Shatter Me and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Shatter Me on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Shatter Me [Hardcover]

Tahereh Mafi
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.99
Price: CDN$ 15.87 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.12 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $15.87  
Paperback CDN $10.79  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Nov. 7 2011 Shatter Me (Book 1)

"You can't touch me," I whisper.

I'm lying, is what I don't tell him.

He can touch me, is what I'll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans of her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she'd lost forever.


Frequently Bought Together

Shatter Me + Unravel Me + Ignite Me
Price For All Three: CDN$ 47.61

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

  • Unravel Me CDN$ 15.87
  • Ignite Me CDN$ 15.87

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN)

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist)

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal)

EARLY PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.” (Kami Garcia, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels)

About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. Ignite Me is the final novel in a trilogy about Juliette.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, compelling read Dec 29 2011
By Jessica Strider TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Pros: brilliant writing, sympathetic protagonist, open to sequels, very fast read, hard to put down

Cons: some plot twists depended on remarkably good luck/coincidence, ending implies Juliette made a choice she didn't actually make (yet)

For Parents: some sexual content (kissing +, but no actual sex), some language, some violence

Seventeen year old Juliette can't touch people without causing them pain and ultimately killing them. Three years ago she forgot this truth and had an accident that still haunts her and sent her to solitary confinement at an insane asylum.

Her hellish life changes when she's given a cellmate, a boy named Adam who looks familiar.

This is a book about power, control and sanity. Juliette is surprisingly strong for a woman who's close to losing her sanity due to this power she cannot control. When she comes under the power of the clearly insane Warner, who wants to use her ability to torture and kill those who defy the Reestablishment, the new global world order, she has to make some tough decisions.

Mafi's dystopic world is horrific, one in which people have given up what freedoms remained to them after the plants and animals became so polluted that eating them meant poisoning themselves. The Reestablishment promised hope, but delivered a totalitarian regime in which a few live in luxury while the rest suffer.

The writing is brilliant. Like with Patrick Ness's The Knife of Never Letting Go, Mafi knows the rules of writing and breaks them in delightful ways. Each word is chosen with care, as the protagonist makes the most unusual - but intelligent - metaphors.

Juliette is an intriguing character who is immediately sympathetic.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Aug. 25 2014
Format:Paperback
“Shatter Me” is about Juliette. Juliette is seventeen years old and has been living in an asylum for two years. Why? For one simple reason: when she touches people, they die. I know, that kind of sucks. She hasn’t talked to any living person for a while until the day she has to share her room with someone else: Adam. The only thing is that she remembers him from somewhere else and chances are that he might not be who she thinks he is…

I have to say, I absolutely loved this book! It was action packed from start to finish and I got hooked up from the very beginning. Especially because of the really dark atmosphere of the asylum that intrigued me immediately. The only thing that annoyed me a little is that I thought the romance aspect was really “insta love” and pushed, but I forgot it after a while because I am totally team Adam right now (I don’t know if that will change when reading the sequels, though).

And can we please talk about Tahereh Mafi’s writing style?! I totally fell in love with it. It is really poetic and I think if I had to give only one reason to read this book, it would be the wirting style.

In conclusion I would recommend this to anyone who love dystopian books, the X-men and romance.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars April 17 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Fast shipping.
Great quality.
It arrived intact :)
As for the storyline, it's a great book! At first it's a little slow but it highly picks up towards the middle.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Book April 6 2014
By Marie
Format:Paperback
This book was simply amazing. The writing was beautiful. Amazing quotes and descriptions. I loved the way it was written. It shows the difference between what we say and what we think. I found this aspect of the book incredibly fascinating and refreshing.

Highly recommended! One of the best books I've read this year. A wonderful debut novel for Tahereh. I can't wait to read the next one.

Read it now. If you haven't read this book yet, what are you waiting for? ;)
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST YA DYSTOPIA March 25 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is fantastic. The whole series is. It's written beautifully, it's sad, and sweet and a little twisted.
Juliet is so completely broken and unloved. Locked away and forgotten. My heart hurt for her.
LOVED Adam and James. Warner was hardcore. Read it, it's an amazing book, series, & story.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good Aug. 26 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Author is very descriptive and talented, if you like hunger games and dystopians you will love this book!!
Thanks, bob
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Aug. 5 2013
By shayla
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Her writing is so poetic and a joy to read the way she describes things so vividly an I can't wait to read the next book in the series!:)
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-done romance Aug. 2 2013
By Rose TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
This story is what would have happened if Harlequin published the X-Men.
I would've liked it a whole lot more if Rogue and Bobby, I mean Juliette and Adam, weren't pawing all over each other constantly. If the romance and all the metaphors were taken out, I think I would have really loved this story.....but then again if they were taken out, this would have only been about fifty pages long
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
I really liked this book but i knew what I was getting after reading reviews about this book.. it is more romance novel then fantasy.. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Allison
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
My wife loved this book.....
Published 2 months ago by Tampered dna
2.0 out of 5 stars Kept reading just to find out if it was going to get better - it...
I loved the way the book was written! I loved the striked text, and I especially loved all the things that didn't make sense. Read more
Published 5 months ago by stephanie
5.0 out of 5 stars New top Author
Loved this book it was so good. Here writing is so beautiful and poetic, a new favourite author of mine for sure. Can't wait to continue the trilogy!
Published 7 months ago by toni
3.0 out of 5 stars potential
Not a bad read. I agree with the other reviews it reminds me a lot of Rogue from X-men. I'm usually highly annoyed with people who are in love a quarter way through a book but... Read more
Published 7 months ago by rhea
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent of Rogue from X-Men
Juliette isn't your typical girl. Her gifts surpass charm and physical strength. She is dangerous; a girl whose touch will kill you before escape comes to mind. Read more
Published 10 months ago by Book Cupid
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read...
I'm new to the sci-fi type, but this was a very compelling read. I liked the Hunger Games a lot, so I figured I would like this series as well, and I did! Read more
Published 10 months ago by cyn
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback