Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Prayer for Deliverance: An Angela Bivens Thriller [Hardcover]

Christopher Chambers
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 35.00
Price: CDN$ 28.00 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 7.00 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 10 to 12 days.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Feb. 25 2003
Never try to outrun your past . . .

Tough-minded FBI special agent Angela Bivens is just beginning to put her life back together. Still reeling from the bloody showdown where she took the lives of two serial killers, one of whom was her lover, Angela is hell-bent on facing the future. She’s enjoying the perks of a well-deserved promotion, as well as getting to know her new boyfriend on a romantic camping trip. All that changes when the FBI interrupts her relaxing getaway and puts her on a complicated high-profile case.

Inside a secluded Chesapeake bed-and-breakfast, Dr. Leslie Collins, a prominent African-American obstetrician, has been found dead and mutilated. His white mistress, a Clinton White House advisor, was also dead in their bed, apparently from a poisonous snakebite. And no one at the inn heard or saw a thing. Angela can’t help but be shaken to the core—Dr. Collins was a family friend, and now it’s up to her to apprehend the killer.
Angela’s superiors at the Bureau suspect a shadowy white supremacy group that has been terrorizing abortion clinics and liberal leaders, but such tidy motives are soon discredited as other influential Black men from the worlds of business, politics, and religion start to share the doctor’s gruesome fate. Angela’s quest for justice deepens when she discovers the unlikely connections that link the men to one another, and to Antoine Jones, a convicted murderer on death row. Angela’s investigation also uncovers disturbing evidence that these murders are bound to a world of spells and ancient prophecies rooted in South African witchcraft, and of age-old vendettas being played out in a very modern D.C.

In this compelling, action-packed sequel to the riveting debut Sympathy for the Devil, Christopher Chambers captivates his readers with an unpredictable plot that pits this strong and savvy female protagonist against a cast of formidable foes—both human and supernatural. His innovative blend of images from traditional African mysticism and the vivid landscape of our nation’s capital breathes new life into the suspense thriller genre. Fans of Walter Mosley, Thomas Harris, and Patricia Cornwell will all love this remarkably spellbinding page-turner.

Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Angela Bivens, the young African-American FBI agent who debuted in Chambers's Sympathy for the Devil (2001), plunges into a messy melange of terrorism, ritual murder, political intrigue, sex and revenge. Unfortunately, the recipe makes less for a savory dish than for an unappetizing alphabet stew of agencies, departments, titles and fiefdoms on the one hand, and a hodgepodge of South African and Zulu history, folklore, "magick" and witchcraft on the other. The supporting cast is pure soap opera, while even our heroine seems a disturbingly unstable blend of personality traits. In sum, this is a book that might easily be made into a modern blaxploitation flick, but is also one unlikely to attract a wide readership.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From the Back Cover

“Welcome back, Angela! A Prayer for Deliverance is a compelling, sweaty-palm read that’ll keep readers up until the wee hours. A great thriller…compelling entertainment.”
—Jeffery Deaver, author of The Bone Collector, The Stone Monkey, and The Vanished Man

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Angela's Back! May 14 2003
Format:Hardcover
In A Prayer for Deliverance, Christopher Chambers resumes where the debut novel, Sympathy For the Devil, ended. FBI agent, Angela Bivens, is back in action as an inspector called in to investigate the murders of prominent African American leaders. While her superiors think the murders are the work of a well-known hate group, we find Angela dallying in the supernatural to solve the murders and bring the true assassins to justice. Specifically, she is pulled into a dark underworld of Zulu "magick" to substantiate her theories and enlists the help of a rookie sidekick (and Wicca witch) to assist in the investigation. As in the first novel, she is both supported and hindered by the FBI staff and must deal with the political powers of the agency and the bureaucracy of the Washington elite. To complicate things further, she stumbles through a newfound romance while struggling to overcome the emotional scars from her last boyfriend, a psychotic sociopath who was the evil perpetrator of her last case.
As one can imagine, this book is multi-dimensional and filled with numerous plot twists and turns. There are so many characters with ulterior motives that this reviewer literally had to keep notes on who was who, their relationships to one another, and their relationships within the FBI hierarchy.

This novel is extremely well written and very well researched as evidenced in the passages about South African culture and politics. However, this reviewer felt that at times the plot tangents obscured the essence of the mystery. In an attempt to make this a well-rounded novel, the author repeatedly lost this reviewer in the minutia and the surreal, dreamlike episodes that were scattered throughout the book.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and well-written follow-up Feb. 28 2003
Format:Hardcover
Oft times a writer cannot repeat the success of the first novel. However, Christopher Chambers has continued the Angela Bivens series with another captivating and well-written thriller entitled A Prayer for Deliverance (APFD).
We meet Angela in APFD relaxing and still recovering from injuries gained in Sympathy for Devil. Angela is summoned from her vacation to help with the investigation of a prominent Washington D.C doctor's murder. This murder is followed by more murders and the investigation takes the reader into the worlds of the supernatural, spells and African mysticism. We are reintroduced to some characters from Chambers' first novel, which adds to the continuity of the series. Additionally, Angela gets a new rogue partner, Nadia, who reminds Angela of herself as a rookie FBI agent. The reader is held captive by the book until the conclusion of this thriller.
Chambers does an excellent job weaving his research into his novels. Readers who reside in the Baltimore-Washington corridor will be very familiar with the scenery in the novel. Angela Bivens is a remarkable heroine and I am looking forward to additional books from Chambers in this series.
Reviewed by Robilyn Heath
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A fan who loves this!!! March 3 2003
Format:Hardcover
Whew! I liked Sympathy--it was a decent first mystery-thriller that seemed to follow the Thomas Harris Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon formula, and I read that the author's mentor was Harris. It was hard to follow some of the African American slang of the teenage victims, but it was a very intelligent and well-crafted, vivid read. In Deliverance, THIS GUY PULLS OUT ALL THE STOPS! From the beginning (where we find out Agent Bivens's TERRIBLE decision) to the very end on 9-11, he throws the kitche sink at you, but hey, you take and you LOVE Getting hit with it! So many levels to this book. I don't give 5 stars usually, but, as a former law enforcement officer, I give him the stars just for the testicular fortitude to craft something that mixes Stephen King with Tom Clancy with E. Lynn Harris, and pulling it off, and with a female protagonist who has some serious issues to overcome.
If the third one is about 9-11, keep this guy from revealing any of the plot to bin laden. JBS
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars KEEP IT UP! March 20 2003
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I first have to say that this review may be a little skewed, because I am a personal friend of the author. Howevere, I have read both books, and I must say that they are excellent. I never read fiction, and to get me to read fiction is like pulling teeth. These two Angela Bivins novels have been so suspenseful and so well written that they have whetted my appetite for more. Chris- when they start making movies of your novels and you really get big, don't forget the old crew. PEACE.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback