Renaissance Lute Music has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Renaissance Lute Music

4 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 15.33 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
26 new from CDN$ 9.34 3 used from CDN$ 15.66

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Frequently Bought Together

  • Renaissance Lute Music
  • +
  • Early Venetian Lute Music
Total price: CDN$ 30.33
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Performer: Marco Pesci
  • Composer: Lorenzo Del Liuto
  • Audio CD (Sept. 26 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nle
  • ASIN: B000H6SUEK
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #26,452 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Work(s): [Unspecified] PrÃ|ludium
2. Work(s): [Unspecified] Fantasia
3. Work(s): [Unspecified] Galliarda
4. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium
5. Work(s): [Unspecified] Fantasia
6. Vestiva i colli, madrigal for 5 voices
7. Work(s): Così le chiome. Secunda Pars
8. Branle, for lute
9. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium
10. Passomezo, for lute
11. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium
12. Missa Susanne un jour, for 5 voices, H. iv/121
13. Work(s): [Unspecified] Galliarda
14. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium
15. Work(s): [Unspecified] Fantasia
16. Work(s): [Unspecified] Galliarda
17. Anchor che col partire, madrigal
18. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium
19. Work(s): [Unspecified] Fantasia
20. Work(s): [Unspecified] Præludium

Product Description

Lorenzino del Liuto was one of the most famous and accomplished virtuosi of the lute, as well as a composer who strongly influenced Italian and foreign lute literature. Anthologies of his work circulated throughout the cities of Europe for many years afte

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Perfect example of the genre. Tasteful, well played.
0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa9dd85ac) out of 5 stars 21 reviews
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9df200c) out of 5 stars Music for Contemplation... July 31 2013
By Hobbitears - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Lorenzino del Liuto was born in Rome, most likely around 1552, and there seems to be approximately seventy extant pieces by the composer, preserved in seven prints and at least sixteen manuscripts. Liuto was among the most influential musicians of his day, his music being published throught Europe and collected by foreign lutenists. Liuto's music was a precursor of early Baroque style and he along with his fellow lutenists were among the first musicians of those times to achieve a high degree of musical richness, technical maturity and refinement. The lute was the principal musical instrument and its use was widespread throughout all social and intellectual classes of the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods. Personally, I love the rich tonal qualities of the lute something not possible with either the guitar or cello. When I have a long stretch of research or writing ahead of me this genre is my 'go-to' choice for quiet ruminations, or sitting out at nautical twilight with my dogs watching the stars emerge one by one.
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9df2258) out of 5 stars Glorious and a pleasure to listen to Nov. 1 2011
By RUHU - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Not only technically excellent, but also rich in depth and texture, this CD is one of the better lute CDs I've purchased over the years. Highly recommended.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9df221c) out of 5 stars A Fine Renaissance Lute Disc April 3 2014
By J. R. Trtek - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This album of solo lute music by Lorenzo del Liuto, who lived in the second half of the 16th Century and never made it to the age of forty. The compositions themselves are marvelous, and the sound and performance are both top-notch as well. The emotional tone is a combination of laid-back, contemplative, and measured yearning. Listening to this disc is an altogether marvelous experience -- the recordings are suitable as background music, but the works are engaging enough to keep one's interest as the main focus. Definitely recommended.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
By E.L. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I bought this CD as a gift for my mom since she loves lute music and ever since it arrived she has played it almost non stop and has only given it praise. Since she is pleased with the quality of the music and now wants me to find something equally good, I give this product five stars out of five.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9df25ac) out of 5 stars and is my favorite collection of Renaissance music on a period instrument Dec 14 2014
By Allegra C. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is truly lovely, relaxing, and intriguing all at once, and is my favorite collection of Renaissance music on a period instrument. This artist has a very fine interpretive sense and understanding of the spirit of the Renaissance. He conveys beautifully the subtlety of the music and he has excellent technique (and the lute is not easy to play) which enables him to fully realize the magic of the Renaissance. I really love it, and listen to it often.

It's true that this repertoire is usually played on a modern classical guitar, which gives it a crisp brightness that a lute doesn't have, but the softness and depth of the lute really gives the listener a feeling for this long-ago -- yet in spirit very modern -- period. It was a time of awakening, when people were emerging from the past, and though they retained many musical forms from the past they gave them new interpretations that resulted in a truly fine body of music. I strongly recommend this collection to all who love beautiful music.