Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Red Hat Fedora Linux Secrets [Paperback]

Naba Barkakati

List Price: CDN$ 54.99
Price: CDN$ 34.64 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 20.35 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description


" ... this book has merits beyond its marketing target... " ("Linux Magazine, April 2004)

From the Back Cover


Learn how to release the full potential of Red Hat Fedora Linux and install the latest release of Fedora Core (FC4) with this comprehensive guide. Within these pages, you'll be privy to valuable secrets contained in FC4: yum, up2date, mandatory access control with Security Enhanced Linux, and improved device handling with udev. You'll go behind the scenes to explore the inner workings of Linux, such as which configuration files control what, which commands to type in what sequence to perform a key task, plus more. Packed with useful information, this book shares tips, shortcuts, and tutorials that will help you maximize the power of Red Hat Fedora Linux.

Unleash the power of Red Hat Fedora Linux

  • Install Linux (see Chapter 2)
  • Set up a network (see Chapter 6)
  • Explore Linux applications and utilities (see Chapter 10)
  • Discover basic system administration (see Chapter 12)
  • Examine Web, mail, news, and FTP servers (see Chapters 14–17)
  • Manage system and network security (see Chapter 22)
  • Write applets, servlets, and standalone applications with Java (see Chapter 26)

The DVD contains the full Fedora Core 4 distribution including all binary code packages and source code.

System requirements: Please see the "About the DVD" appendix for details and complete system requirements.

About the Author

Naba Barkakati, an electrical engineer and a successful computer-book author, has experience in a wide variety of systems, ranging from MS-DOS and Windows to UNIX and Linux. He bought his first personal computer—an IBM PC-AT—in 1984 after graduating with a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Maryland at College Park. While pursuing a full-time career in engineering, Naba dreamed of writing software for the emerging PC software market. As luck would have it, instead of building a software empire like Microsoft, he ended up writing successful computer books. Currently, Naba is a Senior Level Technologist at the Center for Technology and Engineering in the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO).
Over the past 17 years, Naba has written more than 25 computer books on a number of topics, ranging from object-oriented programming with C++ to Linux. He has written several best-selling titles, such as The Waite Group’s Turbo C++ Bible, Object-Oriented Programming in C++, X Window System Programming, Visual C++ Developer’s Guide, Borland C++ 4 Developer’s Guide, and Linux Secrets. His books have been translated into many languages, including Spanish, French, Polish, Greek, Italian, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Naba’s most recent books are SUSE Linux 9.3 For Dummies and Linux All-in- One Desk Reference For Dummies, both published by Wiley.
‹  Return to Product Overview