Buy used:
CDN$ 4.97
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: All orders received by 3:00pm EDT will ship by 5:00pm EDT. Since 2011.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pno Qnt/Pno Qrt

Available from these sellers.
5 used from CDN$ 4.97

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 6 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B00026W64A
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #360,198 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9c2bfdd4) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c2cab64) out of 5 stars AT LAST IN THE CORRECT SPOT June 29 2005
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
In the past Josef Suk's music has been rather unappealing, for some strange reason, to me. This recording of chamber music (i.e., Piano Quartet in A minor, Piano Quintet in G minor and Four pieces for Violin and Piano) has certainly changed my previously held opinion of Suk's music. This recording is beautiful in every way. The recording contains Josef Suk's piano quartet that pays homage to and is dedicated to his teacher Dvorak. It is a work that one indeed hears alot of Dvorak in;however, it is through Suk's own individual voice. (it contains one of those beautiful slow romantic movements that could make me, in a live concert, want to stand up and let out a loud scream--because of its beauty-- then sit down very quickly hoping that no one noticed and called the authorities to have me ejected from the hall--you fans of romantic chamber music DO know what I'm talking about!)The Piano quintet along with the four works for violin and piano are lovely works--diffidently all Josef Suk; but they are wonderful.

The Nash Ensemble plays the compositions on this disc with deep insight and feeling along with the required bravura.

The recording is up to Hyperion's "Rolls Royce" standards.

If you love romantic chamber music,as I do, buy this album
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ca6fd5c) out of 5 stars Wonderful music played with spirit and ebullience July 29 2011
By G.D. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Suk's works for piano and strings constitute the best of his chamber music (the string quartets, though rewarding, are slightly tougher nuts), and the three works here (the piano trio didn't fit) receive splendid performances all around. The early piano quartet (his official op.1) is an ebullient, melodic work of high spirits and general optimism. It is spry and rhythmically alive, excellently crafted and imaginative with a truly rewarding final movement. The later pieces for violin and piano are mature, well-crafted small-scale works with memorable themes and a wide variety of colors and atmospheres. Still, it is the piano quintet which is the centerpiece of the disc, an inspired and inspirational work of warm melodies, long arches and smoldering energy - reminiscent, perhaps, of Dvorak's quintet and not infinitely inferior in quality.

Fortunately the performances are as ebullient, warm and spry as the music itself. The quartet is imbued with all the color, variety and spirit it calls for and the quintet is as convincingly done as I could possibly imagine. In the four pieces Marianne Thorsen gives us wonderfully phrased, fresh and sweet playing, and she is sensitively backed up by Ian Brown. In addition to such marvelous performances we get interesting and informative notes and top-notch recorded sound. All in all, then, this is a fabulous release that deserves the widest possible circulation.