Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
Six Sonatas Op. 5 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Six Sonatas Op. 5

Price: CDN$ 27.66 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 15.67 2 used from CDN$ 28.29

Product Details

  • Performer: Sophie Yates
  • Composer: Bach J.C.
  • Audio CD (Sept. 20 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Chn
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #295,075 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Astonishing! Oct. 17 2009
By baroquemusician - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Let's face it, either you like the sound of the harpsichord or you don't. Lengthy compositions which favor the harpsichord, JS Bach in particular, can be tiring on the ears. The witty British conductor, Sir Thomas Beecham hated the harpsichord and thought it sounded like "two skeletons copulating on a corrugated tin roof"! This disc though, presents JS Bach's youngest son, Joahann Christian Bach(1735-1782) in a different musical time frame. JC died way too early. These absolutely delightful compositions never grow weary and stand up to repeated hearings. So what if these six sonatas don't plunge the depths or scale the heights; it wasn't meant to. This is music making in pure gallant style: graceful, sometimes witty, and very pleasing to listen to. Sophie Yates dosen't disappoint either. Her shadings and colorings are magical in every way. A treasure trove to be relished.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Good Recording and Performance Aug. 13 2013
By Ryan O. - Published on
Verified Purchase
This album represents a distinct (and short) era in music history that offers great, pleasant listening. The performer did these pieces by J. C. Bach justice.