Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage fallcleaning Pets Music Deals Store Fall Tools
Piano Anthology has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Piano Anthology Import

Price: CDN$ 25.72 & FREE Shipping. Details
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
10 new from CDN$ 19.48 4 used from CDN$ 26.61

Product Details

1. Mazurkas: Mazurka in The Dorian Mode, Op.11, No.3
2. Mazurkas: Mazurka in d, Op.15, no.2
3. Mazurkas: 'Rustic' Mazurka in G, Op.31, No.1
4. Mazurkas: Mazurka 'On Polish Themes' in A, Op.42
5. Mazurkas: Mazurka in f, Op.57, No.3
6. Bagatelles: 1. in D flat, Op.30
7. Bagatelles: 2. in g#, Op.53, No.1
8. Bagatelles: 3. in G, Op.53, No.2
9. Bagatelles: 4. in A flat, Op.53, No.3
10. Prlds: Prld in D flat, Op.10, No.1
11. Prlds: Prld in b, Op.11, No.1
12. Prlds: Prld in G, Op.13, No.1
13. Prlds: Prld in B, Op.27, No.2
14. Prlds: Prld On A Russian Theme in A flat, Op.33, No.1
15. Prlds: Prld in d, Op.40, No.3
16. Four Prlds, Op.46: Prld in B flat
17. Four Prlds, Op.46: Prld in e
18. Four Prlds, Op.46: Prld in G
19. Four Prlds, Op.46: Prld in g
20. Biryulki (Spillikins), Op.2: Presto
See all 42 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Carillonneur Aug. 18 2006
By JG Carillonneur - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Aside from the ever-popular "Musical Snuffbox," recordings of the piano music of Lyadov are rather rare. I sought this recording out specifically because I wanted a recording of the "Ballade: From Olden Times," which I am attempting to transcribe for performance on the carillon. I knew the piece already from recordings of orchestrated versions. Some of the pieces on this recording are hard indeed to find, and the principal value of this recording is the repertoire itself. The playing is capable enough, though the recorded sound is, to my ear, a bit clunky. How much is due to the piano involved and how much is due to the technical matters of the recording itself I couldn't say, but the sound didn't have the brightness or resonance of the other Lyadov piano recording Amazon carries (Hyperion label). Regarding the performance of the Ballade itself, I personally didn't care for the performer's decision to play the "central" theme (in 5/4 time, over descending scale figures in the bass) in a free, virtuosic manner. To me, that puts too much emphasis on the scale figuration, detracting from the actual melody above. There is enough playfulness built into the 5/4 time that I think that section would benefit from a more straightforward rendition. Elsewhere, the performer's interpretive sensitivity works well.

If you're looking for a sonically sumptuous recording of Lyadov's music, this isn't it. Buy the Hyperion recording instead. If you are looking for a recording of a particular piece that you can't find elsewhere, that's a good enough reason to buy it. Lyadov's music doesn't usually stand out as having a unique (flavor) setting it apart from the work of other late romantic composers, though some of his music is intended to represent stories from Russian folklore. It is attractive music, though, and it stands up to comparison with many of the compositions of Chopin, Brahms, and others of the period.