Start reading Sick (A Project Eden Thriller Book 1) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Sick (A Project Eden Thriller Book 1)
 
See larger image
 

Sick (A Project Eden Thriller Book 1) [Kindle Edition]

Brett Battles , Blake Crouch
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 14.97
Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.14 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 9.83 (66%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.14  
Paperback CDN $14.83  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $13.13  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

For fans of Stephen King, Blake Crouch, and Michael Crichton comes a new, heart-pounding thriller by Brett Battles...

Daniel Ash wakes after midnight to the cry of his daughter. Just a bad dream, he thinks. She’s had them before. Yet he can’t help but worry when she cries out again as he pads down the hallway. Stepping through her doorway, he expects to find her sitting up in bed, frightened by a nightmare.

But the nightmare is his. It’s real. And it's just beginning...

Something is burning Ash's daughter alive. Something horrible that is spreading beyond the walls of their home, and taking no prisoners.

Thirty seconds later, Ash will discover his daughter isn’t the only one in his family infected, and as his world spins, coming apart at the seams, a team of armed men in biohazard suits bursts into his house.

But these aren’t the good guys.

They haven’t come to save Ash’s family. They’ve come to separate them, to finish what they started.

The problem is Ash refuses to disappear. He wants only one thing: to find those responsible.

Because humanity is on the brink of execution.

And man is pulling the trigger.


WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING ABOUT SICK:

“Brett Battles is a master of the thriller genre. SICK not only grabs you by the throat, but by the heart and gut as well, and by the time you finish you feel as if you've just taken a runaway train through dangerous territory. Buy this book now. You won't regret it.”—Robert Browne, author of THE PARADISE PROPHECY.

“Like a fever, SICK makes you sweat and keeps you up all night, wondering what the hell is happening. It'll make your heart race like someone shot you with an EpiPen. You think Battles was badass before? He just cranked it up to 500 joules. CLEAR!”

“SICK is Brett Battles at his best (which is saying a great deal), a thriller that also chills, with a secret at its core that's almost too scary to be contained within the covers of a book. As always, Battles juggles plot lines with the best of them, and his characters jump off the page. SICK deserves to be a best-seller.”—Tim Hallinan, author of the Edgar nominated THE QUEEN OF PATPONG

PRAISE FOR BRETT BATTLES’ JONATHAN QUINN SERIES:

“Brett Battles has established himself as one of today’s best thriller writers, right up there with Lee Child, Barry Eisler, and Thomas Perry.”—Deadly Pleasures magazine

“The best word I can use to describe his writing is addictive.”—James Rollins, author of the Sigma Force series

“Quinn is one part James Bond, one part Jason Bourne.”—Nashville Book Worm

“I’m on the edge of my seat, awaiting future installments of Quinn’s Adventures.”—Jeffery Deaver, author of the Lincoln Rhyme’s series

“Battles has a true gift for writing thrillers…”—Crimespree magazine

“The action is heart-pounding, gripping, and always engaging.”—Tucson Citizen

“Battles is a master storyteller.”—Sheldon Siegel, author of PERFECT ALIBI


About the Author

Brett Battles lives in Los Angeles and is the author of four novels in the acclaimed Jonathan Quinn series—including THE CLEANER (nominated for the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2008, and the Shamus Award for Best Debut Novel), THE DECEIVED (winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2009), and the latest installment, THE SILENCED—and the first book in the Logan Harper series, LITTLE GIRL GONE.

About the Author

Brett Battles lives in Los Angeles and is the author of four novels in the acclaimed Jonathan Quinn series-including THE CLEANER (nominated for the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2008, and the Shamus Award for Best Debut Novel), THE DECEIVED (winner of the Barry Award for Best Thriller 2009), and the latest installment, THE SILENCED-and the first book in the Logan Harper series, LITTLE GIRL GONE. More info available at www.brettbattles.com

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 547 KB
  • Print Length: 296 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1461189268
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004XECH0U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #33,324 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Great post apocalyptic series May 17 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I read the entire series in a week. For readers who enjoy post-apocalyptic fiction with good characters and quick plots. Not as good as his Jonathan Quinn series, but fun, quick reads
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down Jan. 28 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
An excellent read. Fast paced and thrilling. Lots of action and an interesting premise. Well written with believable characters. Looking forward to more!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller! March 17 2013
By Nikki
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Fast paced and gets you thinking about our world. Loved the characters, and, their own involvement in the story. You will definitely want to read the rest of the series.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  358 reviews
47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Superstar in Superbug Drama April 22 2011
By Fara - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
The bad guys are at it again, but who are they? When Captain Daniel Ash wakes up hearing his little girl sick in the night, all hell is unleashed on him and his family. What's worse is that when he calls for help, he and all of his neighbors are whisked away for "help" with the intent to watch them die.

Only his strain of super immune blood can save him and with a little help, he charges off to save humanity but first he has to figure out who are the bad guys. The tension mounts and with only the creativity that Brett Battles can bring to a story you are enthralled from page one until the end.

A fabulous group of characters get together to battle the forces that would like to bring us to our knees. Go Daniel Ash and Go Brett Battles. Once again this very talented author has brought us a book that I could not put down from start to finish. I loved it!
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the time and money April 25 2011
By R. L. Clark - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was thrilled to see this Brett Battles ebook pop up on my Amazon search, and I'm happy to be able to support self-published ebooks by one of my favorite authors! I won't recap the story - it's a good page turner with engaging characters, interesting plot twists, and the promise of more to come in the next installment of the series. Lots of fun and well worth your $2.99.

Sadly the worst part of the book is the main character, Ash. He's just a cardboard cliche character who brings nothing to the table - no skills, no brains, no knowledge. All he seems to be able to do is act without thinking and spout cliches like "You can't go with me, it's too dangerous!". before he plunges into a situation he doesn't understand and can't handle. Sure the whole book is built on cliches and stereotypes and propelled by formula - you've got your vast conspiracy, secret counter-conspiracy group, intrepid reporter, plucky kids, evil scientist, etc. But Mr. Battles makes all that work and it's fun, and you care about the other characters and what happens to them. Ash is just ponderous - he's the character you WISH the virus had killed in the first 50 pages. I hope if Ash comes back in the next installment that Mr. Battles can develop him and bring him up to the level of everything else in the book. But there's no question but that I'll read the next book in the series.
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Premise April 21 2011
By Douglas Wolfe - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
Once again, Brett Battles' writing has served up a shot of adrenaline to the reader. The result is a book that is at times more thrilling than an amusement park ride, or a dread-fiilled TV drama. In his bid to find his kids, the new hero Daniel Ash takes us through heart pounding adventures, based on a premise that is wild yet ominous and believable.

I couldn't put it down, and neither will you. Battles is now one of my all time favourite go-to thriller authors.
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two and a half stars July 13 2012
By Semi-used - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Marginal editing, an interesting story that falls apart around the 60% mark and an uninspired theme combine to make this a two and a quarter star read. It's my first experience with Battles, and while it's obvious that he can write, the story ran out of steam around halfway through when characters started doing silly things that we were supposed to nod along with, but which seemed to be trying to pad the plot with melodrama rather than building with real drama. Add to this a main character who alternated between arrogance and just plain dumb disbelief (the bug is loose, many have been killed including ostensibly his kids, and yet every explanation or revelation he hears is greeted with, "that's crazy conspiracy stuff.") I'm not a big fan of books that require me to believe everyone in it is dumb for the plot to work. Sadly, that's a good summary of the problem with the book.
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cassie June 27 2012
By Cassie - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I like Bret Battles, but this one is disappointing. The plot has been over used for years, but a new twist would be acceptable. However, this rates a barely three star because the main character is so incredibly unlikeable. Arrogant, mule headed, ungrateful, rude, my vocabulary fails me. I kept hoping, in vain, for someone to smack some sense into him.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
Logan Harper Thrillers LITTLE &quote;
Highlighted by 3 Kindle users
&quote;
EXIT NINE (Book 2 of the Project Eden Thrillers) &quote;
Highlighted by 3 Kindle users

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category