Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars72
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2014
I thought "At World's End" was the worst until I watched this one. This movie felt dull and boring from start to finish. The new characters didn't feel as compelling as in the previous films. As for Blackbeard, I had hoped he'd be more brutal and menacing. I couldn't help but feel he was just a grumpy old man in a pirate costume. He just wasn't as memorable as Davy Jones or Barbossa.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 2, 2013
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides 3D (Limited Edition 5-Disc Combo Pack) [3D Blu-ray + 2-Disc Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]The fourth adventure of Captain Jack don't go as smoothly as the preceeding three, I'm afraid, my lads. But if you choose to embark on this lighter tale, then I suggest you read this, so you can heed the warnings, to know on which seas you'll set sail.

Sparrow has lost the Black Pearl (again)... and he has been captured by the King of England who's looking for the Foutain of Youth as well as the Spanish. The first 10-15 minutes are quite smart, showing Sparrow at what he does best: getting in to trouble. Then, ah, my mates, this is where it all goes downhill. Sparrow meets a past lover who imitates him (a nice but long and tedious silhouette and sword fight) and ends up on Black Beard's ship... he too, is looking for the Foutain.

I won't spoil anything more for ya, mateys, but if you must know, here's what NOT to expect: ships fighting each other on the troubled seas, epic scenes of chase and weird looking enemies... oh, and Johnny Depp's Sparrow feels a few miles off his rocker. It's sad because I really wanted to like this film, but it becomes apparent that Disney wants to turn this into a family franchise. Every attempt from Black Beard to prove how evil he is only shows how evil he is NOT, more like a tired old man mumbling on how evil he is.

Many people probably like this movie, and there are quite a few things to like, also... a scene with mermaids that takes a more twisted turn than anticipated, a few dialogues here and there, but for me, Captain Jack is still away at sea, awaiting the credits of "At World's End" to roll...

As for the special features, this four-disc edition (I have the steelbook so there was no digital copy), they are interesting, but not as fun and in-depth as the first three... the behind the scenes documentary is watchable to see Johnny Depp working with the filmmakers, something that was overlooked in the former films... but most of that feels like the movie: tedious, long and not bringning anything new to the table.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 25, 2013
The Pirates of the Caribbean sequels felt forced, somehow, after the surprisingly entertaining Curse of the Black Pearl. They were too long, and lost some of the adventure somehow.

On Stranger Tides loses Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly, and you probably won't even notice. Depp is joined by Salma Hayek's less busty friend and Ian McShane, and naturally Geoffrey Rush is still around. As one single narrative the movie moves along at a fairly brisk pace, the corny humour is intact and the trademark music swells and exclaims when it should.

If it has a flaw it's that McShane almost feels underutilized and there is relatively little on-ship stuff - the majority of the movie takes place on land. There's also a painfully awkward mermaid story beat, but it doesn't account for an awful lot of screen time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2011
Either I have seen too many movies or this one just didn't cut it. It seems all the money was spent on the set design and actor payroll rather than on the script. It was just plain boring, predictable, seen it, been there done that. Come on Hollywood, you can do better than that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
Not as high quality as Oblivion. Still it is a strong movie, a good one in the series, wich is an especially reliable source of entertainment. We miss E. Swan and W. Turner anyway. The idea behind the story is not very realistic, as usual, but all what happens is interesting and funny. There is plenty of action, as expected. And as always, Jack Sparrow is the character that defines the movie. I bought it for my 13 year old son who was complaining that his tetralogy was incomplete. I will certainly be watching this one again in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2012
This is a great movie and fourth instalment in the pirates series. This movie, in my opinion, is not as good as the others. That however should not retract from this movie. This movie is a great look into the life of Jack Sparrow without Will and Elizabeth Turner. You get a deeper look into his past (and a better understanding of it), you also better understand who he is and why what he does what he does.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
Some of the critics said that they thought this 4th edition was inferior. I disagree. It was the usual fun that one expects from Johnny and the Pirates. . But, also, it took a lot of different twists that were unlike the others.Penelope Cruze was a delightful addition. I did not think that they could make 4 Pirate movies that were good. They did it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
This film goes back to the roots of the franchise and is a fun movie about pirates. The story will not amaze you, and the villain is fairly generic. But it does have Jack Sparrow being awesome, and have some exciting fight scenes. This is a solid family film and should not be skipped.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
I believe this title was appropriate--these were "stranger tides" indeed. I found the movie weird--it just didn't seem to feel the same as the other three movies. Perhaps the absence of Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley was felt and altered the feel of the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2012
Pirates is a visually enjoyable movie, with fairly good acting - the plot is rather thin, and the strange way of drawling voices makes it difficult at times to follow the dialogue. This Blue Ray version is a definite improvement over non HD views.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse