Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Smetana;Bedrich Ma Vlast [Import]

List Price: CDN$ 29.99
Price: CDN$ 13.93 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 16.06 (54%)
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 13.92 4 used from CDN$ 33.06

Artists to Watch
Artists to Watch
Be the first to hear about the hottest emerging artists. Featuring ten new artists each month, Artists to Watch will help you stay in the know when it comes to up-and-coming artists. See all of this month's picks

Product Details

Product Description


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Ma Vlast Feb. 25 2012
By Donald Waits - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
I bought this DVD over a year ago, but just got around to watching it. What a blessing it is, too! Very sad the this great conductor did not film more. The director, Hugo Kach, has done a remarkable service to the music and the orchestra. I had to twiddle with my audio equalizer a bit to get the sound balanced successfully, but now it is perfect. From the magnificent opening, played by two harps, one longs for that feeling of love for one's country that Smetana colors this work. There is an almost heartbreaking yearning for homeland in this piece. Most of us have lost that patriotism and pride so common to most people, especially when remembered through the eyes and ears of a master composer. Rafael Kubelik draws out of his orchestra the true spirit of a lost country ravaged by war and constant turmoil. It is difficult to single out one section of this fine orchestra, but the brass are particularly powerful and convincing. This is collaborative music making at its best. Kubelik and the players are as one mind, heart, and spirit. Very emotional performance and visually beautiful as well. Five stars are not enough!
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
FAbulous. Must Have Aug. 21 2008
By P. Beltz - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
I don't know if Scott Morrison has a defective copy,becauseI watched a visual and sonically thrilling performance. No murkiness that I saw.
It was not as sharp as some newer releases but from 85 it's pretty good. It has some fabulous camera editing
I wonder if there is video from Kubelik and his last Czech Phil concert.
That would be wonderful
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
A Very Mixed Bag July 4 2008
By J Scott Morrison - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
On the one hand we have one of the greatest of Czech conductors, Rafael Kubelik, at the height of his powers and conducting one of the great European orchestras, his beloved Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, of which he had been principal conductor for almost twenty years. On the other hand, we have murky visuals -- this film was made in 1984 -- filmed at the visually appealing Herkulessaal in Munich (but you've never know it because of the murk and because of the use of distractingly arty closeups of the musicians through most of the film) and the even murkier sound. I tried listening to this DVD on three different rigs and the sound was always nearly unacceptable, with congested sound and lack of realistic ambience. (I even wondered if my disc had a manufacturing defect.) This is a pity because one can tell that these are wonderful performances of the quintessential nationalistic Czech set of orchestral tone poems. A pity.

Scott Morrison
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Unrepeatable. Excellent. June 14 2008
By Kevin P. Odaniel - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
Little grainy, but all-in-all very remarkable for a symphonic piece on video from that period -- conductor and orchestra in top form -- interestingly produced -- if you like the piece, you will hear and see things that are new to you throughout.

This is Kubelic's piece to interpret and this version is TOP CLASS and you're not going to find it elsewhere. If you love the piece or conductor, grab it before it leaves the catalog!