Scotch Bestiary (a)/ Pian... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Scotch Bestiary (a)/ Piano Cto
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Scotch Bestiary (a)/ Piano Cto

Price: CDN$ 20.62 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
23 new from CDN$ 14.76 2 used from CDN$ 22.58

Product Details

1. The Book Is Opened. Andante
2. I. Ode To A Cro-Magnon Hyena. Adagio
3. A Page Is Turned. Tempo I
4. II. Reptiles And Big Fish (In A Small Pond). Largo-Andante-Largo-Andante-Tempo Di Valse (Allegro)-Andante-Largo
5. III. Her Serene And Ubiquitous Majesty, Queen Bee. Senza Misura. Prestissimo Possibile, Sempre Legatissimo-Adagio
6. Another Page Is Turned. Tempo I
7. IV. The Red-Handed, No Surrender, Howler Monkey. Tempo Di Marcia
8. V. Uncle Tom Cat And His Chickens. Adagio
9. Yet Another Page Is Turned. Tempo I
10. VI. Scottish Patriots. Maestoso
11. VII. The Reverend Cuckoo And His Parroting Chrous
12. VIII. Jackass Hackass. Prestissimo Possibile (Moto Perpetuo)
13. The Book Is Closed. Tempo I
14. Andante-Meno Mosso-Largamente-Adagio-Adagio-Moderato-Andante-Fast-Presto-Presto-Presto-Largamente Con Rubato-PResto-Ritmico E Marcato-Presto-Adagio-Presto-Adagio-Presto-Adagio-Presto
15. I. Cumnock Fair. Fast
16. II. Shambards
17. III. Shamnation. Allegro (Tempo Di Reel)

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Wow! June 1 2008
By David C. Green - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I first heard of James MacMillan when I was looking for his "The World's Ransoming" on CD. As I looked on the Boosey & Hawkes website to see what other music was to his credit, I came across this quite unique concerto. I was even more excited when I found that there was a CD recording of the work. The work is very lively and extremely entertaining from start to finish. Each section is very different from the rest, as the organ and orchestra combine in rather unique sounds. Also, the fun percussive sound of, get this, TYPEWRITERS is quite humorous and neat. The only sad thing is that this was not recorded using the Disney Hall organ in Los Angeles, for which the piece was written and on which it was premiered. Other than that, it is glorious. The piano concerto that is also on the disc is also neat, though it pales in comparison to the organ work. Wayne Marshall is a fantastic soloist for both works, and MacMillan himself conducts the orchestra well. This will be a fun recording to have in your collection.