Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 64.89
  • List Price: CDN$ 71.95
  • You Save: CDN$ 7.06 (10%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6e Paperback – Sep 26 2013


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 64.89
CDN$ 59.95 CDN$ 78.79

Join Amazon Student in Canada



Frequently Bought Together

Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6e + NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam + NCLEX-RN Premier 2014-2015 with 2 Practice Tests
Price For All Three: CDN$ 117.37

Show availability and shipping details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 1184 pages
  • Publisher: Saunders; 6 edition (Sept. 26 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1455727555
  • ISBN-13: 978-1455727551
  • Product Dimensions: 27.7 x 21.6 x 3.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 2.2 Kg
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #406 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Deb on May 14 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As a Canadian RN practicing for over 15 years and most recently in the community, I was looking for a straight forward review with specific NCLEX tips, having not worried about this studying for Canadian exams in the past. This book, for me, was perfect. Concise, well organized, lots of review on basic nursing theory (ie. infection control!) that I needed to review in addition to details related to pre-/post-op acute care, assessments, conditions, labs and basic pharm. review for each system. Also really made use of the on-line exam prep questions, helped get me in the mind-set for the format of the questions and reasoning behind the answers. In the end, after lots of review and tons of review questions, I passed:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This booki is essential but a matter that i was not satisfied regarding of it is the unavailability of the DVD.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 186 reviews
60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
Buy the 5th edition. The yellow one. Nov. 26 2013
By WESTBOUND - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Buy the 5th edition. It has a CD with 5000+ questions. This version (6th edition) and the 5th edition have the same content. I have the newer 6th edition but I have not even cracked the plastic. My nursing school gave them to us so I have seen other peoples book. I will stick with the 5th edition and use the CD with it.
86 of 95 people found the following review helpful
Aesthetic Color Redesign with free Online browser-base software for PC and Tablet (iPad, Android, Kindle Fire). Nov. 4 2013
By Coconut Bee - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
CD is old school (breakable) and Multiple device support software is the new trend

The Free Access code is not for "Textbook" registration but its for a free Practice Questions from "Online Evolve Account" and was widely misunderstood because its actually a free "redeeming code" to a browser-base Practice Questions software from Evolve Online Catalog (similar to an App Store or Google Play store)

In order to redeem the free code, you need first to "create" your Evolve account with valid email address.

The registration process may be "annoying" to the students but it does not take a minute to sign up a new Evolve account.

Existing Evolve students (and teachers) users can simply sign in to redeem the free code.

If you do not want to purchase the 6th Edition Paperback, the online browser-base software actual price is $ 26

This written review "both" covers the new changes of the 6th Edition from the 5th Edition and the new Online software.

An additional Important Note below details the common pop up window browser problems and its solution.

Part 1: 6th Edition PAPERBACK Saunders NCLEX-RN (The Kindle version does not contain the free redeeming code)

Advantages

+ New Color of Highlighted words (Purple Background and Neon Green Info Box are visual appealing)
+ Built-in Color coded bookmark edges in Med Surg, Pedia, Pyschia Category
+ Critical Thinking Information box in every Chapters
+ Some Book References are updated (2011 to 2013)
+ Free Online browser-based software with multiple Device support (PC, Mac, iPad, Android, Windows RT Tablet)

Note: 5 inches smartphones like Galaxy 4 and Galaxy Note 3 are compatible using the Dolphin browser but the text letters will be smaller than average tablets. (Zooming the display screen is recommended)

Disadvantages

- Most Contents are the same and only new 5 questions are added from the 6th Edition textbook Comprehensive Exams
- An extra $ 20 if you purchase the 6th Edition over a used 5th edition ($ 40)

Part 2: Online Browser-base Software rebranded as Evolve Student Resources (5th Edition textbook includes a CD)

The Practice Questions online software are compatible in iPad and android Tablets (Nexus 7 & Kindle Fire) using Dolphin browser.

Chrome and Firefox are my recommended browsers in Windows PC, Windows 8 RT, Chromebook & Mac book (Important Note below)

After you log in the Evolve Student Account, Select the "Exam Review" and wait for a pop up window to appear.

Advantages

+ Multiple Device Support (PC, Mac, iPad, Android, Windows RT Tablet)
+ Online software is non-expirable and you can share your log in information to your friends (discretely)

User Interface (UI) Changes
+ Fresh purple color design with clean UI (User Interface)
+ New Testlet mode and bookmark manager
+ New Strategy and priority Concepts (New Category)
+ Repetitive Questions can be turn off and your answered Questions can be reset.

6th Edition Online Software
5172 (Multiple Choice questions)
501 (SATA questions)
Total: 5673 question

All 1000 Questions from the textbook are included in the Online Software.

Comparison:

5th Edition CD software
4435 (Multiple Choice questions)
295 (SATA questions)
Total: 4730 question

IMPORTANT NOTE:

In Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Dolphin browser you NEED to first, turn OFF the block pop up from the Settings, otherwise the Practice Question UI (User Interface) will not be displayed (Pop up Window)

In PC, Windows 8 RT tablet & Mac book and Chromebook, I recommend using Chrome and Firefox browser.

In iPad and Android Tablet (Nexus 7 & Kindle Fire), I recommend using Dolphin browser because Chrome and Safari browser does not display the Practice Question UI (User Interface).

1. After you "first log in" the Evolve Account, Select the "Exam Review" and wait for a pop up window to appear.

2. Once the pop window appears, select "Continue" and "second log in" will be display.

Do not Capitalize the first letter of your email address during the "second log-in"
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
best book ever Jan. 1 2014
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
love this book ! bought it in october, read it all, then passed my nclex with 75 Q,. highly recommend this
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Passed NCLEX with Only ONE MONTH to Study... This Book Was My Secret Weapon & Life Saver!! July 5 2014
By Nicole Roldan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Saunders is the best Review for the NCLEX hands down. I can't personally say that I have tried other books, but I'll start off by saying that I passed the NCLEX. On my first try. With 1 month to study. After being out of nursing school for a year without reviewing.

For reasons that are too long to detail here, I was having difficulty scheduling my NCLEX due to various factors. Due to some miscommunication mostly on my part, I found that they had scheduled me to take the NCLEX and had given me a test date which was exactly one month away. You can imagine the overwhelming panic that came over me as I realized I had been out of nursing school since December 2012, and it was now mid-January 2014. Anyone reading this that is thinking of "taking a break" from nursing after graduating before preparing for the NCLEX... do not wait a year like I did. This will help prevent a lot of unnecessary stress.

The tools I used to review included this book (the Kindle version) which is the 6th edition, and NCSBN's learning extension review for the NCLEX online. Now the reason that I purchased the Kindle version of Saunders was because I had ordered the physical copy of the Saunders 5th Edition book and it was taking much longer than expected to arrive to me. At the time I was living in a small town in Alaska, and Barnes & Noble or was not readily available to me to purchase an NCLEX review book. As I became more and more anxious for the 5th Edition to come in, I could not NOT study and wanted a textbook in addition to the lessons online on NCSBN. I opted to purchase the Kindle edition of this book so that it could be delivered to me right away electronically and I could begin reviewing. I wanted the physical copy of the 5th edition for a reason though. Many reviews online from students expressed that the CD that comes with the 5th edition hard copy was very valuable and the practice questions and lessons on the CD helped other studying students tremendously. That CD was what I was after, to help me review & master the material that I would be going over in the book. I had an issue with the 5th edition not coming with that CD... and other reviewers online had the same concern.
But I will clear the air and say to anyone using the CD as a deal breaker between these two editions, the 6th edition may not come with the CD, but it comes with an online membership to a website containing the EXACT SAME MATERIAL found on the physical CD that comes with the 5th Edition! Once I received the 5th Edition in the mail I was able to compare the two, and really, the content on the Saunders review website with the 6th Edition is the same as the content on the CD with the 5th Edition. Even more, the content of the entire book of the 6th Edition is nearly identical to the content within the 5th Edition. The difference between the two texts are unnoticeable besides the fact that the content is reordered in the 6th Edition.

The content in these books were incredibly informative. For someone who had not reviewed for a long time, I was able to get back into the swing of things using these texts, and the "Pyramid Points" were absolutely KEY to remember. Every chapter was equipped with important, to the point information, highlighting facts & strategies that were imperative to remember. Each chapter then concluded with review questions that were similar to what I was actually tested on. I would also recommend the audio reviews on the CD or review website. Use the testing strategies that are outlined in these books. When I was stumped on a question because I just didn't know the answer from not knowing the content, I was able to use the strategies they taught to narrow down options to find the right answer.

When I took the exam I used up the whole time and I answered questions at my own pace. I tried to not feel rushed, and I didn't really utilize the breaks except for once. At the time I took it, I didn't feel completely confident that I passed, but at the same time I knew that I had been prepared well and a lot of the content I was tested on had been covered in my Saunders texts. A couple days later I found out that I passed!

What a gratifying feeling, and I do owe it to Saunders mostly, and in part to NCSBN's review, but if I could weight it I would give Saunders 89% of the credit and 11% of it to NCSBN. Bottom line, I would recommend these books, both the 5th and 6th edition, to any nursing student preparing for the NCLEX. If I could pass the NCLEX studying only for 1 month (technically, 3.25 weeks, as I was delayed in starting from waiting for the 5th edition to come in before I began studying with the 6th edition on Kindle), and I had been out of school for over a year, then you definitely can pass using these tools especially if you have a lot more time to study than I did.

Hopefully this helps! Good luck to all studying!

Regards,
Nicole, RN-BSN ;)
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Passed! May 28 2014
By S. Bedtelyon - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is actually harder than the test. After the first 10 NCLEX questions I knew I had it in the bag :) Good luck future test takers!

Product Images from Customers

Search


Feedback