SCHULZE, KLAUS - VANITY O... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


4 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 20.41 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
24 new from CDN$ 15.67 2 used from CDN$ 39.74

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 31 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: eOne Music
  • ASIN: B000BYNEM6
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #77,937 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Vanity Of Sounds 17:08
2. Sacred Romance 23:13
3. The Wings Of Strings 14:47
4. From Words To Silence 23:40

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Klaus Schulze's 84th ( !!! ). With so many Schulze albums out there it's really very daunting trying to sniff out the really good ones. For me it's been hit and miss. Not all of them are capital "G" great, but all lot of them are. "Vanity of Sounds" is just a hair 'underneath' such truly phenomenal releases as "Mirage", "Kontinuum", "Live@Klangart" and ""Rheingold" ( w/ Lisa Gerrard ). "Vanity" is more linear than those, and this may be, for me, why it doesn't quite make it into the upper of the upper echelon. I love it when Schulze layers and paints lush, complex pieces that seem to fractally regress infinitely in texture and sound picture. "Vanity of Sounds" however, features another side of Schulze - his more lateral, horizontal or more 'linear' style. He sets up some really great rhythmic motifs, very finely crafted for sure, and then plays his improvised melody lines over top, rather than the forward movement being achieved through the massive shifting of repeated motifs, as on "Mirage" and "Kontinuum" . In that respect this one is probably closer to "Live@Klangart", which strikes a very nice balance of layered textures and linear improvising. In fact the inner photographs of "Vanity of Sounds" were taken at the same even as those used to illustrate "Klangart".

"Vanity of Sounds" is a re-release of the first disc of a set of 10 previously known as "Contemporary Works I" from 2000. That original volume of work saw Schulze collaborating, on most of the discs of that set, with a Cologne music/dj collective, 'Solar Moon System. Many of his fans at the time bemoaned all the collaboration and demanded more solo Schulze. So when arranging for the this re-release he opted to re-issue only his solo work. He states quite clearly that the 10 disc set will NOT be re-released.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse