Ruby Lu, Star of the Show and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Ruby Lu, Star of the Show on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Ruby Lu, Star of the Show [Paperback]

Lenore Look , Stef Choi

Price: CDN$ 6.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, April 22? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $13.86  
Paperback CDN $6.99  

Book Description

Feb. 7 2012 Ruby Lu (Quality)
Ruby Lu returns—in paperback! Can this spunky middle-grader solve her family’s money troubles?

Ruby is starting third grade, and she can’t wait! She’ll get to join fun clubs, learn cursive, and play in the orchestra. But there’s one big change Ruby Lu isn’t expecting: Her father loses his job. Now he’s taking care of her and Oscar while her mother works, and it’s definitely not all fun and games, especially with money so tight. So Ruby, determined and resourceful as ever, sets out to make a million dollars! And though she soon learns that making money isn’t easy, she also discovers that having a loving family is the most valuable thing of all.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 144 pages
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (Feb. 7 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416917764
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416917762
  • Product Dimensions: 18.8 x 13 x 1.5 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 181 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #930,469 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Ruby is as effervescent and charming as ever.”—Booklist

“Leavening the seriousness of her family’s money worries is Ruby’s Ramona-like talent for getting into trouble. (Young readers will think of Lilly and her purple plastic purse when Ruby’s beloved third-grade teacher Mr. Yu sends home a letter about her bad grades—Ruby draws a picture of him being struck by lightning, then features him in a less-than-flattering haiku.) Ruby and her family, along with cousin Flying Duck and the rest of the 20th Avenue Plum Club, are as comfortably familiar—and entertaining—as ever.” –The Horn Book

“Although the overall tone is lighthearted, Look provides some real insight into the struggles a family faces when its main breadwinner is out of work, and she resists providing an easy resolution. Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine and Katy Kelly’s Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu.” –Kirkus Reviews

“A fun easy chapter book despite the heavier issues.” School Library Journal

About the Author

Lenore Look is the author of Ruby Lu, Brave and True, an ALA Notable Book, as well as its sequel, Ruby Lu, Empress of Everything. Her picture books include Love as Strong as Ginger, Henry’s First-Moon Birthday, and Uncle Peter’s Amazing Chinese Wedding. She lives in Randolph, New Jersey.

Stef Choi is a debut children’s book illustrator. She has worked as a character designer and illustrator in animation since 2002 at studios such as Disney, Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and LAIKA. She lives in a tree house in Portland, Oregon.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son said "This book is awesome!" June 6 2011
By KiddosMom - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
This is a delightful book! My 1st grade son yelled "This book is awesome!" when he finished it. This book outshines the first two Ruby Lu books. Ruby Lu's father loses his job so 3rd grader Ruby learns many things: how to adjust to her mom going to work, how to deal with uncertainty, how to have fun on a budget, how to be generous on a budget, and how to be selfless. In the end, she is praised for her selflessness and is truly the "star of the show." I never expected my son to pick up a book with a girl's name for the title. He usually doesn't. I got it for my daughter. But being Asian-American, he was able to relate to Ruby learning to write haiku and wanting Thanksgiving dinner with turkey, Peking duck, dumplings and sushi. And he thought it was hilarious when Ruby gave all her friends haircuts to try to earn money to help out. I highly recommend this book.
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruby Lu: Star of the Show should be on every youngster's bookshelf Nov. 4 2013
By Dr. B. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Ruby Lu is a virtual fountain of charm and joie de vivre. This chapter book is perfect for the reluctant reader who needs a touch of childlike fantasy skillfully woven into a mostly realistic plot. Lenore Look is a master at creating lovable characters who are also believable. The author provides the perfect balance of highlighting Asian-American culture while still being relatable to children from any background. In addition to a main character of Asian descent, Look also features a supporting character, Flying Duck, who is hearing impaired.

Ruby's antics and her determination are inspirational. The issues through which she and her family walk, including job loss, poverty, occupational stress, and even a touch of depression are portrayed realistically; however, the author takes great care not to overwhelm her young readers with too much detail. In addition, Look has her main character solve her own problems (or work with others to do so), rather than have adults step in to solve them on her behalf.

From lost and found dogs to well-intended counterfeiting and exceptionally bad haircuts, Ruby Lu:Star of the Show is sure to delight elementary school aged readers with its endearing characters, compelling plot line, quaint cartoon-like illustrations and clever use of humor.
ARRAY(0xbf2fcdec)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback