V.2: Capriccio Stravagant... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V.2: Capriccio Stravagante

Price: CDN$ 20.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 12.65 2 used from CDN$ 20.73

Product Details

  • Performer: Robert; Purcell Quartet; Rogers, Jane; Lindberg, Jakob; Woolley
  • Composer: Stradella; Vitali; Rossi; Mari
  • Audio CD (Dec 4 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Chn
  • ASIN: B00005QF3I
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #154,975 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Stradella: Sinfonia 17
2. Vitali: Passagallo primo, Op. 7
3. Rossi: Toccata decima
4. Marini: Canzon seconda, Op. 8
5. Castello: Sonata Sesta
6. Frescobaldi: Balletto, Corrente del Balletto and Passacagli
7. Marini: Sonata septima sopra A voi do vinto il cor, Op. 8
8. Picchi: Canzon decima settima a doi chori
9. Frescobaldi: Capriccio pastorale
10. Vitali: Passagallo secondo, Op. 7
11. Frescobaldi: Conazon tetra
12. Vitali: Capriccio sopra dodici figure, Op. 7
13. Marini: Passamezzo concertato, Op. 8
14. Frescobaldi: Capriccio del soggetto scritto sopra l'aria di Ruggiero
15. Picchi: Canzon decima ottava a doi chori
16. Vitali: Passagallo terzo, Op. 7
17. Rossi: Sonata sopra l'aria di Ruggiero
18. Vitali: Ciaconna, Op. 7

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa65d5984) out of 5 stars 1 review
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5c00804) out of 5 stars Excellent Aug. 15 2011
By Sid Nuncius - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is the first of two excellent discs of Italian music of the 17th Century. The music is characterised by the "Fantastic" style of the time which, as Peter Allsop explains in the excellent notes, combined virtuosity and experimentalism and it is wonderful stuff. Some composers like Frescobaldi and Biaggio Marini are fairly familiar (largely through the excellent work of ensembles like Romanesca and the Palladian Ensemble) but others were completely new to me. All the music, however, is terrific; it features a variety of combinations of instruments from solo pieces to large ensembles and is thrilling in places and tenderly moving in others. The whole programme is a delight and often a revelation.

It is greatly helped by the brilliant performances. The Purcell Quartet have been making first-rate discs for many years and these both sand with the very best of them. They are joined by the wonderful His Majesty's Sagbutts and Cornetts (and the excellent Jakob Lindberg on chittarone) and together they produce something really special. The play with an apparently effortless virtuosity, terrific verve and a real joy in what they are doing.

The recorded sound is excellent with a perfect acoustic and balance, the presentation is attractive and the notes readable and very informative. Both volumes of this set have given me a lot of pleasure and continue to do so, and I recommend them very warmly.