Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Proud Legions: A Novel of America's Next War Paperback – Feb 9 1999


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 182.37 CDN$ 21.42

Best Canadian Books of 2014
Stone Mattress is our #1 Canadian pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Presidio Press (Feb. 9 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0891416676
  • ISBN-13: 978-0891416678
  • Product Dimensions: 24.3 x 16.7 x 3.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 522 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #87,930 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Recent news stories about North Korea's nuclear capabilities have raised the question of U.S. involvement in a new Korean War, an eventuality the slightly paranoid consciousness of this debut military thriller considers an inevitability. Set in the very near future?a future, Antal suggests, that might even be now?a single U.S. tank battalion is all that stands between the North Korean army and the fall of Seoul. The surprise attack, Operation Daring Thrust, is the brainchild of North Korean Marshal Kim Seung-Hee (aka the Wolf), a man to whom "Americans were not men but merely targets." It's up to Lt. Col. Michael Rodriguez, commander of the 2nd Battalion, 72nd Armor Division, to stop him. Antal, whose nonfiction books such as Combat Team draw on his own experience as battalion commander of an armored division, invests his battle scenes with authoritative detail. He nails his patriotic colors firmly to the mast, and there is a rigid moralizing quality to his conception of the opposing U.S. and North Korean armies. American individualism and pragmatism (embodied by the well-trained responsive strike force) go up against the blind tyranny of a political system in which forced loyalty is guaranteed by fear. The focus remains fixed on strategy and response?a subplot that pits Rodriguez against reporter Alice Hamilton is barely a blip on the radar?in this technical and rawly realistic book. An inside view of the machinations of two armies at war will convince the layman that modern society requires a professional warrior caste?a conclusion Antal will certainly approve.
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal

YA-A contemporary techno-thriller that departs from the usual format. Instead of the heroes being pilots of cutting-edge aircraft, the characters are soldiers of an American tank battalion in South Korea. The story begins when rogue elements of the North Korean Army stage a coup d'?tat. Faced with a failed economy, the new regime decides to make a lightning military strike into South Korea with the hope of solving its financial woes. After some spectacular initial successes, the North Koreans are on the verge of capturing Seoul. The only unit standing between them and victory is an American tank battalion, equipped with M1A2 Abrams tanks. What follows is a tense, fast-paced story that draws readers into the unit's fight for survival. The author served as the commanding officer of such a battalion and thus writes with authority about the weapons, tactics, and terrain that are so pivotal to the story. Although the book contains much technical data and military jargon, Antal does a good job of explaining the terms. This book will appeal to fans of Tom Clancy and Harold Coyle.
Robert Burnham, R. E. Lee High School, Springfield, VA
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
The views expressed in this book are my own and do not reflect the position or policies of the Department of Defense. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By Tom on Sept. 13 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book does more than take me back to my serving in Korea, South. This book bring to life the soldiers of the NKPA whom I knew formerly, as just "the enemy". Though at one time I may have held hostile opinions of the North, through Antal's character development, I found myself identifying with the drive of the North just as easily as I did with the defensive stand of the South. I was fortunate enough to serve as a C.O.L.T chief in support of 2nd Tank and even more fortunate to witness Col. Antal's ferocity in battle situations. (unfortunately a bit of that ferocity was directed at me) After reading "Proud Legions" I feel better aquainted with the Korean battlefront from upper echelon perspective. Reading this book will give you the a good feel for what it is like to serve on freedom's last frontier and to carry out the primary objective which is "to crush the enemy and have them driven before you, and to hear the lamentations of their women and children." GREAT READ
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Mike Davino on April 21 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The Armistice that ended the Korean War was signed almost 47 years ago and the US Army has been preparing for the resumption of hostilities ever since. In Antal's book we are presented with one of the US Army's worst nightmares. After 47 years of preparation most of the US forces and their South Korean counterparts, caught napping in their vulnerable garrison locations at the start of the north Korean attack, are pounded to pieces by the enemy artillery. Fortunately one US tank battalion and a cavalry troop are in a training area north of the US Army garrisons and stop the main north Korean attack cold giving the US and the South Korean Armed forces time to regroup and counterattack.
Proud Legions is the story of the men of this tank battalion and their struggle against the north Korean People's Army.
This is a good book to read on the beach. The action is non-stop and fairly easy to follow. The characters however, are like something out of a comic book.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
The basic scenario is a real one to be concerned about, and LTC Antal certainly understands the workings of an armor battalion. But for those wondering how a North Korean invasion might actually progress, I might suggest that this is not the book for you.
The North Koreans are keystone cops in this narrative. Their formations totally lack any intel about where the Americans are; their commando strikes early in the book have no visible effect on the war effort.
The result is that North Korean tanks blindly stumble into prepared American positions with predictable results. It's pretty much a dream scenario for a tank battalion commander. Believe it or not, there's actually *another* turkey shoot later in the book. Add in an improbable romantic sideshow, and you have pretty much a battalion commander's fantasy of the best that a war in Korea could possibly go.
The result is a remarkably complacent story by an author who is usually lucid and authorative.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Lt. Col. John Antal definately takes you on the inside of a modern tank unit more than even Harold Coyle. His prior knowledge with Dragon Force and Korea helped enhance the realism of a second war on that peninsula. The combat scenes were well done, though I would have liked to have seen things be a little tougher for the Americans (even though realistically our tanks are much more superior to the antique T-62s & T-55s of the NKs). Pretty good job on the characters. I believe the Colonel did a better job developing the North Korean characters than the American ones. The SK Lt. Ri was one of the more intriguing characters in the book, right up there with Pvt. Emerson. Loved the way he was handled as a young man away from home for the 1st time and thrown into a war. Antal is a good writer and I hope to see more books from him in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Lt. Col. John Antal definately takes you on the inside of a modern tank unit more than even Harold Coyle. His prior knowledge with Dragon Force and Korea helped enhance the realism of a second war on that peninsula. The combat scenes were well done, though I would have liked to have seen things be a little tougher for the Americans (even though realistically our tanks are much more superior to the antique T-62s & T-55s of the NKs). Pretty good job on the characters. I believe the Colonel did a better job developing the North Korean characters than the American ones. The SK Lt. Ri was one of the more intriguing characters in the book, right up there with Pvt. Emerson. Loved the way he was handled as a young man away from home for the 1st time and thrown into a war. Antal is a good writer and I hope to see more books from him in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on April 27 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I thoroughly enjoyed PL as a good read. However, it just didn't have that "can't put it down" quality, probably because I knew that the book would have a happy ending (The RoK and U.S. forces triumphing over the NKPA), unlike other books where the reader truly had no idea what would happen next.
Perhaps a little simplistic and patriotic, it was nevertheless very entertaining, and Colonel Antal's description of the Abrams tanks, their capabilities, and the men of 2-72 Armor are all very compelling. Also, the character development in Antal's story humanizes the men fighing the conflict. I found myself almost cheering for Marshall Kim Seung-Hee, if only because I knew that he'd be defeated in the end.
I also enjoyed Antal's interactive book, "Infantry Combat"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback