Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Music Deals Store Fall Tools
Savannah Blues (Weezie and Bebe Mysteries series) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Savannah Blues: A Novel has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 14-21 business days for delivery. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Free State Books. Never settle for less.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Savannah Blues: A Novel Paperback – Jul 10 2012


See all 19 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 18.50
CDN$ 4.99 CDN$ 0.01

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student


Frequently Bought Together

Savannah Blues: A Novel + Savannah Breeze: A Novel + The Fixer Upper: A Novel
Price For All Three: CDN$ 46.80

Buy the selected items together



Product Details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; Reprint edition (July 10 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0060519134
  • ISBN-13: 978-0060519131
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 2.4 x 20.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 562 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #161,814 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

This delightfully breezy, richly atmospheric debut by a former journalist who covered Savannah's infamous Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil murder trials fails to generate much suspense, but it derives its charm from an encyclopedic trove of lore about antiquities and dishy gossip, Southern style. Divorced from blue-blood architect Talmadge Evans III, but still living in a carriage house in the backyard of their restored mansion, Eloise "Weezie" Foley suffers the indignity of having her ex's sexy fianc‚e, Caroline DeSantos, living in the main house Weezie restored herself. As a "picker," Weezie earns her living foraging for discarded treasures in Dumpsters and at estate sales. When she discovers Caroline's corpse in a historic manor house, Weezie is the prime suspect in her murder. To compound her quandary, Weezie's attorney her closeted Uncle James, an ex-Catholic priest is having an illicit affair with a man from the DA's office. Factor in her on-again, off-again romance with old high school flame Daniel Stipanek, counterfeit antiques and her mom's alcoholism, and the plucky heroine has enough problems to drive at least three novels. Unfortunately, the suspense gets lost somewhere among the antiques and Weezie's attempts to consummate her romance with Daniel. But even a denouement that comes way too soon and a junk bin of distractions won't keep readers away. 8-city author tour. (Feb. 20)Forecasts: This appealing effort should do well enough on its own, but if booksellers and publicists play up the Midnight connection, it could soar.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

Reeling from a divorce, Eloise "Weezie" Foley misses her lovingly decorated historic home a bit more than she misses her cheating ex-husband. Her passion is finding and selling antiques, and she struggles to collect enough inventory to turn her hobby into a full-fledged business. When she discovers a dead body while attempting to sneak early into an estate sale, things get complicated especially because the murdered woman is her ex-husband's latest girlfriend. Andrews moves the plot along with a multitude of quirky and entertaining secondary characters Weezie's alcoholic mother, an uncle who is a gay ex-priest, and an old boyfriend who is the chef at her best friend's pricey bistro. Facts about period furniture, linens, china, vintage clothing, magazines, and paintings blend seamlessly and enrich what might have been just another ho-hum, screwball romantic story. Despite a dismal book jacket, Andrews's debut novel should soon find an audience among readers who enjoy Jayne Ann Krentz or Olivia Goldsmith. A worthwhile purchase for public libraries. Margaret Hanes, Sterling Heights P.L., MI
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
First Sentence
The rapping at the front door of the carriage house was unmistakable. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Gail Cooke TOP 50 REVIEWER on Sept. 30 2006
Format: Audio CD
Who could forget Savannah after Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (both book and film)? Here's one more reason to have Savannah on our minds - the romantic, mysterious fun filled romp by Mary Kay Andrews, and her thoroughly likable character, Eloise "Weezie" Foley.

Things haven't exactly been going Weezie's way lately - she underwent a divorce that gives new meaning to acrimonious. Her ex, Talmadge Evans III, got their gorgeous home in the historic district. (A mansion that Weezie has spent countless months, indeed years, restoring). Talk about salt in open wounds - he's living there with new girlfriend Caroline DeSantos.

What did Weezie get in the settlement? The carriage house behind the mansion. From here she's running her antique business. Don't misunderstand, Weezie isn't one of those wealthy, uppity dealers - she's the low woman in the antique trade, one who forages wherever she can for items that might sell. These she restores to sell to more fortunate dealers or online. If only she could find something really important, she might be able to open a shop of her own.

Meanwhile her life isn't dull with a boyfriend who's an ace chef, an alcoholic mother, an uncle who was a priest but is now a gay lawyer, a friend who dates a mortician, and other outre personalities. However, she had never counted on murder - that is until she finds a dead body in the most unlikely of places.

Voice performer Susan Ericksen perfectly captures Weezie and segues easily from character to character. An appreciated East Coast actress who is frequently seen on stage and television, her diction is clear and easy on the ears.

- Gail Cooke
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
Weezie and Caroline go head to head over a crumbling plantation house. Caroline has big plans to bulldoze the historic building and put up a paper mill. Weezie wants to save the house as a historic landmark--and get her hands on the fabulous, valuable antiques within. One cupboard in particular has caught her eye. If she can score it, she'll make enough profit to open her shop.
But Weezie's overzealous interest in the house and an upcoming sale of the contents lands her squarely in the middle of a murder investigation--with the murder weapon in her possession. And in the middle of everything, she's trying to deal with a mother whose drinking problem has hit a crisis point, as well as a formerly-nerdy-boyfriend-turned-hunk who still has the hots for her.
This book was so much fun to read. It's been a long time since I could cheer for a heroine as endearing as Weezie. The characters were sharply drawn and so true to live, even as they were exaggerated. Weezie's best friend, Bebe Loudermilk, is a delight, and her uncle, an ex-priest-turned-lawyer coming to terms with his homosexuality, is a wonderful character. Much of the book is told from his point of view, in third person, while the rest is first person from Weezie's viewpoint. It's an odd set-up, but it works.
If there was any fault to find in this book, it was that the author went a little gentle with the heroine. Yes, Weezie got herself into terrible fixes, but there were times when she wiggled off the hook a bit too easily. (For example, though she was initially suspected of murder, no one really thought she did it and she was never charged.) Also, the solution to the mystery was less than satisfying. I can't say more than that without giving something away.
Still, the book was so thoroughly readable, so engaging, that I didn't really care about the mystery all that much. I just wanted to keep spending time with those delightful characters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
Eloise "Weezie" Foley is an antique picker in Savannah. She lives in the backyard carriage house, behind the townhouse she and her ex-husband Talmadge Evans III lived in. Now he lives there with his new finacee, Caroline DeSantos.
As Weezie is putting her life back together, she goes to Beaulieu plantation to pay her respects to ninety year old Anna Ruby Mullinax who died in her sleep. Weezie is accompanied by her uncle James who is an ex-priest and now an attorney. Weezie was not friends with Mrs. Mullinax. She just wants a peek at the antique treasures they will soon be selling.
Weezie's best friend is BeBe. She runs the Gaule restaurant in town. She goes with Weezie to camp out the night before the big sale at Beaulieu to try to help her. Unfortunately Weezie discovers a dead body and becomes the prime suspect for the murder.
In the meantime she runs into her hunky ex-boyfriend, Daniel Stipanek. Things get steamy as they reacquaint themselves.
Mary Kay Andrews definitely has a hit series. I can't wait to read the next in the series. Weezie is a fabulous character with lots of spunk and reality. You feel everything with her and are constantly cheering for her, too.
I think Ms. Andrews must have written romances before. The steamy scenes are so well written and without all the unneeded smut! I applaud her!
I especially like the Savannah setting. It is so rich with scenery, and I felt I could see each one.
Uncle James is a great character too. Then there is her mother and don't forget Tal, her ex. They are all so well described. The thing I really like is that they don't fall out of character. She keeps them separate and makes them so real.
I highly recommend this book and can't wait for the next one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback