The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, Book Two) (The Maze Runner) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, Book Two) (The Maze Runner) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2) [Audiobook, Unabridged] [Audio CD]

James Dashner , Mark Deakins
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 52.00
Price: CDN$ 32.60 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 19.40 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, October 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $15.15  
Paperback CDN $9.92  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, Unabridged CDN $32.60  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Oct. 26 2010 The Maze Runner Series (Book 2)
Read the second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015, and is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a movie featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
 
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.
 
There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.
 
The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.
 
Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.
 
There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.”Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times
 
[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred


From the Hardcover edition.

Frequently Bought Together

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2) + The Death Cure (Maze Runner Series #3)
Price For Both: CDN$ 64.10


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product Details


Product Description

Review

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Book Sense Bestseller
An Indie Next List Selection
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.”Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart pounding to the very last moment.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.”—Romantic Times
 
* “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred
 
“Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.”—Deseret News


From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

James Dashner is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, and The Kill Order, as well as The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com, follow @jamesdashner on Twitter, and find dashnerjames on Instagram.




From the Hardcover edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book! April 9 2011
By panaura
Format:Hardcover
I am a YA book reviewer, and The Scorch Trials was one of the best teen books I've read in a long time. I found The Maze Runner to be a fascinating concept, as I am very interested in post-apocalyptic teen books. But The Scorch Trials surpassed the first book by miles. It was so intense and chaotic and wonderful. I purposely spent an entire month reading it just so that it wouldn't end. I absolutely can't wait for the third book to come out.
Was this review helpful to you?
By SIKBookReviewer TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
What you're in for: Phase 2. Craziness. Telepathy. Illusions. Confusion. Tattoos. Surprises. Suspense. Betrayal.

My Thoughts:
Okay, so much crazy sh*t happened in this book. It was pretty much non-stop action/adventure/absolute craziness. It seemed like almost every chapter ended with a mini cliffhanger! I'm not sure how James Dashner came up with this stuff. He must have a very creative mind.

I'm not going to say much at all about the story, because I don't want to ruin a single thing for you. But, there is just so much that goes on and so much that these poor characters have to go through in order to survive and make it to the end of Phase 2.

Why only 3/5 stars? I feel like we still don't have much more knowledge about what the heck is going on than we did after the first book. So, that was unsatisfying to me. I also felt that Thomas wasn't very likable at times in this book. I, honestly (and don't hate me for saying this), think that the movies might just be better than the books in this case. Which I have never run into before! This is just judging from me seeing the first movie, but not reading it, and reading the second book. So, of course, I can't say for sure until I see the second movie. But, I would say that the first movie was better than the second book.

I can't wait to get my hands on the third book. Especially with that ending! Another wtf moment! What's going to happen now? What could possibly be in store for Thomas and the others next?
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Scorch Trials by James Dashner Nov. 18 2011
Format:Hardcover
This book (book 2 in The Maze Runner trilogy) picks up right where The Maze Runner left off. As mentioned in my review of The Maze Runner, James Dashner is an amazing writer, and his writing remains up to snuff in this second installment. Once again the book opens with an intense and intriguing opening that immediately pulls the reader right into the story, but this time we are shoved into a room cramped with the surviving gladers, but we already know things are going to be bad.

"She spoke to him before the world fell apart."

I felt the pacing was a bit off with this novel. I was often left wondering what was really going on, why they were where they were, and what everything meant. It felt a little slapped together to be honest. It wasn't nearly as scary and creepy as The Maze Runner, and the whole back and forth thing with Theresa was just plain annoying.

Thomas felt completely detached from the rest of the group, which I am sure was part of the point, but it just seemed like all those relationships that were built up in The Maze Runner didn't matter at all and were a waste of space. I hope things come together better in The Death Cure.

Another thing that really annoyed me was the whole thing where Thomas would meet someone new, debate whether he should basically tell them his whole life story, then decide he either can trust them or has no other choice, and then those characters have no real main part in the book. Again it just feels like filler...and annoying filler at that...

I guess it just felt like overall there wasn't enough surprises to keep my interest, especially since I knew there would be one more book. I find most trilogies tend to slack in the second book...
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! Very fast paced July 11 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Love it! Very fast paced. Warning to younger readers - More gory than the first book though.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book March 11 2014
By KMK
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Our Grandson who was turning 8 at the time we gave this to him could not put it down he loves the entire series.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars suspense and tons of twists and turns April 4 2013
By Monica
Format:Paperback
This book was a great YA book. Unlike the maze runner there isn't a lot about this book that you can anticipate. Its very suspenseful and has tons of twists and turns in every direction that keep you guessing and reading. The main character is changing himself and you get to rid along for his journey. Of course it leaves you in the dark waiting to read the next book in the trilogy. The only downfall about this book to me is its so wildly chaotic that I don't know how the end can make it all make sense. We will see I guess.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic March 20 2012
By Fotoula
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Excellent read in this trilogy series. Had to turning the pages to see what was going to happen next.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback