Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Seasons of the Heart: Once Upon a Summer, Winds of Autumn, Winter is Not Forever, Springs....... [Box set] [Paperback]

Janette Oke
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback, Box set --  
Join Amazon Student in Canada

Book Description

July 1989 Seasons Of The Heart Series
Oke writes with a special feeling about her characters and their time, reminding us of those family values that we hold dear. This heartwarming collection of four novels is a wonderful series of stories about an American family on the prairies of yesterday. Includes Once Upon a Summer, Winds of Autumn, Winter is Not Forever, and Spring's Gentle Promise.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

Product Description

About the Author

Janette Oke, recipient of the 1992 ECPA President's Award and the 1999 CBA Life Impact Award for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry, has also won both the Gold Medallion Award and the Christy Award for fiction. Janette and her husband, Edward, live in Alberta, Canada. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4 star
2 star
1 star
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars All right overall May 13 2002
By A Customer
Personally, I don't care for the way Janette Oke used the first-person style of writing, with a man as her main character. Her man just doesn't seem like a real man, mainly because he acts and thinks along the same lines as Janette's women do in her other books. Overall, it was a mistake for her to use a guy to tell the story- I think the books would have been vastly better if Janette had used a girl's perspective.
Aside from that complaint-
This story begins with the childhood of the "narrator", and goes through the boy's growing-up years on the farm. Everything is peaceful and happy. Little incidents occur here and there- his grandfather comes to live with them, he gets his first dog, etc. Finally, he becomes a man. One night he overhears the men downstairs discussing the fact that he needs to get married. He decides that yes, he should get married, so bang! he goes out and does it. Then the books tell about his married life (I liked his wife, by the way.) During his married life they go through the Depression and he winds up on a road crew far from home. All of a sudden, at the very end, everything is resolved and he gets to go home.
Generally this story is pretty good, but I've read many books by Janette Oke that are much better. Like I said, I think what messed up this series was trying to use the guy's perspective. It just isn't quite right.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous read March 30 2014
By Churly
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I Enjoyed reading about Josh as he grew from boy to man and all the joys n sorrows to follow his journey. Makes one reflect on what we have now vs what they had then.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars  60 reviews
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites growing up. Nov. 30 2005
By Jeffrey Lowers - Published on Amazon.com
Originally my mom introduced me to this series because she thought I would enjoy it because it was from a guys perspective. Well she was right. I cant even count how many times I read through each of the books. I could always imagine being right there with him as he told his story. Eventually I was given this book collecting all four novels and again read through it over and over again. This being the only Janette Oke series I have read I cant really base it off of the other ones. But for me it was a great way to spend a rainy day or just any other time I felt like picking up a book.
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seasons Series Aug. 3 2001
By Sarah Mueller - Published on Amazon.com
I am an avid fan of Janette Oke, and have read every thing she has published. This is indeed a wonderful series, with descriptive scenes and true romance. If you haven't tried this one--give it a chance-it is a beautiful story.
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Little House on the Prairie, if not better!!! Feb. 15 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
A friend introduced me to this series by Janette Oke, telling me if I enjoyed Little House on the Prairie I would like this Series - was she ever right!!! This was wonderful, even better than Little House!!! I truly appreciate the inspiration that comes across in these books. If you enjoyed this you will also like Jan Karon's - Mitford Series & Marjorie Holmes: Two From Galilee, Three From Galilee & The Messiah.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For young and old Jan. 23 2011
By Agie2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
My gradmaw read me these books evey night when i was about 6 I laughed i cried so much raw human emotion Im 16 and reading them again It takes skill to have a good clean family oreanted story love these books!
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love reading Janet Oke books, I collect them all. April 30 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
I was looking for a clean, Christian romance book at a Christian book store and the salesperson introduced me to Janet's books. I have been hooked ever since. I collect all of her books and I can't wait until she writes new books. Keep them coming Janet.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category