1 new from CDN$ 719.96

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pure Spring Import

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 719.96

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 29 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hungaroton
  • ASIN: B00007138S
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Ablakomba, ablakomba besÃ1/4tött a holdvilág (Folk hongrois)
2. They Are Mending the Great Forest Highway, for voice & piano (8 Hungarian Folksongs No. 6), Sz. 64/6, BB 47/6
3. Mikor guláslegény voltam (When I was a herdsman) (Felsoireg)
4. Bagatelle: 'Mikor gulyásbojtár voltam' (Grave), for piano (14 Bagatelles No. 4), Sz. 38/4, BB 50/4 (Op. 6/4}
5. Házasodik a tÃ1/4csök (The cricket is getting married), folk song
6. Swine-herd's Dance: 'The Cricket Marries', for piano (For Children Vol. 2/42), Sz. 42/2/42, BB 53/42
7. Ha bemegyek, ha bemegyek a dobozi csárdába (If I go into the inn of Doboz)
8. When I Go into the Inn at Doboz, for piano (For Children Vol. 1/19), Sz. 42/1/19, BB 53/19
9. Kis kece lányom (My little goddaughter)
10. Round Dance I: 'My Little Graceful Girl', for piano (For Children Vol. 1/17), Sz. 42/1/17, BB 53/17
11. Béres legény jól megrakd a szekered (Farm labourer lad, load the cart well)
12. Farmboy, Load the Cart Well, for male chorus (Old Hungarian Folksongs No. 4), Sz. 50/4, BB 60/4
13. Snow-white Kerchief
14. Black is the Earth, for voice & piano (8 Hungarian Folksongs No. 1), Sz. 64/1, BB 47/1
15. Angoli Borbála (Barbara Angoli's Vészto)
16. Ballade: Tema con variazioni ('Angoli Borbála'), for piano (Hungarian Peasant Songs No. 6), Sz. 71/6 , BB 79/5
17. Nem vagy leány (You are not a lassie)
18. Old Dance Tune: 'Nem vagy légeny', for piano (Hungarian Peasant Songs No. 11), Sz. 71/11, BB 79/11
19. Szolohegyen keresztÃ1/4l (The little girl goes through the vineyard)
20. Improvisations (8) on Hungarian Peasant Songs for piano, Sz. 74, BB 83 (Op. 20): No. 4
See all 54 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9cb1d228) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By John Nedby - Published on Amazon.com
Let me make it clear that I have not heard this CD so I cannot comment on its quality. I limited the stars strictly based on the lack of texts.

I sent an email to Hungarton to find out if texts and/or translations were included. They replied that they were not.

Way too often the description of CD of works in languages other than English fails to indicate if texts and/or translations are included. It would be useful to know this upfront.

Some of the more recent EMI titles' texts are available at emiclassics and classicsonline provides texts for many of it downloads. But finding decent translations in languages like Hungarian is amazingly difficult, considering how ideal the Internet is for dispensing something like this. I find myself sometime not downloading music in a foreign language but instead paying several dollars more for the CD to insure I have translations. I suspect I'm not the only non-multi-linguist who would PAY reasonable amounts for the capability of actually knowing what is being said in non-English works.
HASH(0x9d045204) out of 5 stars a musical magic carpet Aug. 5 2015
By Dabí Sánchez - Published on Amazon.com
The only other reviewer to date, Mr. Nedby, has a fair point. Lyrics could easily have been included in the CD booklet. After all, these songs do not have the verbal complexities of Wagner! On the other hand, the meaning of each song can be gleaned from the descriptive and picturesque titles, which are supplied, and at length; e.g., Marry me off, Mother, or I'll leave you; or, Swineherd's song, the cricket is getting married. Folk lyrics, like our own rock lyrics, are not difficult to imagine; and a great deal can be inferred through the music. Why I like this record, and others like it--such as the Bartok album by Muzsikas, http://www.amazon.com/Bartok-Album-Muzsikas/dp/B00000JZ15/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1438810450&sr=8-6&keywords=muzsikas , is that, in them, you feel the music emerging from its roots, from history itself, and taking shape through the imaginations of great composers like Bartok and Kodaly, who founded their oeuvre on these explorations into traditional music (which the CD booklet here explains very well). This thrilling and formative encounter is experienced first-hand via the present CD. My only objection is the after-market price as of this date--north of $300, ridiculous! Take that money and put it toward airfare to Hungary. But don't neglect to acquire this CD by any means practicable.