Schoenberg Berg & Webern has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Schoenberg Berg & Webern

Price: CDN$ 61.96 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 34.01 2 used from CDN$ 42.29

Product Details

  • Performer: Giuseppe Sinopoli
  • Composer: Schoenberg; Berg; Webern
  • Audio CD (Nov. 10 2008)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Label: Wcl
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #184,036 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

See all items

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa25ead50) out of 5 stars 1 review
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2347018) out of 5 stars 2nd Viennese School in 1st Class Performances April 2 2014
By Lloyd Paguia Arriola - Published on
Verified Purchase
I have long been an admirer of the late Giuseppe Sinopoli, even if his conducting might border on the hector in and enervating. In this box set he brings out the fullest in all the scores that require opulent treatment--i.e. GURRELIEDER, the Six Songs, Opus 8, ERWARTUNG (the last two with the most gloriously rich-sounding Alessandra Marc, a mightily undervalued hochdramatisch Sopran). And in the Webern, the keen insight and spartan textures are achieved by a conductor who was psychologically insightful and precise with his ideas, and was capable of transmitting those ideas to his Dresden players. If, as Herbert von Karajan once famously said of the Staatskapelle Dresden orchestra that their playing was "magnificent--like old gold", here the Italian maestro is able to bring out the inherent beauty of the band's playing with a mote modern virtuoso acuity and precision. The works by Alban Berg seem to be as close to Sinopoli as any music. Here the music of Berg sounds positively ultra-Romantic, even ultra-Mahlerian--and we are witnesses to some of the most impressive and compelling renditions of these works as a result. Whether listening to the Kammerkonzert, the Violin Concerto, the Three Orchestral Pieces, Der Wein--this is music-making on a transcendental, even exalted and divine, level. I cannot recommend this set more highly.

Look for similar items by category