biss boutiques-francophones Learn more Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno vd2016beauty

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2004
Here's the full list of movies:
The Incredible Petrified World
Queen of the Amazons
Robot Monster
She Gods of Shark Reef
The Amazing Transparent Man
The Atomic Brain
Horrors of Spider Island
The Wasp Woman
Voyage to the Prehistoric Planet
Voyage to the Planet of Prehistoric Women
King of Kong Island
Bride of the Gorilla
Attack of the Monsters (aka Gamera vs. Guiron)
Gammera, the Invincible
Santa Claus Conquers The Martians
Teenagers From Outer Space
Crash of the Moons (Rocky Jones)
Menace From Outer Space (Rocky Jones)
Hercules Against The Moonmen
Hercules and the Captive Women
Hercules and the Tyrants of Babylon
Hercules Unchained
Lost Junle
Mesa of Lost Women
Assignment: Outer Space
Laser Mission
Killers From Space
Phantom From Space
White Pongo
The Snow Creature
Son of Hercules
Devil of the Desert vs. the Son of Hercules
First Spaceship On Venus
Zontar, the Thing From Venus (remake of "It Conquered the World")
The Astral Factor (aka "The Invisible Strangler")
The Galaxy Invader
Battle of the Worlds
Unknown World
Blood Tide
The Brain Machine
THe Wild Women of Wongo
Prehistoric Women
They Came From Beyond Space
Warning From Space
The Phantom Planet
Planet Outlaws (Buck Rogers)
Colossus and the Amazon Queen
Eegah
Cosmos: War of the Planets
Destroy All Planets (aka Gamera vs. Viras)
0Comment112 of 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
I bought this knowing I was making a huuuge deal! I knew already that these movies were not Peter Jackson's HD-DVD King Kong quality but I was still surprised! All these movies are monophonic and full screen... but hey! There are 50 of them! Most of them you can buy individually for 15$ on a not-very-much-better-quality DVD! There are ALL watchable movies, some of them are even pretty good! Where I had a problem is when I received my box-set, I was looking forward to watch, most of all, Robot Monster. The problem is that Robot Monster was replaced by "Moon of the wolf"! Nobody knew about this change in the edtion of the pack so amazon sent me another one to correct the mistake... but it had the same problem. So be careful, don't buy this set for Robot Monster!..But buy it anyway!...NOW!
0Comment26 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 14, 2014
The movie list in the review below is incorrect. The list was changed, along with the box art. The list refers to the earlier version (red cover).

Four movies were removed from the red-box version:
Robot Monster (1953)
Devil of the Desert vs. Son of Hercules (1964)
Zontar, The Thing From Venus (1966)
Battle of the Worlds (1961)

Instead you get in the black box version:
Giants of Rome (1964)
Moon of the Wolf
The Alpha Incident
Snowbeast
the rest of which are 1970s' vintage.

Otherwise, it's a fair collection. Not great reproduction or quality, but for the price it's a real bargain. A must-have for those of us who like B-film scifi. I would personally like to have more pre-1970 films of this sort in the collection, rather than the later ones.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this set a couple of years ago. Recently I had some time on my hands so I quickly previewed a few of the Mill Creek 50 movie packs including this SCI - FI collection and looked at all 12 discs again for content and image quality . There are more than a few great films in this collection that make it worthwhile. There's plenty of great campy content and "killer B's" in this 50 movie pack. A few of the highlights are Mesa of Lost Woman, Prehistoric Women, Teenagers From Outer Space, and The Wasp Woman.

The picture quality on some movies leaves a lot to be desired though. Are you old enough to remember VHS and SP, LP, and EP? If your answer is yes, let this be your guide. Much of the content looks like it's EP quality, the rest is much sharper. In fact some movies are so soft that they look like they've been copied again and again. They lack proper detail and are several generations removed from the originals. I'd say about half of the films look really good and most of the others are acceptable. Very few of them come close to actual DVD quality picture standards. That's okay, I personally don't mind VHS quality once in a while if I enjoy the movie, and this set only cost me ten bucks!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 13, 2004
I bought about a fourth of these movies and they were very economically priced, however even with duplicates this pack would be worth purchasing. Many of them are Roger Corman classics. Others are so bad that you have to watch then to tell people that you too have eclectic tastes. The individual titles come and go so get them all while you can.
Be sure to read all the individual reviews (after you buy the collection).
A few of highlights:
The Incredible Petrified World - 66 minutes long
Queen of the Amazons - original title "Amazons and Gladiators"
Robot Monster - terminator in a fur suit
She Gods of Shark Reef - natives and sharks but no She Gods
The Amazing Transparent Man - you can see through this one
The Wasp Woman - a stinging performance
Santa Claus Conquers The Martians - it is an abduction story
Teenagers From Outer Space - so what is new?
Crash of the Moons (Rocky Jones) - female ruler with a nasty attitude
Mesa of Lost Women - Horrible background music
Killers From Space - saw this as a kid - still spooky - Ping-Pong ball eyes
Zontar, the Thing From Venus - rubber Venusians
There are a few glaring omissions including "The Crawling Eye"
0Comment23 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
HORRIBLE, Do Not Buy. It looks like someone transfered these great movies from old VHS cassettes, using a phone or video camera to record it off an old CRT TV.

Amazon, should investigate any copyright offences that may be being committed with the sale of these videos.

I was going to purchase other video classics, but will not. I will have to assume that all these classics collections are all poor quality.

A little education on B&W movies. When B&W are filmed it is considered HD quality due to the lack of color information, B&W movies have larger bandwidth of information because the grey-scale information has a range.

DO NOT BUY ANY OF THESE MOVIES, You will be very disappointed. I bought it a $10.00, if I paid more I would have returned them.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
King of the "B" movies, that should be all anyone needs to know. Anyone who knows Sci FI movies should understand.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2004
I have the 50 Mystery Movie Pack and the 50 Horror Movie pack and they are worth the price many times over. It's like old Fright Night fests on telly or a 1950's Drive-In allnighter!
Queen of the Amazons, The Robot Monster, The Amazing Transparent Man, The Wasp Woman, Bride of the Monster, Attack of the Monsters, Gamera the Invincible, Santa Claus Conquers the Martians, Teenagers From Outerspace, 5 Hercules ficks, Lost Jungle, Mesa of Lost Women, Eagah (one of my all time favs of Slock B-movies!) and dozens of more!
So pop a bowl of popcorn and sit back and enjoy all the movies so bad they are good...well, sort of!!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 30, 2010
Teenagers from Outer Space does not pretend to be anything more than what it is: science fiction camp with a sense of humour. In this respect, the film actually works and as a consequence is rather entertaining.

In fact, the premise of the film is actually plausible. If there was such an alien race from outer space, why wouldn't they see earth as a potential grazing ground for their monstrous cattle, and why would they necessarily see any value to human life apart from any other life form.

However, the film recognizes its low budget, and instead has a lot of camp fun playing out the scenario of good alien and bad alien. We have good alien Derek, who admires humanity and ends up not only falling in love with an earthling, but wanting to make his permanent home on earth. Then you have the bad alien, Thor, who enjoys shooting humans like hunters shooting ducks out of the sky. In fact, in a morbid kind of way, it is actually humorous in seeing him zap anything he can into a cheap looking skeleton.

If you like the corny camp science fiction films of the 1950's, you'll enjoy Teenagers from Outer Space.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 23, 2006
Outer space teenager Derek (David Love) has a few characters flaws; he has a respect for other beings, he wants to know who his parentage is, and he reads forbidden books. Thor (Bryan Grant) has none of these hang-ups and a propensity to use earth creatures such as swimming beauty Alice Woodward (Sonia Torgeson) and little dogs for target practice. The rest of the crew are ambivalent and just want to test the earth as a possible place to grow giant man eating lobsters.

Looks like Derek escapes before they can tell him he is the son of (oh no, watch the movie and find out.) He takes a room in the house of the beautiful Betty Morgan (Dawn Bender, as Dawn Anderson) and her gullible and accepting Grandpa Morgan (Harvey B. Dunn). Grandpa is so dumb you keep wishing he was the first victim.

The film is well played out and the script sophisticated for the genera. The props were really cheep, including using the same skeleton for all the disintegrated victims. You can see where the plastic ray-gun was stamped together and the authorities used Luger Parabellums to shoot "metal pellets". The dialog deplorable and the lobster too recognizable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse