Searching for God Knows What and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Searching for God Knows What on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Searching For God Knows What [Paperback]

Donald Miller
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 19.49
Price: CDN$ 14.07 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.42 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, October 28? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.99  
Paperback, Large Print CDN $13.86  
Paperback, May 25 2010 CDN $14.07  
Audio, CD, Audiobook CDN $18.26  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

May 25 2010

In Searching for God Knows What, best-selling author Donald Miller invites you to reconnect with a faith worth believing. With humor, intelligence, and his trademark writing style, he shows that  relationship is God’s way of leading us to redemption. And our need for redemption drives us to relationship with God. “Being a Christian,” Miller writes, “is more like falling in love than understanding a series of ideas.”

Maybe you are a Christian wondering what faith you signed up for. Or maybe you don’t believe anything and are daring someone—anyone—to show you a genuine example of authentic faith. Somewhere beyond the self-help formulas, fancy marketing, and easy promises there is a life-changing experience with God waiting. Searching for God Knows What weaves together beautiful stories and fresh perspectives on the Bible to show one man’s journey to find it.

“Like a shaken snow globe, Donald Miller’s newest collection of essays creates a swirl of ideas about the Christian life that eventually crystallize into a lovely landscape . . . [He] is one of the evangelical book market’s most creative writers.” —Christianity Today

“If you have felt that Jesus is someone you respect and admire—but Christianity is something that repels you—Searching for God Knows What will give you hope that you still can follow Jesus and be part of a church without the trappings of organized religion.” —Dan Kimball Author of The Emerging Church and Pastor of Vintage Faith Church, Santa Cruz, CA

“For fans of Blue Like Jazz, I doubt you will be disappointed. Donald Miller writes with the wit and vulnerability that you expect. He perfectly illustrates important themes in a genuine and humorous manner . . . For those who would be reading Miller for the first time, this would be a great start.” —Relevant

 


Frequently Bought Together

Searching For God Knows What + Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality + A Million Miles In A Thousand Years
Price For All Three: CDN$ 44.37


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Miller, author of Blue Like Jazz, serves as campus ministry leader at Reed College. His writing voice is casual and somewhat eccentric, while his theories—largely derived from experience rather than extensive study—are at times brilliant, at times questionable and rarely supported by outside sources. The book covers a great deal of territory: Miller's walking away from God as a teenager and returning to his faith; the competitive nature of human relationships, painfully demonstrated through junior high memories; the meaning of morality and religion; the essence of true Christianity. But Miller's main theme is dissatisfaction with the way Christianity is taught and practiced. He says the religion ought not to be presented as a formula, its tenets broken down into bullet points to fit modern Western thought patterns. At its heart, Miller argues, Christianity is relationship. Interested people should be presented with biblical stories rather than steps to salvation. Miller also believes that many Christians behave correctly but their actions lack meaning: "The tough thing about Christian spirituality is, you have to mean things. You can't just go through the motions or act religious for the wrong reasons... this thing is a thing of the heart." However, Miller offers only faint suggestions to replace the formulaic or systematic approach to faith that he denounces.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Donald Miller is the author of several books, including the bestsellers Blue Like Jazz and A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. He helps people live a better story at www.creatingyourlifeplan.com and helps leaders grow their businesses at www.storybrand.com. He lives in Nashville, Tennessee, with his wife, Betsy, and their chocolate lab, Lucy.

 


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and insightful July 15 2010
Format:Paperback
Donald Miller is one of my favourite authors. I say that as full disclosure. I was reading Donald Miller before he was cool, before he was thin, before he had a movie deal. And even with my aversion to most things popular, my loathing of being a lemming, I have to tell you: it's worth the hype. The man can write and writes incredibly well. Like another one of my favourites, Anne Lamott, he's funny, poignant, creative, eccentric, risky and honest particularly about faith. He's refreshingly honest. And somehow, he can take me from laughing out loud to deep spiritual reflection and prayer within a few pages.

Chapter 4 "Free Verse" actually made me get out of bed one night while I was reading and pad outside in my bare feet to where my husband was sitting. I promptly sat down and read him the entire chapter out loud. We both had tears in our eyes when we were finished.

This is a book for people that know that there is more to Christ than systematic theology. More than modern religion, more than formulas and to-do lists.

This book captures the meaning of it all, the intrigue, the passion, the romance of God.

It's written for those of us that find ourselves outside of the box, those of us that don't quite fit in most religious requirements or structures, those of us that have a deep longing for spirituality, for God, for something more than what we see represented by most of what we see around us. Touching on everything from the Bible to the lifeboat theory and values clarification (a chapter that will make you want to find some good friends to hash that out), Jesus, the Gospel, morality among others. Donald Miller writes as a fellow traveller, someone giving voice to our deepest longings and searching alongside of us.

Verdict: Beautiful and insightful. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy on theology, but an interesting read March 10 2009
Format:Paperback
I'm a little bit biased, I suppose, because I like Donald Miller and I've enjoyed a few of his other books before this one. For people looking for "Blue Like Jazz 2" look somewhere else. This can get into some fairly heavy theology and is written to believers. This book is filled with scriptural references and Miller makes good use of "The Message", which I enjoyed greatly.

Like I said before, this is not "Blue Like Jazz 2", and the book is often light on the personal narrative that Miller is so popular for. That being said, Miller brings an interesting perspective to the Gospel, making the arguement that the Bible is a story of relationship with God, rather than a list of rules or a how-to guide.

Overall I would recommend this book to Miller fans, but would suggest that you pick up "Blue Like Jazz" and read that before you dig into this title.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Searching for a great book? Look no further! Sept. 17 2009
Format:Paperback
Donald Miller once again writes creative, deep thinking about the Christian faith. His writing style is unique, the book follows a similar pattern with Blue Like Jazz. Donald explains that faith is not meant to be formulatic. That love is important, and his chapter on morality is a thinker.

This is worth a read, and if you really like Miller you should buy the 3 in 1 book with this, blue like jazz and thourgh painted deserts.

With his new book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years being released in a few short weeks, this is worth a part of the collection.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback