Shelf Monkey and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 13.68
  • List Price: CDN$ 18.95
  • You Save: CDN$ 5.27 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Shelf Monkey Paperback – Apr 1 2007


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 13.68
CDN$ 13.68 CDN$ 0.42

Up to 90% Off Textbooks

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 258 pages
  • Publisher: ECW Press; 1st Edition edition (April 1 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1550227661
  • ISBN-13: 978-1550227666
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 1.8 x 21.6 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 363 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #274,564 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"You'll probably enjoy this one, as I did. . . . Redekop has managed a credible debut."  —The Toronto Star



"Witty first novel."  —The Record


"Invigorating."  —Literary Review of Canada



"This will be the start of a very promising career for Redekop."  —Skullring.org



"Corey Redekop provided this year's gonzo fun with his Shelf Monkey, an utterly enjoyable novel about radical bookworms."  —Locus Online

About the Author

COREY REDEKOP is a librarian and freelance writer. Shelf Monkey is his first novel. He lives in London, Ontario. Corey blogs at shelf-monkey.blogspot.com.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Cliff Burns on Nov. 7 2010
Format: Paperback
Who would believe terrorism could be this much fun?

Of course, in this case, the "terrorists" are a cadre of bibliophiles who are revolted by how the corporate mentality has infected the book trade like an insidious virus, contaminating the printed word with hype, money and the herd mentality. No sacred cows are left unskinned and Mr. Redekop has a terrific eye for snappy dialogue and witty turns of phrase. Fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Craig Clevenger will LOVE this guy. Much of Canadian fiction is a wasteland these days but every so often one encounters a book that gives you hope that this country is still capable of producing innovative, convention-busting artists. Corey Redekop...remember that name. He's going to be around, pricking sensibilities and tickling funny bones, for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Bardeann on July 11 2007
Format: Paperback
Stick with this book past the first few chapters and it will all become clear. And it will be worth it, I promise

Disgruntled employees of a major retail bookstore cringe at the recommended reads of Munroe Purvis and commit acts of literary rebellion in tribute their love of good books.

Redekop weaves a neat crime story intertwined with astute observations on working retail while tossing barbs at literary low weights and bestowing laurels on those writers whose prose soars like eagles above the pulpy dross that inexplicably makes it way to press.

And it's funny as hell.

Read it. All of it.
You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Amy Ross on July 19 2007
Format: Paperback
Redkop has moments of real wit and he isn’t afraid to push his plot to entertainingly ludicrous extremes. If, ultimately, he winds up glossing over some finer philosophical points about censorship, elitism, taste, and judgement, he at least reminds us of the pleasure, joy, and even lunacy a true love of books can inspire.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Gail K Derksen on Feb. 26 2011
Format: Paperback
This is a great book, but not for the faint of heart! You don't ever really know what to expect. It is from the mind of a gifted imaginination and is an interesting look into the psychy of a man who loses control over his life. I love all the Canadian reference points and to be sure, the author is writing about what he knows!!! I was thouroughly entertained!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback