Skin (Jack Caffrey) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 16.60
  • List Price: CDN$ 22.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.39 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Skin: The New Jack Caffery Thriller Paperback – Apr 19 2010


See all 19 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, Apr 19 2010
CDN$ 16.60
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 0.63
Audio Cassette
"Please retry"

2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Frequently Bought Together

Skin: The New Jack Caffery Thriller + Gone + Treatment
Price For All Three: CDN$ 41.86


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (April 19 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1554686415
  • ISBN-13: 978-1554686414
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.6 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 408 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #435,749 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

?[Hayder?s] characters are almost as chilling as the horrors that they are investigating. . . . Absorbing and hugely entertaining.?
-- The Times (London) ()

About the Author

MO HAYDER is the author of Birdman, The Treatment, The Devil of Nanking, Pig Island, Ritual, Skin and Gone, all of which have been international bestsellers. She was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award in both 2010 and 2011. Mo Hayder lives with her daughter in Bath, England. Visit her online at www.mohayder.net.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Nicola Mansfield HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on March 31 2010
Format: Paperback
Reason for Reading: Next in the series and Mo Hayder is my favourite author in the world! (at the moment)

Summary: A suicide is found and everything points to case closed, though the ex-husband does show concern that things don't seem right. When another suicide with the same MO shows up Jack Caffery asks to be put on the case as he has found some connections between the two. At the same time celebrity rich girl, Misty Kitson, has simply vanished and police diver Flea Marley has been called in to search a few lakes and a quarry. Flea and Jack do not work together in this novel, they are off on their own this time. Jack's case takes him to a very strange human being and a sick prolific serial killer while Flea is hit out of the blue by a family problem that she must deal with and it is something that will change her life forever.

Comments: First off the mystery story was quite good, it did lack Hayder's trademark gruesomeness and weirdness which I've come to expect but still a strange enough case to be worthy of Hayder's talent. Flea's story, however, is the one that gets the reader's blood thumping. Not exactly a mystery as we learn the facts as quickly as Flea does but more pure thriller. What Hayder has done in this book is examine her main characters personalities and moral boundaries. From earlier books we know what Jack is capable of, but he has shown determinedly to prove himself the better man he knows he can be. Flea we've only seen from one side, this novel tests her boundaries and between them both Mo Hayder has created two very unique main character detectives for a police procedural series. Are they likable? "Can" they be likable? What does it say about the reader if he does like them?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on May 4 2010
Format: Paperback
Mo Hayder has a deliciously dark and devious imagination.

I've been a die hard fan of hers since I plucked Birdman, the first of the Jack Caffery books, off the shelf. Skin is the fourth in the series.

Jack is now a Detective Inspector with the Bristol Major Crimes Investigation Unit. Young women, apparent suicides, are turning up throughout the city. Jack begins to question the suicide verdict when he discovers they all have a connection to a set of quarries, known to attract the desperate. Flea Marley is the police diver charged with hunting for clues or bodies in the depths. But Flea is over her head in more ways than one. The story line involving her brother is a train wreck just waiting to happen.

That's just a very, very bare bones summary of the plot. Hayder's plotting is much more layered and complex. There's no way to predict which way the story is going to turn. I appreciate being Fans of Thomas Harris and John Sandford would enjoy this series. There's a cover blurb from another favourite author of mine - Karin Slaughter. I'll be watching for the 5th in the series - Gone - to hit the North American shelves.kept on my toes. Skin is a murder mystery but so much more. Hayder injects her trademark creepiness into the story, turning up the thriller dial yet another notch.

Caffery is a complex character. He has a strong moral compass, but it doesn't always point north. His sense of justice does not always follow what the law says. Throughout the series, I've changed my opinion about him a few times, but he is always a mesmerizing protagonist. Caffery is a tortured soul, trying to rid himself of the past. Skin lets us explore the character of Flea in more depth. She too is a damaged soul.

A definite creepy, chilling page turner.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Another great Jack Caffery novel.

A creepy cosmetic surgeon is doing vile things to his patients. A weird little creature that may or may not be human is following Caffery around. Caffery is dealing with a murder while trying to find a missing woman. Flea Marley, head of one of the police force’s dive teams, knows a thing or two about the missing woman but can’t help Caffery as she is trying to protect both herself and her brother. Flea gets help from the weird little creature in return for not telling anyone what or who it is. Plus Flea has a thing for Caffery and he has one for her, for a while. I hope eventually Mo Hayder puts these two together.

Terrific stuff from Hayder. The plot unrolls chapter by chapter with real suspense. A little weirdness, voodoo kind of thing and plenty of the reality of hard slogging police work.

Looking forward to Hayder’s next jack Caffery novel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Barbara TOP 500 REVIEWER on April 7 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Another installment in the series with our reliable and intuitive Dective Caffery. This book moved along at a nice pace and I found I wanted to keep reading long past time for lights out.

The story picks up one week after the last case is solved (read Ritual) and continues on with Jack Caffery and the newly introduced female sergeant, Flea Marley as they work to solve some recent suicides that they suspect are actually murders.

Flea's personal life gets complicated very early in the book and she struggles to put things right. As far as her character, I'm not overly fond of Flea and some of her responses to problems I struggled to believe at times but she is certainly interesting and unpredictable. I'm looking forward to see how this character evolves.

Throughout the story I was never able to guess how it was going to end and I enjoyed this story much more than Ritual.

Skin stands alone as a thriller so you don't have to read prior books to understand it, but you'll enjoy it so much more, if you do: Birdman (awesome), The Treatment (fantastic), Pig Island (fantastic) and Ritual (good).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 37 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
New favorite female author Dec 26 2012
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I'm a big fan of Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn & Tana French.. which is how I found Mo Hayder who quickly became my favorite. I have read all of her books completely out of order and Skin was a great introduction! She is an amazing read, can't wait for more
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Great series April 4 2011
By Jesus Pena - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Mo Hayder is an excellent author. I started out with Birdman, the 1st book of the Caffery series and never stopped. All the books were page turners! Hayder has a twisted imagination which she puts to excellent use. Her novels are filled with plot twists and near misses that make you want to keep reading.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Easy pick for a constant reader Jan. 11 2014
By Sarah m - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Love the jack caffery series . Highly highly recommend " bird man" and "the treatment" which are part one and two . Thought mo hayder kept me waiting after the treatment to write jack back into our lives im so glad she has .
Luckly for you out there just about to start jack series you wont have that wait and im sure as i have you'll fall for jack . As ive said before welcome back jack and thank you mo for your undeniable ability to keep us turning those pages.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The Dark Universe of Mo Hayder is Irresistible. Dec 19 2013
By Marc Jacobs - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Let's say I am hooked on the Jack Caffery's series. Currently reading 'Gone'. One of the best detectives in years. Recommended.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Skin by Mo Hayder Sept. 28 2013
By christina cooper - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Mo is amazing!! I love everything I can get my hands on by her and am impatiently waiting for more!!!

Look for similar items by category


Feedback