Shoot Don't Shoot (Joanna Brady Mysteries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Shoot Don't Shoot (Joanna Brady Mysteries) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Shoot Dont Shoot [Mass Market Paperback]

J A Jance
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover --  
Paperback Bunko --  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $11.69  
Mass Market Paperback, Oct. 1 1996 --  
Preloaded Digital Audio Player CDN $72.63's 2014 Books Gift Guide
2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Book Description

Oct. 1 1996 Joanna Brady Mysteries
An assassin's bullet shattered Joanna Brady's world, leaving herpoliceman husband to die in the Arizona desert. But the young widowfought back the only way she knew how: by bringing the killers tojustice...and winning herself a job as Cochise County Sheriff.

Shoot/Don't ShootStill mourning her loss, Joanna Brady needs to be strongand supportive for her nine-year-old daughter, Jenny. She also hasresponsibilities to the people who elected her Sheriff. Joanna has thehead and instinct for her new job, but not the experience -- whichis what brings her to Phoenix for a pre-Thanksgiving crash course inpolice training...and into the mystery of an imprisoned husbandher gut tells her did not murder his estranged wife. SuddenlySheriff Brady has a lot more to worry about than classes and thevisiting family pre-holiday chaos. For her impromptu investigationis drawing a serial killer too close for comfort -- and closer,worse still, to Joanna's little girl.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Third installment in Jance's Joanna Brady series.
Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Library Journal

Sheriff Joanna Brady chases a serial killer in this latest from the popular author of Lying in Wait (Morrow, 1994).
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
"You never should have gone out with him in the first place," Lael Weaver Gastone told her thirty-year-old daughter, Rhonda. Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars I want to see more of this series July 8 1998
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I bought *Shoot/Don't Shoot* because my sister had lent me *Tombstone Courage* and I liked it. I live in Cochise County, so it tickles me to see familiar place names. This book combines such real-life problems as domestic violence, serial killers, and a few of the things that are wrong with our justice system (weaknesses the serial killer exploits with frightening ease). I cared about the characters and worried about what would happen to them. In fact, I wish I could have spoken to some of them. I'd have said: (to the lesbian's homophobic relative): You'd better start lobbying for acceptance of homosexuals as full-fledged members of the human race. If current research is correct about some cases of homosexuality being inherited, you could wind up with a gay or lesbian child or grandchild. (to Mrs. Duffy): You'd better let your grandchildren spend time with their father and other grandmother. You raised a daughter who neglected those children for booze and sex. Senora Grijalva raised a son who was willing to rot in jail rather than let his children find out their mother was a whore. Given your respective records, I'd feel better if those children were being raised by the Grijalvas. (to Sheriff Brady): Give your mother what for! It won't solve all of your problems with her, but I can assure you that you'll feel better. (I know how you feel about pixie cuts. My father made me wear one and I hated it, too.) I look forward to getting the first and next book. Tip for readers: "Huachuca" is pronounced "Wah-choo-kah". Ann E. Nichols
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Series, Great book Dec 14 2002
By apoem
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I have been reading this series in order. Although each book can stand alone, later books reference earlier books and it is, in my opinion, much more enjoyable to read them in order so you know the complete history.
Having said all of that, this is the best book I have read to date in this series.
Joanna was elected sherrif and is off for training. By doing a favor for a friend of a friend, she runs into a serial killer that has escaped detection for many years. There is a touch, just a tiny touch, of romance. There is also a very stressful period of time when her daughter has been kidnapped and the kidnapper has killed himself and the police are searching frantically for Joanna's daughter and the daughter's friend.
This book moves right along, the characters are well developed and there is excitement. I particularly liked the ending.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to this series Aug. 2 2000
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Joanna Brady has been sworn in as the new sheriff of Cochise County. She realizes that she has no experience in the law-enforcement business so she goes to a police academy with a class full of rookie cops. While there she befriends LeAnn, the only other woman in the class. They serve as support for one another in the face of instructor Dave Thompson who tends to teach by intimidation. She also takes time to investigate a murder at the request of the accused murderer's mother. The case is outside her jurisdiction, but that doesn't stop Joanna. A series of brutal murders occur which eventually intrude into Joanna's life. The murderers seem obvious, but Joanna isn't so sure. Through her investigation, the identity of the real murderer is revealed. This is more concise than some of the books in this series and is well-paced. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category