Ruby Lu, Star of the Show and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 6.99
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Ruby Lu, Star of the Show has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Ruby Lu, Star of the Show Paperback – Feb 7 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 6.99
CDN$ 0.01 CDN$ 0.01

2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen, adapted from the wildly popular web site beloved by Gwyneth Paltrow ("This might be my favorite thing ever"), is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 144 pages
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (Feb. 7 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416917764
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416917762
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1 x 19.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 181 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #834,730 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Ruby is as effervescent and charming as ever.”—Booklist

“Leavening the seriousness of her family’s money worries is Ruby’s Ramona-like talent for getting into trouble. (Young readers will think of Lilly and her purple plastic purse when Ruby’s beloved third-grade teacher Mr. Yu sends home a letter about her bad grades—Ruby draws a picture of him being struck by lightning, then features him in a less-than-flattering haiku.) Ruby and her family, along with cousin Flying Duck and the rest of the 20th Avenue Plum Club, are as comfortably familiar—and entertaining—as ever.” –The Horn Book

“Although the overall tone is lighthearted, Look provides some real insight into the struggles a family faces when its main breadwinner is out of work, and she resists providing an easy resolution. Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine and Katy Kelly’s Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu.” –Kirkus Reviews

“A fun easy chapter book despite the heavier issues.” School Library Journal

About the Author

Lenore Look is the author of Ruby Lu, Brave and True, an ALA Notable Book, as well as its sequel, Ruby Lu, Empress of Everything. Her picture books include Love as Strong as Ginger, Henry’s First-Moon Birthday, and Uncle Peter’s Amazing Chinese Wedding. She lives in Randolph, New Jersey.

Stef Choi is a debut children’s book illustrator. She has worked as a character designer and illustrator in animation since 2002 at studios such as Disney, Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and LAIKA. She lives in a tree house in Portland, Oregon.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
My son said "This book is awesome!" June 6 2011
By KiddosMom - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
This is a delightful book! My 1st grade son yelled "This book is awesome!" when he finished it. This book outshines the first two Ruby Lu books. Ruby Lu's father loses his job so 3rd grader Ruby learns many things: how to adjust to her mom going to work, how to deal with uncertainty, how to have fun on a budget, how to be generous on a budget, and how to be selfless. In the end, she is praised for her selflessness and is truly the "star of the show." I never expected my son to pick up a book with a girl's name for the title. He usually doesn't. I got it for my daughter. But being Asian-American, he was able to relate to Ruby learning to write haiku and wanting Thanksgiving dinner with turkey, Peking duck, dumplings and sushi. And he thought it was hilarious when Ruby gave all her friends haircuts to try to earn money to help out. I highly recommend this book.
Ruby Lu: Star of the Show should be on every youngster's bookshelf Nov. 4 2013
By Dr. B. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Ruby Lu is a virtual fountain of charm and joie de vivre. This chapter book is perfect for the reluctant reader who needs a touch of childlike fantasy skillfully woven into a mostly realistic plot. Lenore Look is a master at creating lovable characters who are also believable. The author provides the perfect balance of highlighting Asian-American culture while still being relatable to children from any background. In addition to a main character of Asian descent, Look also features a supporting character, Flying Duck, who is hearing impaired.

Ruby's antics and her determination are inspirational. The issues through which she and her family walk, including job loss, poverty, occupational stress, and even a touch of depression are portrayed realistically; however, the author takes great care not to overwhelm her young readers with too much detail. In addition, Look has her main character solve her own problems (or work with others to do so), rather than have adults step in to solve them on her behalf.

From lost and found dogs to well-intended counterfeiting and exceptionally bad haircuts, Ruby Lu:Star of the Show is sure to delight elementary school aged readers with its endearing characters, compelling plot line, quaint cartoon-like illustrations and clever use of humor.


Feedback