Skin (Jack Caffrey) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Skin (Jack Caffrey) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Skin: The New Jack Caffery Thriller [Paperback]

Mo Hayder
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 22.99
Price: CDN$ 16.78 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 6.21 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover, Bargain Price --  
Paperback CDN $12.59  
Paperback, April 19 2010 CDN $16.78  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $12.64  
Audio, Cassette --  

Book Description

April 19 2010

When the decomposed body of a young woman is found near some railway tracks just outside Bristol one hot May morning, all indications are that she committed suicide. That’s how the police want it too -- all neatly squared away. But DI Jack Caffery is not so sure. He is on the trail of someone predatory, someone who hides in the shadows and can slip into houses unseen. And for the first time in a very long time, he feels scared.

Police diver Flea Marley is working alongside Caffery. With the traumas of her past safely behind her, she’s beginning to wonder whether her relationship with Caffery could go beyond the professional. And then she makes a discovery that changes everything. Not only is it far too close to home for comfort, but it’s so horrifying that she knows nothing will ever be the same again. And this time, no one -- not even Caffery -- can help her. . . .


Frequently Bought Together

Skin: The New Jack Caffery Thriller + Gone + Ritual
Price For All Three: CDN$ 44.33

Some of these items ship sooner than the others. Show details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Gone CDN$ 12.59

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Ritual CDN$ 14.96

    Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

?[Hayder?s] characters are almost as chilling as the horrors that they are investigating. . . . Absorbing and hugely entertaining.?
-- The Times (London) ()

About the Author

MO HAYDER is the author of Birdman, The Treatment, The Devil of Nanking, Pig Island, Ritual, Skin and Gone, all of which have been international bestsellers. She was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award in both 2010 and 2011. Mo Hayder lives with her daughter in Bath, England. Visit her online at www.mohayder.net.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Moral Boundaries of Cops March 31 2010
By Nicola Manning-Mansfield HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Reason for Reading: Next in the series and Mo Hayder is my favourite author in the world! (at the moment)

Summary: A suicide is found and everything points to case closed, though the ex-husband does show concern that things don't seem right. When another suicide with the same MO shows up Jack Caffery asks to be put on the case as he has found some connections between the two. At the same time celebrity rich girl, Misty Kitson, has simply vanished and police diver Flea Marley has been called in to search a few lakes and a quarry. Flea and Jack do not work together in this novel, they are off on their own this time. Jack's case takes him to a very strange human being and a sick prolific serial killer while Flea is hit out of the blue by a family problem that she must deal with and it is something that will change her life forever.

Comments: First off the mystery story was quite good, it did lack Hayder's trademark gruesomeness and weirdness which I've come to expect but still a strange enough case to be worthy of Hayder's talent. Flea's story, however, is the one that gets the reader's blood thumping. Not exactly a mystery as we learn the facts as quickly as Flea does but more pure thriller. What Hayder has done in this book is examine her main characters personalities and moral boundaries. From earlier books we know what Jack is capable of, but he has shown determinedly to prove himself the better man he knows he can be. Flea we've only seen from one side, this novel tests her boundaries and between them both Mo Hayder has created two very unique main character detectives for a police procedural series. Are they likable? "Can" they be likable? What does it say about the reader if he does like them?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously dark series May 4 2010
By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAME TOP 10 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Mo Hayder has a deliciously dark and devious imagination.

I've been a die hard fan of hers since I plucked Birdman, the first of the Jack Caffery books, off the shelf. Skin is the fourth in the series.

Jack is now a Detective Inspector with the Bristol Major Crimes Investigation Unit. Young women, apparent suicides, are turning up throughout the city. Jack begins to question the suicide verdict when he discovers they all have a connection to a set of quarries, known to attract the desperate. Flea Marley is the police diver charged with hunting for clues or bodies in the depths. But Flea is over her head in more ways than one. The story line involving her brother is a train wreck just waiting to happen.

That's just a very, very bare bones summary of the plot. Hayder's plotting is much more layered and complex. There's no way to predict which way the story is going to turn. I appreciate being Fans of Thomas Harris and John Sandford would enjoy this series. There's a cover blurb from another favourite author of mine - Karin Slaughter. I'll be watching for the 5th in the series - Gone - to hit the North American shelves.kept on my toes. Skin is a murder mystery but so much more. Hayder injects her trademark creepiness into the story, turning up the thriller dial yet another notch.

Caffery is a complex character. He has a strong moral compass, but it doesn't always point north. His sense of justice does not always follow what the law says. Throughout the series, I've changed my opinion about him a few times, but he is always a mesmerizing protagonist. Caffery is a tortured soul, trying to rid himself of the past. Skin lets us explore the character of Flea in more depth. She too is a damaged soul.

A definite creepy, chilling page turner.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent suspenseful read April 7 2011
By Barbara TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Another installment in the series with our reliable and intuitive Dective Caffery. This book moved along at a nice pace and I found I wanted to keep reading long past time for lights out.

The story picks up one week after the last case is solved (read Ritual) and continues on with Jack Caffery and the newly introduced female sergeant, Flea Marley as they work to solve some recent suicides that they suspect are actually murders.

Flea's personal life gets complicated very early in the book and she struggles to put things right. As far as her character, I'm not overly fond of Flea and some of her responses to problems I struggled to believe at times but she is certainly interesting and unpredictable. I'm looking forward to see how this character evolves.

Throughout the story I was never able to guess how it was going to end and I enjoyed this story much more than Ritual.

Skin stands alone as a thriller so you don't have to read prior books to understand it, but you'll enjoy it so much more, if you do: Birdman (awesome), The Treatment (fantastic), Pig Island (fantastic) and Ritual (good).
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  32 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New favorite female author Dec 26 2012
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I'm a big fan of Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn & Tana French.. which is how I found Mo Hayder who quickly became my favorite. I have read all of her books completely out of order and Skin was a great introduction! She is an amazing read, can't wait for more
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series April 4 2011
By Jesus Pena - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Mo Hayder is an excellent author. I started out with Birdman, the 1st book of the Caffery series and never stopped. All the books were page turners! Hayder has a twisted imagination which she puts to excellent use. Her novels are filled with plot twists and near misses that make you want to keep reading.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy pick for a constant reader Jan. 11 2014
By Sarah m - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Love the jack caffery series . Highly highly recommend " bird man" and "the treatment" which are part one and two . Thought mo hayder kept me waiting after the treatment to write jack back into our lives im so glad she has .
Luckly for you out there just about to start jack series you wont have that wait and im sure as i have you'll fall for jack . As ive said before welcome back jack and thank you mo for your undeniable ability to keep us turning those pages.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Universe of Mo Hayder is Irresistible. Dec 19 2013
By Marc Jacobs - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Let's say I am hooked on the Jack Caffery's series. Currently reading 'Gone'. One of the best detectives in years. Recommended.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skin by Mo Hayder Sept. 28 2013
By christina cooper - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Mo is amazing!! I love everything I can get my hands on by her and am impatiently waiting for more!!!
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback