Start reading Raven Strike: A Dreamland Thriller (Dreamland Thrillers) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Raven Strike: A Dreamland Thriller (Dreamland Thrillers)
 
See larger image
 

Raven Strike: A Dreamland Thriller (Dreamland Thrillers) [Kindle Edition]

Dale Brown , Jim DeFelice
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Kindle Price: CDN$ 11.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $10.79  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $10.79  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown (“The best military adventure writer in the country” —Clive Cussler) joins forces once again with Jim DeFelice for another electrifying Dreamland novel, Raven Strike. In this breathtaking international thriller, Dreamland’s elite Whiplash unit is called to action when an illegal CIA black ops mission goes frighteningly wrong in Africa and a powerful weapon of mass destruction falls into terrorist hands. Raven Strike is explosive, page-turning thriller fiction with political savvy and a razor-sharp military edge, ideal for fans of Vince Flynn, Clive Cussler, Brad Thor, James Rollins, and for the army of loyal readers already firmly in the Dale Brown camp.

 

From the Back Cover

The mission is classified . . . and illegal

In the blistering heat of the Sudan, the CIA has gone rogue.On the trail of a notorious terrorist, Agency operatives have overstepped their sanctioned boundaries. And now theultimate weapon has fallen into the wrong hands.

As Danny Freah and his spec-ops team scramble to recover a topsecret aircraft that has crashed in Africa, Whiplash DirectorJonathon Reid finds himself mysteriously shut off from information about the robot drone and its mission. Maneuvering through the twisted back corridors of the CIA and Washington’s power elite, Reid discovers secrets both illegal and highly dangerous—a virtually unstoppable assassin and an out-of-control clique within the Agency.

Torn between loyalty and conscience, Reid must find a way to alert the President and avert a national disaster. But with the Whiplash team caught in the chaos of a brutal African civil war and CIA officials desperate to keep Reid from telling what he knows, a monster re-emerges to target its creators . . .


Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 947 KB
  • Print Length: 517 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1455856754
  • Publisher: Harper (Nov. 29 2011)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers CA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0054LJHG8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #223,275 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A thriller full of action March 9 2012
By Jodi Chapters TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Mass Market Paperback
In the throes of a covert operation in Africa the unthinkable happens, a top-secret aircraft the CIA is testing has crashed and must be recovered before it falls into enemy hands.

Colonel Danny Freah is head of the special ops team tasked with the recovery of Raven the UAV that was downed. Freah and Nuri Lupo a top CIA operative are the first to arrive in Africa to meet with Melissa Ilse who was in charge of the testing. With a nagging feeling that he isn't being told the whole story about the Raven, Freah heads to the crash site in search of debris, most specifically the computer that was the brains of the Raven.

As the operation goes on, Freah becomes aware that the test flight was actually an illegal mission to assassinate Li Han, technical expert and weapons dealer working with a group of guerillas called the Brotherhood and rumored to have ties to Al Quaida. Li Han gets to the crash site before the special ops team and upon seeing the plane realizes he can sell the technology to the highest bidder, thus begins the race through war torn Africa to find the Raven and thwart Li Han's efforts.

With the eleventh book in the Dreamland series, Brown and DeFelice continue to wow fans with a thriller full of action. With detailed descriptions of existing and new weaponry, any lover of war and American espionage thrillers will thoroughly enjoy this page-turner.

Reviewed by Jodi Ann Hanson for Suspense Magazine
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  60 reviews
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to snuff Dec 4 2011
By Larry Kona - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book was not up the the standards set by previous Dreamland books. It was very slow moving. I was up to 50% before any appreciable action took place. The typical Dreamland gadgets were just not there.
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even a 1 Dec 7 2011
By Ned - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have recently, this past year, purchased a Kindle. Have read over 85 downloads plus 10-20 hardcovers this year. This one was the worst ever this past year AND from Dale Brown. Something is wrong with the story, plot, writing, rush to publish, all of these?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Raven Strike Jan. 3 2012
By Ross Sidor - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book, like the one before it, was completely abysmal. Beyond the vague plot description that comes with the book, I'm not even sure what it was about.

It starts interesting enough, with a secret unmanned drone, part of an illegal CIA assassination program, shot down in the Sudan. A CIA team and various other factions try to retrieve the drone. And then stuff just keeps happening with little explanation. Lots of battles and lots of characters doing different stuff, but it's not clear what anyone's doing or why they're doing it. Then some more stuff is going on in Washington DC, a long, boring political subplot with no intrigue and another subplot continuing the ludicrous story from the previous book where a CIA operative was captured by the Russians and turned into some kinda genetically enhanced super-soldier. Too many meandering scenes that do nothing to advance the story, like the characters going to multiple baseball games throughout the story.

And it all just drags on until the author reaches the word count and quickly wraps everything up in an abrupt ending involving a terrorist attack in the US.

It's too bad. I like the concept of a paramilitary, espionage series in the near-future, but these books, other than the first one, are really terrible.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three words that never should go together: "Dale Brown" and "Meh" Feb. 22 2012
By Paul D. Knott - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Dale Brown and Jim DeFelice have written several excellent novels, but if you haven't read any of them, please do not start with this one. Don't misunderstand--it's not a bad book, and the plot is a timely one, but several elements don't quite jell. Does the idea of a CIA "cowboy" outfit trying to protect their turf really logically proceed to the terrorist attempt near the end of the book? There is a lot of vintage Dale Brown here, and he really does quite well within the universe that he's created, but there's a lot of "coulda-shoulda-woulda" that a good edit might have shaved off. I know that Dale and Jim are already working on the next installment, but, guys, let the story tell itself, as you have done so often and so well. I know that I'm still looking forward to it.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful! Jan. 15 2012
By Pritch - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm a huge fan of Dale Brown, and have enjoyed getting to know his characters and spending time in the world he created. I have periodically bought from the Dreamland, Wiplash, etc. offerings where Dale lends his name and characters, understanding that these were largely written by others and while not quite the same, but were nonetheless still enjoyable reads.

That is absolutely not the case here. Raven Strike drones on and on and then an ending is simply tacked on and it is over. I never really warmed up to the characters and while the idea of the Raven program could have been really exciting, it just wasn't.

Dale, I know this is essentially a "paycheck movie" for you, but please, you have spent decades building a fan base and a vivid world. This is not worthy and you should never have allowed it to go out with your name on it.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category