Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: ... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Violin Concerto; Legend; Romance Import

Price: CDN$ 23.46 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
8 new from CDN$ 17.47 5 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 8 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Lyrita
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Legend (Conzertstuck) Op.14
2. Romance In G Op.39
3. 1st Movement: Allegro Maestoso - Vivace - Allegro Molto
4. 2nd Movement: Andante Semplice - Andantino
5. 3rd Movement: Allegro Molto - Moderato
6. Bredon HIll - A Rhapsody For Violin And Orchestra

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The bouquet of flowers Aug. 24 2008
By Charles Elford - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This piece, Coleridge-Taylor's last, finds him returning to his exuberant and spontaneous best. I'm a bit biased to say the very least, but I have to say that some of his works can at times have an over-embellished, slightly laboured feel - a bit clunky and Victorian/Edwardian sounding - but still not without its charm. The Violin Concerto is a great piece. The story of the Concerto itself is a fascinating one. The first version, based on an African-American spiritual, was rejected by the Americans who commissioned it, and the second was lost at sea. The Concerto here was written just in time for its American premiere but the stress and overwork that went into it, all had a part in the composers premature and tragic death from pneumonia brought on by exhaustion. Maud Powell, the violinst it was written for, said seeing it for the first time was like receiving a bouquet of flowers. This piece is earning Coleridge-Taylor a very well-deserved and very overdue revival. Charles Elford - author of Black Mahler The Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Story [...]
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor CD Feb. 8 2013
By P. During - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fine recording of music by a little-known but fascinating British composer with a lot of talent and a life story that makes one wish he had lived longer!

Look for similar items by category


Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images?