Shatter Me and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 15.87
  • List Price: CDN$ 21.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.12 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Shatter Me has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Shatter Me Hardcover – Oct 20 2011


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 15.87
CDN$ 11.64 CDN$ 7.81

Amazon.ca First Novel Award - 6 Canadian Novels Make the Shortlist


Frequently Bought Together

Shatter Me + Unravel Me + Ignite Me
Price For All Three: CDN$ 47.61

Buy the selected items together


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Tween (Tw); 1 edition (Oct. 20 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062085484
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062085481
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.9 x 21 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 318 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #197,750 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN)

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist)

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal)

EARLY PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.” (Kami Garcia, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels)

About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts.Ignite Meis the final novel in a trilogy about Juliette.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jessica Strider TOP 500 REVIEWER on Dec 29 2011
Format: Paperback
Pros: brilliant writing, sympathetic protagonist, open to sequels, very fast read, hard to put down

Cons: some plot twists depended on remarkably good luck/coincidence, ending implies Juliette made a choice she didn't actually make (yet)

For Parents: some sexual content (kissing +, but no actual sex), some language, some violence

Seventeen year old Juliette can't touch people without causing them pain and ultimately killing them. Three years ago she forgot this truth and had an accident that still haunts her and sent her to solitary confinement at an insane asylum.

Her hellish life changes when she's given a cellmate, a boy named Adam who looks familiar.

This is a book about power, control and sanity. Juliette is surprisingly strong for a woman who's close to losing her sanity due to this power she cannot control. When she comes under the power of the clearly insane Warner, who wants to use her ability to torture and kill those who defy the Reestablishment, the new global world order, she has to make some tough decisions.

Mafi's dystopic world is horrific, one in which people have given up what freedoms remained to them after the plants and animals became so polluted that eating them meant poisoning themselves. The Reestablishment promised hope, but delivered a totalitarian regime in which a few live in luxury while the rest suffer.

The writing is brilliant. Like with Patrick Ness's The Knife of Never Letting Go, Mafi knows the rules of writing and breaks them in delightful ways. Each word is chosen with care, as the protagonist makes the most unusual - but intelligent - metaphors.

Juliette is an intriguing character who is immediately sympathetic.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By stephanie on May 3 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I loved the way the book was written! I loved the striked text, and I especially loved all the things that didn't make sense. The woman had been locked up for almost a year, I would've been disappointed if she were totally normal. Even the lack of commas and the repetition worked for me - she was going crazy. It wasn't supposed to make sense the whole time.

But it just got worse as I kept reading. The reason why I didn't put it down was because I couldn't go to sleep without knowing whether or not the story got better. I was really praying it would.

Well, it didn't.

I finished it and I have no urge to purchase the second one. Movin' on.

If you really loved Divergent (like I did), don't start here to cure your Tris/Tobias/Dystopia hangover. I didn't care about the characters. I didn't care about the world they lived in. It has many of the same elements but it's nowhere near comparable.

Sad face.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Michelle - LipstickandLiterature{dot}net on Feb. 20 2013
Format: Paperback
Shatter Me is one of the best books I’ve read so far this year and I hate that it took me so long to notice it. Once I started, there was no stopping and I consumed both Shatter Me and its follow up Unravel Me, along with the novella Destroy Me, in one week.

I loved Juliette, the heroine of this tale. Her voice was like no other and the prose of this novel was beautiful. The way that Juliette was represented throughout was unlike anything else I’ve ever read. The constant repetitiveness of her storytelling and the crossed out text gave me, as the reader, a true understanding of just how unstable she really was. I’ve read different reviews where the prose was what kept a reader from enjoying the book, but for me it was truly a highlight.

Now, I must admit that I got to this party fashionably late. When I started reading Shatter Me it was only a few days prior to the release of Unravel Me and Twitter was alight with excitement and anticipation. There were rumblings from those lucky enough to have received ARCs of Unravel Me that whispered the name Warner accompanied by a whole lot of swooning! So, to say I went into Shatter Me without a little inclination that by book two I might be calling into question my dislike of one of the cruelest characters I’d come across lately, would be a lie. I went in knowing that I didn’t want to dislike Warner no matter how evil he seemed; and I don’t regret that decision whatsoever.

To say that I wasn’t swept under the spell of Adam Kent, Juliette’s love interest in this book, would also be a lie. I enjoyed Adam, I loved getting to know him and I loved the sacrifices he made for Juliette but I was sure to reserve a little spot in my heart for Warner. Although Warner was ruthless and lethal he was also frightfully passionate.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Marie on April 6 2014
Format: Paperback
This book was simply amazing. The writing was beautiful. Amazing quotes and descriptions. I loved the way it was written. It shows the difference between what we say and what we think. I found this aspect of the book incredibly fascinating and refreshing.

Highly recommended! One of the best books I've read this year. A wonderful debut novel for Tahereh. I can't wait to read the next one.

Read it now. If you haven't read this book yet, what are you waiting for? ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
***3.5/5 Stars
Though I enjoyed reading Shatter Me, I don’t quite understand all the hype surrounding it. Tahereh Mafi’s writing style struck me as pretty standard – aside from the crossing out of words which I was only indifferent to. There was just nothing that wowed me about her writing, it was just…good. It made me want to keep reading, yet didn’t give me the I-can’t-put-this-down feeling.
The story itself has been told before. It’s the Hunger Games meets the X-Men. Including the Hunger Games world where citizens are supressed and living on a dying earth, and the X-Men as Rogue is identical to Mafi’s character, Juliette, and “Omega Point” is a blend between Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and District 13.
With all of these parallels, I still enjoyed reading this story. It presented some plot twists but nothing completely spectacular, it was not entirely predictable, though some parts were very obvious, and all of the characters seem to be standard YA paranormal romance characters: Juliette is insecure about herself but is crucial to the fate of the world because of her power, Adam is mysterious, incredibly capable (even though he is 17 years old), speaks in a “husky” voice at times, and very easily and quickly falls completely in love with the heroine.
I know it sounds like I’m ripping on this book, but I really did enjoy reading it. I just don’t understand all of the hype about it – it’s not THATTTT original or suspenseful. It’s just “pretty good”.

Also, if you are planning on buying the entire series, make sure you get the newer cover for this first book (the one with the eye on it) just so that it matches the other covers in the series :3
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback