CDN$ 97.97 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days. Sold by langton_distribution

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 139.67
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: KELINDO²
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Shostakovich Complete Symphonies Box set, Classical

Price: CDN$ 97.97
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Ships from and sold by langton_distribution.
2 new from CDN$ 97.97

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Composer: Shostakovich
  • Audio CD (Feb. 20 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 11
  • Format: Box set, Classical
  • Label: Nbs
  • ASIN: B00005QISC
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #300,256 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

See all items

Product Description

Newly repackaged in a space-saving, super-bargain box, the Naxos Shostakovich cycle may entice shoppers looking to acquire the 15 symphonies cheaply and all at once. Certain performances are better than others. The First, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, 10th, and 12th require more dynamism and heft than the Czecho-Slovak Symphony Orchestra give Ladislav Slovák, notwithstanding marvelous first-desk solos. By contrast, the caustic wit and slippery chamberlike qualities of Nos. 9 and 15 are expertly realized. Bass Peter Mikulas and soprano Magdaléna Hajóssyová enliven and brilliantly characterize texts in the two "song symphonies," Nos. 13 and 14. Slovák, in turn, revels in the disjunctive sound worlds of the Second and Third, and traverses the Fourth, Seventh, Eighth, and 11th with an eagle-eyed overview of their sprawling canvasses. You shouldn't be without key individual recordings like Bernstein's 1959 New York Philharmonic Fifth, Berglund's 11th, or Haitink's 13th, and Rudolf Barshai's bargain cycle on Brilliant Classics offers greater sonic impact and more personalized conducting. Still and all, the present set's finest moments are worth the modest investment. --Jed Distler

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa3c8fad8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d077e58) out of 5 stars Rough-Edged, but Compelling March 6 2002
By T. Beers - Published on
I like this set. I'm not about to claim that it's perfectly played or beautiful to listen to; Inbal on Denon, Haitink on Decca and Rostropovich on Teldec all command better - and more opulent sounding - orchestras than the Slovak Radio Symphony. But there is a certain raw honesty about these Naxos performances that I find tremendously appealing. The Shostakovich symphonies, after all is said, aren't 'haute cuisine' music. They reflect some of humankind's ugliest experiences and their beauties come wrapped in scar tissue. For that reason, I value the 'rough and ready' Shostakovich as performed by East European and Russian orchestras: the performances just seem more truthful. That's the case here, although I intend no disrespect toward Inbal, Haitink and Rostropovich (especially the latter who was, of course, a great friend of the composer).

But Ladislav Slovak has his own Shostakovich credentials and they are solid. He worked in the 1950s with the great Yevgeny Mravinsky at the Leningrad Philharmonic when it was one of the world's greatest orchestras. Mravinsky was one of Shostakovich's favorite conductors and performed most of these symphonies, some for the first time and many under Shostakovich's direct supervision. So Slovak saw a lot and up close. Nevertheless, Slovak's performances aren't slavish copies of Mravinsky. He has his own ideas. For example, listen to the richly barbed irony Slovak projects in symphonies 1 and 9, or how well he conveys eloquence, without pomposity, in the problematic 7th ('Leningrad') symphony. Or listen to Slovak's tight and cogent performances of two of Shostakovich's most fascinatingly diffuse scores, symphonies 4 and 11 ("The Year 1905"). In short, Slovak is never less than thought-provoking and if his orchestra were better, I think his achievement would be more widely acclaimed. As it is, the orchestra plays quite competently, with particularly alert and characterful woodwinds (well, usually; they miscalculate the magical opening of the last movement of Symphony 13). If the orchestra suffers from a consistent fault, it's that there aren't enough strings to sound comfortable playing 'above the stave,' as the Brits say. No matter; the imagination, intensity & spirit of these performances are what count with me. In fact, I think there's only one out-and-out failure in the set: a performance of Symphony 12 that's just too slow and heavy, making a tedious piece even more so. (Mravinsky played this symphony at breakneck speed; surely the only way to make it endurable!)

I wish I could say that the (full digital) sound is consistently fine, but it varies too much from performance to performance. It's never less than good, but it is variable. Still, don't get me wrong: warts and all, this set's a real bargain. Eleven (11) cds come in a compact box with an extensive booklet that includes full texts and translations. Cheap without quality is false economy. In spite of the shortcomings I've mentioned, there's real quality here. Final word: as of late 2015, Naxos has produced a new cycle of the Shostakovich symphony recordings with the Royal Liverpool Orchestra conducted by its young, hot-shot Russian Music Director, Vasily Petrenko. Those very fine recordings completely deserve the very favorable reviews they have received, especially in the UK. So if these earlier Naxos recordings (from the late 1980s) interest you, now is probably the time to order, before they disappear from the catalog.
HASH(0x9ceac0a8) out of 5 stars Shostakovich symphonies at their best Dec 21 2015
By John R. Mccormick - Published on
For some time, I've had a single CD of two the symphonies of Shostakovich by this conductor and orchestra that I had very much enjoyed, never having thought of acquiring them all since I already have the "Brilliant" recording by Rudolf Barshai, as well as others of the 5th and 7th that I think of as just about the last word. However, two events happened. First, I saw the complete set in a used book store where I live at a ridiculous price. Second, I read the only other review here. So, I rushed back and purchased the set and have so far heard only three of the symphonies. Having done so, I heartily concur with all the other reviewer had to say--with one possible exception. I am of the opinion that the orchestra is first-class and well up to the demands of the music. I must admit, however, that I am somewhat prejudice in favor of middle=European orchestras--Czech, Polish, etc.--I like their sound. In this case, however, as was pointed out, we also have the unique qualifications of the conductor. In all that I've heard thus far, and unlike most other recordings I've heard by far more well-known conductors, the playing hits one in the gut, as if the players were, themselves, experiencing the times and events they are musically portraying. As the other reviewer pointed out, get it while you can. Otherwise, you'll be missing out on a uniquely great recording at a steal of a price.