Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide
Sinfonia Castellana has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sinfonia Castellana

Price: CDN$ 17.16 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 7.44 3 used from CDN$ 5.61

Deal of the Day: The Beatles in Mono (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set)
While supplies last, get "The Beatles in Mono" (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set) for $229.99 today only, as Amazon's Deal of the Day. This offer is valid today only, November 24, 2015, while supplies last. Offer only applies to products shipped from and sold by See more

Product Details

  • Performer: Orch Castile, Posada
  • Composer: Jose
  • Audio CD (Sept. 20 2005)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000AMMSM6
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #208,106 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. El Campo: Allegro
2. Paisaje De Atardecer: Andante Con Calma
3. Nocturno: Lento
4. Danza Burgalesa: Allegro Vivo
5. Preludio
6. Danza Popular
7. Evocaciones (Sketches Of Country Dancing)
8. Marcha Para Sodados De Plomo
9. Romance: Andantino
10. Balada: Lento Y Apasionado
11. Danza: Allegro

Product Description

The promising young composer Antonio Jose Martinez Palacios, known in musical circles simply as Antonio Jose, was executed, a victim of the Spanish Civil War, in the same year as Federico Garcia Lorca. Rooted in the folk songs and rhythms of the composer'

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Memories of La Mancha Oct. 1 2014
By Oliver Owen - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I lived in the region of La Mancha in central Spain for five years, and the impressionistic music of the "Sinfonia Castellana" really evokes for me a sense of the countryside of that region (even thought the composer was from a different part of Spain). I particularly love the third movement, a nocturne, in which the composer distills the essence of a quiet night in rural Spain. The melodies in that movement are deeply touching-- sublime, sad, imbued with a sense of mysticism, conveying in a most remarkable way that sense of profound stillness that fills the dusty, winding streets of a Spanish village in the wee hours of the night when everyone is asleep and the moon floats silently overhead, casting its ghostly light on the blank walls of the houses and on the vineyards and olive orchards that lie beyond the edge of the town. I feel transported to such a beautiful setting whenever I listen to that third movement-- it brings back memories. The music on this CD is really enjoyable, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes the music of De Falla and other Spanish composers who incorporated impressionistic elements into their very Spanish idiom.
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Exciting and colorful music Jan. 13 2009
By G.D. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Antonio José Martinez Palacios - known simply as Antonio José - was executed during the Spanish Civil war in 1936. And as in several cases where the composer lead a tragic but colorful life, this disc of his orchestral music has received some rave reviews in certain quarters. I suppose I should add a sober streak here. Now, there is no doubt that Antonio José was a hugely talented composer who could very well have attained genuine importance had he been allowed to live. And this release contains several colorful, even exciting, works. But there are no masterpieces here - in fact, none of the works are even that close.

That is not to say that they aren't enjoyable, and indeed sometimes immensely so. Sinfonia Castellana is a colorful, impressionistic folk music-inspired score that will appeal to anyone who enjoys Falla. It is a very worthwhile piece and surely the best work on the disc. The rest is written in a similar language; the Suite Ingenua adds a touch of neo-classicism and is rather anodyne, but the Evocaciones are, well, evocative and certainly attractive, and the shorter pieces (piano music orchestrated by the composer himself or others) are worthwhile but in the end forgettable.

Nothing to complain about with regards to performances or sound quality. At Naxos price, you needn't hesitate about adding this one to your collection, especially for the Sinfonia Castellana. But don't expect any timeless masterpieces.
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Magnificent Melodies Oct. 7 2005
By J. MILLER - Published on
Format: Audio CD
If you adore gorgeous melodies (joyful, lilting, melancholy) and great recorded sound, buy this disc now!

Look for similar items by category