ROSSINI. Instrumental Mus... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

ROSSINI. Instrumental Music. Budapest/Fischer (SACD) Hybrid SACD

Price: CDN$ 26.91 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 18.79 2 used from CDN$ 15.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 13 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Channel Classics
  • ASIN: B001K4E7F4
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #225,099 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Rossini was a genius, especially as a melody composer. His instrumental music is like colorful opera arias or songs without words. To perform these melodies one needs to articulate and characterize like actors on stage. And of course one needs to have a brilliant, fast tongue and fast fingers. Italians talk fast with beautiful diction, especially in a heated discussion. This disc features works for both the full orchestra as well as for small ensembles of musicians taken from the larger group. Each has a solistic flavor, from the oboe solos in the Silken Ladder overture to the double-bass wizardry in the String Sonata in G major. All are played with just the right levels of verve and wit by the Budapest Festival Orchestra led by Ivan Fischer.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x99dc9eac) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99325900) out of 5 stars And a good time was had by all. April 29 2009
By William Dodd - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I do not mean to disagree with the previous reviewer. He like me thinks Fischer and his band are usually quite fine. But I smiled all the way through this disc. I found it delightful. The recording was done in their rehersal hall, and is certaily different than the normal from CC, but I liked it for this music.

Finally, the price! The American distributor for CC who also distributes other labels I like, has seen fit to charge far more than distributors in other countries. Don't blame Amazon or American retailers. You can save a huge amount by buying from online sources in The UK.
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x992a27f8) out of 5 stars A Disaster Feb. 26 2009
By Hannibal - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fair is fair.....Having raved about Ivan Fischer's past performances without exception, in the most glowing terms possible, in virtually all the music he has recorded for Channel Classics, I am now confronted by what is a virtual disaster - an embarrassment really....

The musical program itself is largely trivial, and Fischer's interpretations are often inappropriate as well. Furthermore, the musicians seem uncomfortable and hardly together. And finally, their SACD recorded sound which has invariably set the standard for the best sonics available today is here: atrocious. - Were their usual engineers on vacation?

And to top it off, an outrageous purchase price is demanded from the public as well....

We suppose even the greatest of performers have nightmarish concerts. Let us hope that this is the last one we'll hear from this normally magnificent group of musicians.