Shatter Me (Enhanced Edition) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Shatter Me (Enhanced Edition) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Shatter Me [Hardcover]

Tahereh Mafi
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.99
Price: CDN$ 15.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.12 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, April 22? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition with Audio/Video --  
Hardcover CDN $15.87  
Paperback CDN $9.89  

Book Description

Nov. 7 2011 Shatter Me (Book 1)

"You can't touch me," I whisper.

I'm lying, is what I don't tell him.

He can touch me, is what I'll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans of her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she'd lost forever.


Frequently Bought Together

Shatter Me + Unravel Me + Ignite Me
Price For All Three: CDN$ 47.61

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Unravel Me CDN$ 15.87

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Ignite Me CDN$ 15.87

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN)

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist)

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal)

EARLY PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.” (Kami Garcia, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels)

About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. Ignite Me is the final novel in a trilogy about Juliette.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, compelling read Dec 29 2011
By Jessica Strider TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Pros: brilliant writing, sympathetic protagonist, open to sequels, very fast read, hard to put down

Cons: some plot twists depended on remarkably good luck/coincidence, ending implies Juliette made a choice she didn't actually make (yet)

For Parents: some sexual content (kissing +, but no actual sex), some language, some violence

Seventeen year old Juliette can't touch people without causing them pain and ultimately killing them. Three years ago she forgot this truth and had an accident that still haunts her and sent her to solitary confinement at an insane asylum.

Her hellish life changes when she's given a cellmate, a boy named Adam who looks familiar.

This is a book about power, control and sanity. Juliette is surprisingly strong for a woman who's close to losing her sanity due to this power she cannot control. When she comes under the power of the clearly insane Warner, who wants to use her ability to torture and kill those who defy the Reestablishment, the new global world order, she has to make some tough decisions.

Mafi's dystopic world is horrific, one in which people have given up what freedoms remained to them after the plants and animals became so polluted that eating them meant poisoning themselves. The Reestablishment promised hope, but delivered a totalitarian regime in which a few live in luxury while the rest suffer.

The writing is brilliant. Like with Patrick Ness's The Knife of Never Letting Go, Mafi knows the rules of writing and breaks them in delightful ways. Each word is chosen with care, as the protagonist makes the most unusual - but intelligent - metaphors.

Juliette is an intriguing character who is immediately sympathetic.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-done romance Aug. 2 2013
By Rose TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
This story is what would have happened if Harlequin published the X-Men.
I would've liked it a whole lot more if Rogue and Bobby, I mean Juliette and Adam, weren't pawing all over each other constantly. If the romance and all the metaphors were taken out, I think I would have really loved this story.....but then again if they were taken out, this would have only been about fifty pages long
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars April 17 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Fast shipping.
Great quality.
It arrived intact :)
As for the storyline, it's a great book! At first it's a little slow but it highly picks up towards the middle.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Book April 6 2014
By Marie
Format:Paperback
This book was simply amazing. The writing was beautiful. Amazing quotes and descriptions. I loved the way it was written. It shows the difference between what we say and what we think. I found this aspect of the book incredibly fascinating and refreshing.

Highly recommended! One of the best books I've read this year. A wonderful debut novel for Tahereh. I can't wait to read the next one.

Read it now. If you haven't read this book yet, what are you waiting for? ;)
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST YA DYSTOPIA March 25 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is fantastic. The whole series is. It's written beautifully, it's sad, and sweet and a little twisted.
Juliet is so completely broken and unloved. Locked away and forgotten. My heart hurt for her.
LOVED Adam and James. Warner was hardcore. Read it, it's an amazing book, series, & story.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars New top Author March 10 2014
By toni
Format:Kindle Edition with Audio/Video|Verified Purchase
Loved this book it was so good. Here writing is so beautiful and poetic, a new favourite author of mine for sure. Can't wait to continue the trilogy!
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars potential March 9 2014
By rhea
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Not a bad read. I agree with the other reviews it reminds me a lot of Rogue from X-men. I'm usually highly annoyed with people who are in love a quarter way through a book but these two are bearable. Not a huge fan of the authors writing style in the beginning but I either got used to it or it got better.

On to the next one I guess
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent of Rogue from X-Men Dec 2 2013
Format:Hardcover
Juliette isn't your typical girl. Her gifts surpass charm and physical strength. She is dangerous; a girl whose touch will kill you before escape comes to mind. The only person who isn't affected by her power is Adam. But can he cross his boss Warner -- also mesmerized by Juliette -- and help her flee before the Reestablishment turns her into a weapon?

Although, I admit that writing off a girl as a threat might make her appear rough and unsexy, Tahereh Mafi took things a bit too far by turning Juliette into a guy magnet. From Adam, Warner, to Kenji, Juliette attracted everyone from the opposite sex. The Reestablishment even forced her to wear alluring dresses. But all in all, it is the strike text every two pages that posed the real distraction.

Hopefully, the sequel Unravel Me provides more answers.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
ARRAY(0xb678c1ec)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback