PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips: Top-Rated Favorites from Sewing Fans and Master Teachers [Paperback]

Deepika Prakash , Sandra Betzina
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.99
Price: CDN$ 15.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.12 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, July 28? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $10.72  
Paperback CDN $15.87  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Sept. 1 2010

This book contains the best hands-on insider sewing tips from the popular sewing website PatternReview.com, a community of more than 170,000 members. The entries are collected from the website’s enormous database of members’ shared comments and advice, rated by hits and reviews. Also included are five special how-to features by PatternReview.com's master teachers and pattern designers, who regularly conduct online chats and workshops (including Kenneth King, Susan Khalje, Sarah Veblen, Shannon Gifford, and Anna Mazur).


Frequently Bought Together

Customers buy this book with The Colette Sewing Handbook: Inspired Styles and Classic Techniques for the Modern Seamstress CDN$ 19.75

PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips: Top-Rated Favorites from Sewing Fans and Master Teachers + The Colette Sewing Handbook: Inspired Styles and Classic Techniques for the Modern Seamstress
Price For Both: CDN$ 35.62

Show availability and shipping details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

Prakash, Deepika. PatternReview.com 1,000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts & Tips: Top-Rated Favorites from Sewing Fans and Master Teachers. Creative Pub: Quayside. 2010. 168p. illus. index. ISBN 9781589235021. pap. $19.99. FIBER CRAFTS
The title says it all. Prakash has assembled a plethora of handy sewing tips from her popular website, PatternReview.com. The tips are brief and arranged by general topic, from organizing one’s sewing space to sewing. “Master Classes” on specialized topics, such as sewing knits or embroidering with beads, are interspersed. There’s a lot of good information here, crafters with sewing experience are sure to find something useful. - Library Journal, December 1, 2010

About the Author

Deepika Prakash founded PatternReview.com in 2001. She travels extensively to meet PatternReview.com members and support small sewing businesses. She participates in sewing conferences throughout the United States and has hosted PatternReview.com workshops in New York City, Portland (Oregon), and Los Angeles and also in Germany and Australia. The authorÆs royalties will be donated to charity. Voted Teacher of the Year, Sandra Betzina is recognized nationwide from her Sew Perfect program on HGTV. She writes a syndicated sewing column called "Power Sewing" and feature articles for national and international magazines. She currently designs a line of patterns called "Today's Fit." Sandra was inducted into the Sewing Hall of Fame in 2002. Sandra has written 10 books and created 12 instructional videos.
Deepika Prakash founded PatternReview.com in 2001. She travels extensively to meet PatternReview.com members and support small sewing businesses. She participates in sewing conferences throughout the United States.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars !000 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips Aug. 19 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The content of the book was not what I expected (I was expecting more tips about alterations ). but there are some very good tips that I will use. I think that someone who is just beginning their sewing adventures would find the tips very helpful. The tips cover a wide variety of subjects such as organizing the sewing room,pattern prep, fitting,sewing, tools, notions, fitting and a lot more. Many of the tips are from average sewers who found a slick way to make a sewing task easier.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sewing reference Feb. 28 2011
Format:Paperback
Excellent reference book for all sewers. Should be kept close to your sewing table and referenced frequently. Subjects are divided and easily accessed.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars  66 reviews
72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful resource Sept. 29 2010
By skey1952 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This looks like just another book with sewing ideas in it- and essentially it is, BUT these are written by real sewists (men and women) who have nothing to gain by selling you any product. Most of the tips are tried and true problem solvers that work for the average home seamstress. You'll find uses for kitchen products in your sewing room that you'd never have thought of on your own!

I skimmed the book first and now I'm digesting and marking it page by page. After 50 years of sewing you'd think I'd know most everything- but I definitely found many helpful hints in this book. This will make a great gift for anyone who loves to sew whether young or old, or beginner or experienced.
57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource Sept. 8 2010
By sewingmom - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book compiles sewing tips listed on [...]. As a member of Pattern Review it is great fun to see the excellent tips in print. There are also master classes on sewing knits by Sarah Veblen, sewing fine lace by Susan Khalje, sewing lame by Kenneth King, embroidery beading by Anna Mazur and serger rolled hems by the wonderful and greatly missed Shannon Gifford. The book is arranged by subject matter and includes sewing gear, sewing room, pattern prep, fabric and notions, cutting out patterns, fitting, sewing, although tips for sewing, finishing and embellishments. The book also includes a bit on the history of Pattern Review. This is a valuable resource to have on hand for when you run into sewing challenges. Tips on sewing with a serger are limited. In addition,the print of the index is pretty tiny, but other than that the book is very readable.
43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, every one! I am so inspired! Oct. 2 2010
By Jo Belmont - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This book is beyond loaded with wonderful, clever, time and money saving approaches, and all ways to make whatever you sew turn out well. So much frustration reduced. I found it so surprising, I kept reading and reading, and reading. I have read all 1,000 items.

The best part is because of the easy organization and numbering and many diagrams where needed, it will be easy and fast to find the tip(s) for the item on which I happen to be working at the time.

This is some of the best book money I've spent in a long time. Thanks, Deepika and many others.
78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of household hints as filler Jan. 31 2011
By Valerie Taylor - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A few very good sewing tips, but I expected a lot more of them and fewer household hints for sewers. An example: 11 tips for cleaning your sewing machine, including things like "Use scraps of stretch velvet to clean lint from your serger." Or "An insulated soft-side 54-can cooler is the perfect size for transporting a sewing machine." Or "If you're tall, put bricks under the legs of your cutting table to raise it to a better height for cutting." What I was looking for was tricks for SEWING better, and while there are some here, there are so many household hints that the actual sewing tips are hard to find. I'll probably keep this book and highlight the actual sewing tips, but I'd have preferred "567 Clever Sewing Shortcuts and Tips" if that's how many actual shortcuts and tips there were without adding all the household hints as filler to get to the magic number of 1000.
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars We had to return this. Dec 23 2011
By InfernoWRX - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I really got this book for my girlfriend who has been sewing for years. Unfortunately, we found that most of the tips were fluff. This is NOT a technique/improve your sewing book. There were very few illustrated examples--even then, most were marginal to useless.

If you have intermediate sewing skills (like my gf) or better, I could not recommend this book. To it's credit, there were many interesting organizational and design suggestions. But it almost felt that the editors were grasping from a huge bucket of tips, and not sifting for the truly useful. Worse, they don't show you how to execute them. Since these tips come from their website, you're better off researching the web on your own and taking the time to find what's useful for your own project.

As a beginner, I was really disappointed with the book. Definitely, there are better ones out there like "Sew Everything Workshop: The Complete Step-by-Step Beginner's Guide with 25 Fabulous Original Designs, Including 10 Patterns" by Diana Rupp.

Deepika and PatternReview.com: please go back to the editing desk and thin out your tips, plus show more step-by-step examples This book is a bit premature.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback