SCHMELZER. Barockes Weltt... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

SCHMELZER. Barockes Welttheater. Freiburger BarockConsort

Price: CDN$ 23.46 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 16.92 4 used from CDN$ 36.66

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Composer: J. SCHMELZER
  • Audio CD (April 10 2012)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: harmonia mundi
  • ASIN: B006OW8140
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #87,418 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

On this fascinating disc, the Freiburger BarockConsort has chosen to illustrate the compositions of Johann Heinrich Schmelzer as elements in a "world theatre." This is an ideal concept for exploring the multiple facets of one of the great masters of 17th-century Austrian instrumental music, whose sonatas and dance suites had such influence both at the Habsburg court for which they were written and with the composers who followed in his footsteps (notably Biber).


Les musiciens du Freiburger BarockConsort ont choisi d'illustrer l'art de Johann Heinrich Schmelzer à la façon d'un véritable petit théâtre du monde" : cette vision permet d'explorer les mille et une facettes de l'un des grands maîtres du XVIIe siècle autrichien, dont les sonates et les suites de danses auront nourri tant la cour des Habsbourg à laquelle elles étaient destinées que les compositeurs qui s'inscriront dans son sillage (notamment Biber).


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa6453c48) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa65cfd80) out of 5 stars Awesome April 14 2012
By danbcarson - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Just listen to the first track and you'll know you're in for a treat. This is music that you don't often get to hear, with an energy that is often entirely absent from modern performances of warhorse symphonic works. Go on iTunes and buy the first track for 99 cents. Then go to about 1:37 and listen to the second movement of the Serenata Con Altre Arie. Anybody who says classical music doesn't have a groove should listen to this. You will find it hard to resist moving your body to the percussiveness of the lute and castanets. This is chamber music of the most improvisatory, intimate kind, and the players are arguably the best in their field. It is generally accepted that the Freiburger Barockorchester is the world's foremost baroque period-instrument ensemble, and the Freiburger BarockConsort on this disc seem to me to be the best of the best in this group. This is for the most part not serious music; a good deal of it is dance music, so if there is any CD available to show people that classical music is not always serious and stone-faced, this is the one. Seriously, buy that track and let yourself dance to a little bit of Heinrich Schmelzer!
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa65c0840) out of 5 stars Superb recording July 19 2012
By J. Gabrielson - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fabulous! Freiburg Baroque Orchestra does a splendid job of bringing little-known Schmelzer to life. The instrumentation is outstanding and the playing wonderful. The use of folk themes popular at the time is spot on. When they imitate bagpipes, you hear bagpipes and so on. The tempi are swift and one wants to get up and dance. This is the rock-and-roll of its day!!!
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6477078) out of 5 stars Superb Baroque chamber music album Sept. 12 2012
By Paul Brians - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've seen a couple of strong reviews of this album of music by Johann Heinrich Schmelzer. I'm a sucker for unusual early music, so I went for it. Delightful music beautifully performed and in first-rate sound.
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa61e3aa4) out of 5 stars Not what I expected March 11 2014
By Ashland, OR resident - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Music sound/playing is too ''folksy" for me; I was expecting classical, subdued and elegant music. I would NOT recommend to classical music lovers.

Look for similar items by category