Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Proud Legions: A Novel of America's Next War [Paperback]

John Antal
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback --  

Book Description

Feb. 9 1999
Not since the publication ten years ago of the New York Times bestselling novel of tank warfare, Team Yankee, has a book captured the essence of modern land combat: not until now!

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Recent news stories about North Korea's nuclear capabilities have raised the question of U.S. involvement in a new Korean War, an eventuality the slightly paranoid consciousness of this debut military thriller considers an inevitability. Set in the very near future?a future, Antal suggests, that might even be now?a single U.S. tank battalion is all that stands between the North Korean army and the fall of Seoul. The surprise attack, Operation Daring Thrust, is the brainchild of North Korean Marshal Kim Seung-Hee (aka the Wolf), a man to whom "Americans were not men but merely targets." It's up to Lt. Col. Michael Rodriguez, commander of the 2nd Battalion, 72nd Armor Division, to stop him. Antal, whose nonfiction books such as Combat Team draw on his own experience as battalion commander of an armored division, invests his battle scenes with authoritative detail. He nails his patriotic colors firmly to the mast, and there is a rigid moralizing quality to his conception of the opposing U.S. and North Korean armies. American individualism and pragmatism (embodied by the well-trained responsive strike force) go up against the blind tyranny of a political system in which forced loyalty is guaranteed by fear. The focus remains fixed on strategy and response?a subplot that pits Rodriguez against reporter Alice Hamilton is barely a blip on the radar?in this technical and rawly realistic book. An inside view of the machinations of two armies at war will convince the layman that modern society requires a professional warrior caste?a conclusion Antal will certainly approve.
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal

YA-A contemporary techno-thriller that departs from the usual format. Instead of the heroes being pilots of cutting-edge aircraft, the characters are soldiers of an American tank battalion in South Korea. The story begins when rogue elements of the North Korean Army stage a coup d'?tat. Faced with a failed economy, the new regime decides to make a lightning military strike into South Korea with the hope of solving its financial woes. After some spectacular initial successes, the North Koreans are on the verge of capturing Seoul. The only unit standing between them and victory is an American tank battalion, equipped with M1A2 Abrams tanks. What follows is a tense, fast-paced story that draws readers into the unit's fight for survival. The author served as the commanding officer of such a battalion and thus writes with authority about the weapons, tactics, and terrain that are so pivotal to the story. Although the book contains much technical data and military jargon, Antal does a good job of explaining the terms. This book will appeal to fans of Tom Clancy and Harold Coyle.
Robert Burnham, R. E. Lee High School, Springfield, VA
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
The views expressed in this book are my own and do not reflect the position or policies of the Department of Defense. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tank Commander's Fantasy July 6 2004
Format:Paperback
The basic scenario is a real one to be concerned about, and LTC Antal certainly understands the workings of an armor battalion. But for those wondering how a North Korean invasion might actually progress, I might suggest that this is not the book for you.
The North Koreans are keystone cops in this narrative. Their formations totally lack any intel about where the Americans are; their commando strikes early in the book have no visible effect on the war effort.
The result is that North Korean tanks blindly stumble into prepared American positions with predictable results. It's pretty much a dream scenario for a tank battalion commander. Believe it or not, there's actually *another* turkey shoot later in the book. Add in an improbable romantic sideshow, and you have pretty much a battalion commander's fantasy of the best that a war in Korea could possibly go.
The result is a remarkably complacent story by an author who is usually lucid and authorative.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING! Dec 31 2003
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
If you want a military fiction book that is different then read this one. Most military fiction books are set in Europe or the Middle East, very few are set in Korea. COL Antal has woven a great story with interesting characters into an outstanding read. The story was not hard to follow and the ample graphics in the book helps the reader follow the battle action. I did not waste my money and neither will you if you buy this book.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting military action novel June 10 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Proud Legions is an exciting story about a new war in Korea, as seen from the turret of an M1 Tank. Unlike the other Korean War epic "Red Phoenix," this new novel, Proud Legions, is focused mainly on the ground war. The characters are very real. During the battle scenes you can almost feel the tanks shake, hear the boom of the 120mm cannon, and smell the acrid stench of cordite and blood as the US/ROK forces attempt to prevent the encirclement of Seoul by the North Korean People's Army. A GREAT read.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome April 1 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"Proud Legions" is probably the best war novel I have ever read, and it is defenitely the best book about tank warfare. This is a must read for everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome April 1 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"Proud Legions" is probably the best war novel I have ever read, and it is defenitely the best book about tank warfare. This is a must read for everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome April 1 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"Proud Legions" is probably the best war novel I have ever read, and it is defenitely the best book about tank warfare. This is a must read for everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome April 1 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"Proud Legions" is probably the best war novel I have ever read, and it is defenitely the best book about tank warfare. This is a must read for everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars just another war story Nov. 12 2000
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Never really grabbed me. The North Koreans attack and are beaten off by the good guys.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
ARRAY(0xa009b864)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback