More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Samson Import

Available from these sellers.
2 used from CDN$ 70.36

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. 1. Overture: Andante/Adagio/Allegro/Minuetto - The Symphony Of Harmony And Invention
2. 2. Recitative: 'This Day A Solemn Feast' - Thomas Randle
3. 3. Chorus Of Philistines: 'Awake The Trumpet's Lofty Sound' - The Sixteen
4. 4. Air: 'Ye Men Of Gaza' - Lynne Dawson
5. 5. Chorus Of Philistines: 'Awake The Trumpet's Lofty Sound!' - The Sixteen
6. 6. Air: 'Loud As The Thunder's Awful Sound' - Mark Padmore
See all 31 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. 31. Recitative: 'Despair Not Thus!' - Michael George Thomas Randle
2. 32. Air: 'Just Are The Ways Of God To Man,' - Michael George
3. 33. Recitative: 'My Evils Hopeless Are!' - Thomas Randle Catherine Wyn-Rogers
4. 34. Air: 'Return O God Of Hosts!'/35. Chorus And Micah: 'To Dust His Glory They Would Tread,' - The Sixteen Catherine Wyn-Rogers
5. 36. Recitative: 'But Who Is This,' - Catherine Wyn-Rogers Thomas Randle Lynda Russell
6. 37. Air: 'With Plaintive Notes' - Lynda Russell
See all 28 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. 61. Recitative: 'More Trouble Is Behind;' - Catherine Wyn-Rogers Thomas Randle Jonathan Best
2. 62. Air: 'Presuming Slave,' - Jonathan Best
3. 63. Recitative: 'Reflect Then, Samson,' - Catherine Wyn-Rogers Thomas Randle
4. 64. Chorus: 'With Thunder Arm'd, Great God, Arise!' - The Sixteen
5. 65. Recitative: 'Be Of Good Courage;' - Thomas Randle Catherine Wyn-Rogers Jonathan Best
6. 66. Air: 'Thus When The Sun From's Wat'ry Bed,' - Thomas Randle
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Well sung April 17 1999
By A Customer - Published on
I was bored. The quality of this oratorio is certainly below that of, say, Esther or Messiah. The recording still deserves five stars, because the performers didn't write the music, so it would be unfair to penalize them for the fact that I found the music to be under par. I like Harry Christophers, The Sixteen and the usual soloist crowd that frequently sings with them, that's why I bought this thing. I wasn't disappointed in the quality of their singing, but I wish they had applied their talents to some better composition.