symphony contains many moods.

Hickox's interpretive choices serve the music well, and his is likely the best among recent digital recordings. It may be that the introspection and mystery of much of Vaughan Williams' music makes it ideal for listening at home, rather than when seated in a concert hall and distracted by bright lighting and other concertgoers. Pastoral nature music does not do well in a concert hall environment.

The only recording I know of that I can say is better than this is Andre Previn's, with the London Symphony. Previn carefully shapes and sculpts this music, which can easily sound amorphous and directionless. We hear more clearly its themes, paragraphs, and larger structures; his long, unhurried lines allow the music to unfold with utmost naturalness, yet the scherzo still has plenty of energy and a sense of suppressed power. Previn's recording, however, dates from the '70s and sounds a little dry today, but on many systems will still sound quite good. I recall that Thomson's was also good, but haven't heard it lately; Boult's is perfunctory, with poor sound; Haitink's is also rather perfunctory.

For those capable of appreciating the subtle moods and effects of music like this, Vaughan Williams' Pastoral Symphony has always been and will always be a highly popular work.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa32d1930) out of 5 stars Vaughan Williams CD June 26 2014
By DDP - Published on
This is a lovely symphony that is gaining respect as a statement on the loss and memory of WWI--highly recommended and Evans is a wonderful soloist, too....
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa35c20e4) out of 5 stars Great RVW! April 18 2009
By Neaklaus - Published on
Verified Purchase
This SACD of Ralph Vaughan Williams works including the Symphony no. 3

features the premier recording of the Norfolk Rhapsody no. 2, which was

the Second of Three Rhapsodies that RVW composed intending to create a

Norfolk Symphony. Unfortunatly it never came off, and the Third Rhapsody

is lost to us. Richard Hickox and the LSO along with Soprano Rebecca

Evans deliver a very beautiful performance of the Symphony no. 3

Mr. Hickox and the LSO also bring us wonderful performances of the Norfolk

Rhapsody no. 1, and "The Running Set" The Symphony called "The Pastorale"

was RVW's way of trying to let the listener in on his thoughts and feelings concering

WWI were he served as a Private in the Royal Army Medical Corps in France.

I can easily recommend this recording as well as the other ones by

Mr. Hickox and the LSO of the Symphonies, and other works of RVW on the Chandos label.

These performances are a most welcome addition to the catalog.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa32d1b10) out of 5 stars buy this and listen to it Aug. 19 2014
By Robert and Jo Anna Oldani - Published on
Verified Purchase
hauntingly beautiful piece...highly, highly recocmmend
HASH(0xa32d1e64) out of 5 stars The performance was fine. My major issue was the order in which ... Jan. 30 2016
By Rob - Published on
Verified Purchase
The performance was fine. My major issue was the order in which the music was put on the CD. I would have preferred the Norfolk Rhapsodies played consecutively.