Savannah Blues and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Savannah Blues on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Savannah Blues [Paperback]

Mary K Andrews
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 18.50
Price: CDN$ 13.51 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 4.99 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.
‹  Return to Product Overview

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

This delightfully breezy, richly atmospheric debut by a former journalist who covered Savannah's infamous Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil murder trials fails to generate much suspense, but it derives its charm from an encyclopedic trove of lore about antiquities and dishy gossip, Southern style. Divorced from blue-blood architect Talmadge Evans III, but still living in a carriage house in the backyard of their restored mansion, Eloise "Weezie" Foley suffers the indignity of having her ex's sexy fianc‚e, Caroline DeSantos, living in the main house Weezie restored herself. As a "picker," Weezie earns her living foraging for discarded treasures in Dumpsters and at estate sales. When she discovers Caroline's corpse in a historic manor house, Weezie is the prime suspect in her murder. To compound her quandary, Weezie's attorney her closeted Uncle James, an ex-Catholic priest is having an illicit affair with a man from the DA's office. Factor in her on-again, off-again romance with old high school flame Daniel Stipanek, counterfeit antiques and her mom's alcoholism, and the plucky heroine has enough problems to drive at least three novels. Unfortunately, the suspense gets lost somewhere among the antiques and Weezie's attempts to consummate her romance with Daniel. But even a denouement that comes way too soon and a junk bin of distractions won't keep readers away. 8-city author tour. (Feb. 20)Forecasts: This appealing effort should do well enough on its own, but if booksellers and publicists play up the Midnight connection, it could soar.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

Reeling from a divorce, Eloise "Weezie" Foley misses her lovingly decorated historic home a bit more than she misses her cheating ex-husband. Her passion is finding and selling antiques, and she struggles to collect enough inventory to turn her hobby into a full-fledged business. When she discovers a dead body while attempting to sneak early into an estate sale, things get complicated especially because the murdered woman is her ex-husband's latest girlfriend. Andrews moves the plot along with a multitude of quirky and entertaining secondary characters Weezie's alcoholic mother, an uncle who is a gay ex-priest, and an old boyfriend who is the chef at her best friend's pricey bistro. Facts about period furniture, linens, china, vintage clothing, magazines, and paintings blend seamlessly and enrich what might have been just another ho-hum, screwball romantic story. Despite a dismal book jacket, Andrews's debut novel should soon find an audience among readers who enjoy Jayne Ann Krentz or Olivia Goldsmith. A worthwhile purchase for public libraries. Margaret Hanes, Sterling Heights P.L., MI
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

Eloise "Weezie" Foley has started up her own antique business after bitterly divorcing her husband, blue-blooded Talmadge Evans III. Her new independence has one serious crimp--she's living in the carriage house in his backyard, and he's now living with his beautiful new girlfriend, Caroline DeSantos. Their hilarious if hostile feuding only ends when Weezie breaks into an abandoned plantation house to get an advance look at an estate sale. What she finds is Caroline, dead in the bathroom closet; soon Weezie has become the prime suspect in her death. Weezie asks her Uncle James, who has just come out of the closet, for investigative help and turns to a gorgeous former boyfriend and her smart-mouthed best friend, Be-Be, for emotional support. Andrews incorporates her immensely likable characters and irreverent humor with a backdrop replete with southern lore, antique furniture, and cooking. She sets a breakneck pace, and readers will just love keeping up with her. An amazingly accomplished, genre-bending debut novel: smart, sassy, and fun to read. Joanne Wilkinson
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

“Quirky, endearing characters make Savannah Blues one heck of a good time.” (Jennifer Crusie)

“Disarming, entertaining.” (Washington Post)

“Delightfully breezy, richly atmospheric” (Publishers Weekly)

“A shining novel of wit, love, and hilarious--yet poignant--vengeance.” (--Luanne Rice)

“A great heroine, steamy Savannah setting, a hunky chef, antiques galore. It doesn’t get any better than this.” (--Susan Elizabeth Phillips)

“Savannah Blues serves up a tasty dish.” (--Ann B. Ross)

From the Back Cover

Landing a catch like Talmadge Evans III got Eloise "Weezie" Foley a jewel of a town house in Savannah's historic district. Divorcing Tal got her exiled to the backyard carriage house, where she has launched a spite-fest with Tal's new fiancée, the elegant Caroline DeSantos.

An antiques picker, Weezie combs Savannah's steamy back alleys and garage sales for treasures when she's not dealing with her loopy relatives or her hunky ex-boyfriend. But an unauthorized sneak preview at a sale lands Weezie smack in the middle of magnolia-scented murder, mayhem...and more. Dirty deals simmer all around her—just as her relationship with the cutest chef in town heats up and she finds out how delicious love can be the second time around.

About the Author

Mary Kay Andrews is a former journalist for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the national bestselling author of Savannah Blues, Little Bitty Lies, and Hissy Fit. She lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.

From AudioFile

When Eloise "Weezie" Foley's husband, Talmadge Evans III, divorces her, he's awarded their gorgeous historic Savannah home, which she decorated. Weezie ends up with the carriage house in the back garden. Susan Ericksen gives a warm and charming glow to Weezie's spunky personality. As Weezie continues her antique business on a shoestring, Tal's beautiful and perfectly groomed girlfriend moves into the big house, making the situation more tense than ever. A twist of fate finds Weezie smack dab in the middle of a murder investigation and falling in love at the same time. Ericksen superbly balances suspense with sexual tension and emotional overload with brainy humor. B.J.P. © AudioFile 2003, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine --This text refers to the Audio Cassette edition.
‹  Return to Product Overview