Sacred Hearts & Secre... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sacred Hearts & Secret Music
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Sacred Hearts & Secret Music

Price: CDN$ 22.27 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 14.55 3 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

1. Cantabant sancti canticum novum (chant)
2. Surge, illuminare Ierusalem: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
3. Beata Agnes in medio flammarum (chant)
4. Amo Christum, in cuius thalamum introivi (chant)
5. Agnes, beatae virginis (chant) - Missa Veni sponsa Christi: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
6. Kyrie
7. Gloria
8. Credo
9. Sanctus
10. Agnus Dei
11. Sequenza in onore di Sant'Agnese (chant)
12. Magnificat sexti toni: Cipriano de Rore
13. Stans beata Agnes in medio flammarum (chant)
14. Alma Redemptoris Mater: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina - Lamentations for Holy Saturday [Book 3]: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
15. Lectio I: De Lamentatione Ieremiae Prophetae
16. Lectio II: Aleph. Quomodo obscuratum est aurum
17. Lectio III: Incipit Oratio Ieremiae Prophetae
18. Regina caeli laetare: Cipriano de Rore

Product Description

This CD stands on its own merits as an exceptional programme of early sacred music, transcribed for and performed by the etherially beautiful voices of Musica Secreta and Celestial Sirens. However, like their earlier CD (dda25062) it has an added rationale, as the 'virtual sound-track' to the superb new novel 'Sacred Hearts', by Sarah Dunant. The music on the CD refers directly to many of the scenes and events in the book, allowing the reader/listener to more fully absorb themselves into the ancient world and characters so wonderfully portrayed.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The sound of angels singing Nov. 8 2011
By Susan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This music will transport you to a place of serenity and beauty. I have been listening to it in my car and I swear it keeps my blood pressure down and eliminates any tendency toward road rage.
Be sure and read the book Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant. This music was her inspiration for the book.
Sacred Hearts Dec 31 2013
By Dianne Thyret - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I got the lead for this CD from reading a book by Sarah Dunant. The music is beautiful and speaks of the Holy in a moving way.
Great music, great story Feb. 4 2013
By Cec - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I learned about this music when I read the book Sacred Hearts, by Sarah Dunant (which I highly, highly recommend with or without the music). I sang classical music in my youth and listening to this CD made me feel almost light-headed. The music, voices, and arrangements are so lovely, and the history behind this music is quite incredible.
Four Stars March 21 2015
By Adrian Lepeltier - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A good and relaxing listen.