Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden
Room To Roam (Coll Ed) has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by M plus L
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped in 1-2 working days from Germany by First Class Priority Airmail. Very fast shipment!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Room To Roam (Coll Ed) Collector's Edition

6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 30.02 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 18.51 3 used from CDN$ 13.71

Frequently Bought Together

  • Room To Roam (Coll Ed)
  • +
  • Modern Blues
Total price: CDN$ 43.01
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 26 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Collector's Edition
  • Label: Emd Int'l
  • ASIN: B001AI93YU
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #54,207 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. In Search Of A Rose (2008 Digital Remaster)
2. Song From The End Of The World (2008 Digital Remaster)
3. A Man Is In Love (2008 Digital Remaster)
4. Bigger Picture (2008 Digital Remaster)
5. Natural Bridge Blues (2008 Digital Remaster)
6. Something That Is Gone (2008 Digital Remaster)
7. The Star And The Sea (2008 Digital Remaster)
8. A Life Of Sundays (2008 Digital Remaster)
9. Islandman (2008 Digital Remaster)
10. The Raggle Taggle Gypsy (2008 Digital Remaster)
See all 17 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. In Search Of A Rose (Full Band)
2. My Morag (The Exile's Dream)
3. A Man Is In Love (Alternate)
4. The Wyndy Wyndy Road
5. Three Ships
6. Sunny Sailor Boy
7. Sponsored Pedal Pusher's Blues
8. The Wayward Wind
9. Danny Murphy / Florence
10. The Raggle Taggle Gypsy (Live)
See all 17 tracks on this disc

Product Description

2008 digitally remastered and expanded two CD collector's edition lavishly packaged in a digipak housed in a plastic outer slipcase with extensive booklet and sleevenotes written by Mike Scott telling the story of the album. Originally released in 1990, this edition features a bonus disc that contains an additional 17 rarities including alternate versions, live cuts, previously unreleased tracks and more. As the follow-up to their successful Fisherman's Blues, Room To Roam continues leader Mike Scott's exploration of traditional Irish, Scottish and British Folk music. 34 tracks. EMI.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Dave Awl on Oct. 9 2001
Format: Audio CD
It's a shame that Room to Roam isn't better appreciated. Even many Waterboys fans look past this wonderful tour de force, a rich and dazzling pastiche of styles and moods--a kind of electro-Celtic Sgt. Pepper for the 90s. Some fans who were attracted by the somewhat more traditional and stripped-down sound of Fisherman's Blues (perhaps the closest Mike Scott ever got to making a Pogues album) have failed to appreciate Room to Roam's greater experimentation. But as far as whole albums go, for richness and variety of musical styles, as well as sheer poetry and exuberance, I think Room To Roam has a slight edge over Fisherman's Blues.
In fact, Room to Roam is a solid tie for my favorite Waterboys album, along with This is the Sea. There's not a note of RTR that isn't blessed by the goddess, and a number of these songs are among Mike Scott's finest moments, including "Something That is Gone," "How Long Will I Love You," "A Man is in Love," "Bigger Picture" and "Raggle Taggle Gypsy." "Raggle Taggle" in particular is one of Mike's most joyful and electrifying performances on record--it never fails to send me through the roof.
What I love about Room To Roam is that it's wonderfully true to both the traditional folk AND the experimental, electronic impulses in Mike's work. That may be the very thing that alienates some of the folks who were attracted by the more "pure" sound of FB, but for me it's that amazing blend of styles that puts Room to Roam at the top of the Waterboys' canon.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By dev1 on April 4 2000
Format: Audio CD
I enjoy traveling around the world (musically) and seeing just how other countries interpret American popular music. Please take my word, the Japanese and the Germans completely slaughter even the simplest songs. My favorite American popular music from someplace other than the North American continent is Ireland. After all, we have several commonalities: a shared language and a stolen heritage. The Waterboys' Roam To Roam makes good use of many seldom heard instruments: mandolin, whistle, flute, fiddle and standup bass. This CD is a charming and infectious marriage of jigs, folk (American), reels and rock.
The Waterboys are also quite crafty lyricists. You'll discover poetic and provoking lines such as 'I'll savoir the softness of summer' (In Search Of A Rose), 'I'm starting to see a bigger picture. I'm beginning to colour it' (Bigger Picture) and 'I dreamed the wind came to my house' (The Trip To Bradford). 'A Man Is In Love' and 'How Long Will I Love You' are joyous musical celebrations of life. It's that very joy and honesty which make the Waterboys so compelling. Name one artist who has the integrity to write 'America (Ireland) is my heart' (Islandman).
Instead of manufacturing music for dollars, the Waterboys proclaim a zest for life through music. Start each day with 'A Man Is In Love,' and you'll step a bit lighter. Go ahead. Allow yourself some Room To Roam.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By Ian Barclay on Feb. 27 2000
Format: Audio CD
I'll admit I haven't heard "Fisherman's Blues" yet, but wow, what a weird mix of traditional Irish music and, and, .....weirdness? some form of rock I guess. I like this album because it exhibits such a great deal of creativity in blending different genres of music, while keeping the traditional Irish sound throughout. It is musically capitivating, and the lyrics are quite good as well. Probably I wider variety of musical instruments are used here than in any other album I have heard......mandolin, bagpipes, didjeridu, trombone.....sounds dreadful I know but they are all integrated together beautifully.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse