The Rise of the Iron Moon and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Rise of the Iron Moon on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Rise Of The Iron Moon [Hardcover]

Stephen Hunt
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $24.80  
Hardcover, March 9 2009 --  
Paperback CDN $13.10  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

March 9 2009
From the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke. Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant from the North after accidentally killing one of her guards. Her strange rescuer claims he is on the run himself from terrible forces who mean to enslave the Kingdom of Jackals as they conquered his own nation. Purity doubts his story, until reports begin to filter through from Jackals' neighbours of the terrible Army of Shadows, marching across the continent and sweepign all before them. But there's more to Purity than meets the eye. As Jackals girds itself for war against an army of near-unkillable beasts serving an ancient evil with a terrible secret, it soon becomes clear that their only hope is a strange little royalist girl and the last, desperate plan of an escaped slave.

Product Details


Product Description

Review

Praise for Stephen Hunt: 'A ripping yarn ! the story pounds along ! constant inventiveness keeps the reader hooked ! the finale is a cracking succession of cliffhangers and surprise comebacks. Great fun' SFX 'An inventive, ambitious work, full of wonders and marvels' Lisa Tuttle, The Times 'The characters are convincing and colourful, but the real achievement is the setting, a hellish take on Victorian London ! the depth and complexity of Hunt's vision makes it compulsive reading for all ages' Guardian 'Wonderfully assured ! Hunt knows what his audience like and gives it to them with a sardonic wit and carefully developed tension' Time Out 'Studded with invention' Independent 'Rich and colourful ! keeps you engrossed ! a confident, audacious novel' SFX 'Like a magpie, Stephen Hunt has plucked colourful events from history and politics and used them for inspiration ! Hunts tells his full-blooded tale with lip-smacking relish, revealing a vivid, often gruesome imagination ! The Court of the Air brims with originality and, from the first, its chase-filled plot never lets up' Starburst 'To say this book is action packed is almost and understatement ! a wonderful escapist yarn! Definitely a book to take with you on a long flight' Interzone

About the Author

Stephen Hunt has worked as a writer, editor and publisher for a number of magazines and national newspaper groups in the UK, and is currently employed on an artificial intelligence project. He is also the founder of www.SFcrowsnest.com, one of the oldest and most popular fan-run science fiction and fantasy websites, with nearly three quarters of a million readers each month. Born in Canada, the author presently lives in London, as well as spending part of the year with his family in Spain

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rise of the Iron Moon Sept. 12 2011
By Tami Brady HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
The Kingdom of Jackals and the Quatérshift must now work together to defeat a common foe. The Army of Shadows has come to strip the land and enslave the population. Those that remain will be nothing more than sheep to be used as a food source by the masters.

A small band of unlikely heroes is the only hope. Molly Templar, a celestial fiction writer who suddenly starts having visions of the heximachina. Purity Drake, quite mad, yet with royal blood running through her veins. Kyorin, an alien in hiding, hoping to save what was left of his own world from the Army of Shadows. Magic and machinery must come together and secrets too dark to believe must come to light.

Not having read the first two books in this series, I felt a little lost at first. It took a little time before I got a feel for the world and began getting into the characters of the story. After that point, though, I found it hard to put the book down. Absolutely loved the twists and turns and the surprising directions and mis-directions the action took.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.5 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Feb. 17 2010
By violet - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Awhile ago, I picked up The Court of the Air on a whim--it looked interesting. It was a big, thick book that made absolutely no sense when I started it, but I found it intriguing. I very quickly became engrossed in the world created by Stephen Hunt and I simply had to have more. The Rise of the Iron Moon is just as good as The Court of the Air, with a tightly woven plot and excellent action, and a thoroughly engulfing alternate world that expertly meshes fantasy (which I normally do not care for) and steampunk (which I can never get enough of). I only wish Hunt's books were easier to get my hands on, and I do hope that they become more widely available. I actually rationed this book out, not knowing when I'd get another.

I can't recommend Stephen Hunt's work enough, for he is a talented storyteller.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new fav series Nov. 8 2009
By Derrick Turner - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This second book set in the same world as The Court of the Air. I am absolutely in love with Stephen Hunts writing! There are so many original ideas in the 3 books of his i've read so far. This series is kinda like Phillip Pullman's Dark Materials, but in my opinion even better. I hate reviews that tell about the plot, that's what the book description is for, so I'll just say that yes there is a bunch of action and side plots going on in this book, which i love, but if your someone who is easily confused with that sort of thing you might not like it as much
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Hunt's Wonderful Series July 8 2011
By G. Alexander - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I do recommend this intriguing series, I find Stephen Hunt a skilled writer that not only shows his creativity with descriptions that are decisive and realistic but is able to balances with the right amount wit and humor.

In reading "The Court of Air" I see this series as one that you will look forward to each book and enjoy reading "Kingdom Beyond the Waves" and then "The Rise of the Iron Moon" as a wonderful series and still wish for a 4th book "Secrets of the Fire Sea".

I will say I loved these book and agree with raves about the first two therefore I rate this at 5 stars.

One thing is for sure you will either love or hate the series but I really believe you will love it and wish for more.

It will be a pleasure to add Stephen Hunt to my favorites list!

Thanks Goodreads!
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent, Weakest of the Series So Far - SPOILER FREE REVIEW July 7 2010
By Noah Sutcliffe - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This was a frustrating book. Story-wise it has all the makings of a great fantasy epic, unfortunately the character development, dialogue, secondary characters and transitions (real strengths in the last two books) are all noticeably lacking. A lot of platitudes make their way into the dialogue and narrative sequences, and I didn't find myself smiling as much at the turn of phrase that Hunt employed so adeptly in Court of the Air and Kingdom Beyond the Waves. There are also some very sudden character transitions that don't follow the rhythm of the story at all, and certain characters will appear and disappear without any real purpose. It becomes glaringly obvious at certain points that Hunt didn't have the time to write a necessary scene that would have taken the reader logically from one place to the next.

That said, the story is still a fun and interesting read since Hunt (as usual) excels at bringing diverse alien worlds together in clever and unexpected ways. Lord Starhome was the highlight of the book for me, but unfortunately that character also reminded me what a great CAST of secondary characters the other books had. The cast in Rise of the Iron Moon is not nearly so interesting, and a few of the secondary characters are downright one-dimensional.

Ultimately, while the book is a worthwhile diversion that brings some new material to the Jackelian universe, it has the feeling of a first draft that would have been well-served with more character and plot development and some serious time devoted to the nuances. I would, honestly, purchase and read a re-write if Hunt decided to do one.
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much dering-do March 17 2014
By jaeme - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Wish he would include some feelings in his steam-punk. Felt like all-adventure, but no warm and fuzzies. Sometimes you want to go to the next level with your characters, and not leave them like torn pieces of paper.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback