Start reading Some Kind of Wonderful on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Some Kind of Wonderful
 
See larger image
 

Some Kind of Wonderful [Kindle Edition]

Barbara Freethy
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: CDN$ 3.99 What's this?
Kindle Price: CDN$ 3.23 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 0.76 (19%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $3.23  
Hardcover --  
Mass Market Paperback --  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Library Journal

A baby is the last thing hard-driving journalist Matt Winters needs. But when he finds one outside his San Francisco apartment door late one night and it turns out to belong to the sister he hasn't seen since she was nine, he knows he can't just abandon the baby. He also knows that he has to find his sister. But he needs help, which comes in the reluctant form of bridal shop owner Caitlyn Devereaux, his neighbor and a woman with sorrows of her own. Although the relationship between Caitlyn and Matt is primary, a secondary love story adds a satisfying touch to a well-written, emotionally involving romance that combines a realistic urban setting with a family-oriented plot and makes it work. An expert at creating appealing characters, Freethy is a RITA Award-winning writer of heartwarming, family-centered contemporary romances; she lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Product Description

Fans of Nora Roberts, Kristin Hannah, Susan Wiggs and Robyn Carr will enjoy this emotional, heartwarming romance from #1 NYT Bestselling Author Barbara Freethy.

RITA Award-winning author, Barbara Freethy is known for her unforgettable stories, where ordinary people find extraordinary love -- and where unexpected soulmates are sometimes found right next door...

"ABANDONED BABY FOUND"

It's the kind of story investigative reporter Matt Winters writes about -- not the kind he wants to be living. When he discovers a newborn baby girl on his doorstep, he panics ... then he desperately turns to his temptingly pretty neighbor Caitlyn Devereaux for help. After all, women are supposed to know everything about babies!

Caitlyn's natural sensuality intrigues Matt ... and her aching vulnerability as she holds the precious bundle piques his curiosity. The wedding gowns she creates are famous for fulfilling every bride's fantasies, yet she firmly says that marriage -- and motherhood -- are not for her. But her kisses suddenly have Matt dreaming of something wonderful -- and soon he's determined to get this reluctant woman to change her mind.

*** 
Other standalone contemporary romances by Barbara Freethy similar to SOME KIND OF WONDERFUL include:
DANIEL'S GIFT 
RYAN'S RETURN
ASK MARIAH
THE SWEETEST THING
JUST THE WAY YOU ARE
LOVE WILL FIND A WAY
ONE TRUE LOVE
SUMMER SECRETS

***

If you enjoy connected books, check out Barbara's new family series, THE CALLAWAYS. There will be at least 8 books in the Callaway Series: 
Titles available include:
ON A NIGHT LIKE THIS (#1)
SO THIS IS LOVE (#2)
FALLING FOR A STRANGER (#3)
BETWEEN NOW AND FOREVER (#4) Coming October 24, 2013

***

Barbara also recently completed a three book WISH Series, books connected around the theme of wishes and that series includes:
A SECRET WISH (#1)
JUST A WISH AWAY (#2)
WHEN WISHES COLLIDE (#3)

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 553 KB
  • Print Length: 358 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0380815532
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Barbara Freethy (Feb. 7 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004OEIN9S
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #52,885 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not great, contemporary romance. March 6 2002
By mirope
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is a good, solid contemporary romance by Barbara Freethy. All the usual elements are there - a sexy but stoic hero and beautiful but vulnerable heroine are thrown into an emotionally charged situation. Here, the catalyst is a baby that appears in the hallway between their neighboring apartments. As they struggle to care for the baby and find its mother, the two strangers rapidly become enmeshed in one anothers' lives. Freethy does a good job of making the scenario work, and the book is a pleasant and quick read. My only reservation is that the sexual tension was a bit forced and too formulistic.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A great story to pass the time Jan. 6 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Caitlyn has a past she'd rather forget. Matt is looking for his past. The two live across the hall from each other but have never met. That is, until one night a baby is left in the hallway, on Matt's side, and he goes across the hall to Caitlyn for help. Together the two take care of the baby and fight the pain of each of their past.
This was a good novel. The characters were likable and well developed. They could be people we all know in real life. They each grow throughout the story and grow together as neighbors and friends. The storyline in this book seemed to be well thought out. It moved at a fairly decent pace.
There are a lot of events that happen over the one week course of this story. All in all this was a good book. I found myself reading as fast as I could because I couldn't wait to find out what happened. I would like to see a follow-up book to this story. Maybe one more in-depth with Sarah and Reverend Johnathan.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A well crafted and interesting read Jan. 6 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I thought Ms. Freethy did an excellent job of
character development while weaving an intricate
storyline. I think that this book proves that
she has become a very polished writer.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A Romance Story That Is Very True To Life Dec 29 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Some Kind Of Wonderful by talented writer Barbara Freethy is a well written romance novel that a lot of people will relate to. It is a story that rings very true to real life. The characters are both colorful and believable, and the plot is intriguing. A nice book to cuddle up with at night in front of a cozy fireplace to be sure!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read Dec 17 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Barbara Freethy is a good writer. Both the heroine and hero are likeable, believable characters who go through self-discovery processes as they fall in love with each other. They become better people able to gain perspective and make commitments because of what they go through together. The author showed some strength in developing the book the way she did as well. While it's clearly a romance novel, it isn't totally a fairy tale.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A great emotional, uplifting read. Sept. 20 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I'm a big fan of Barbara Freethy and especially enjoy the way she weaves the relationships together while keeping the plot interesting. I loved the hero and the love story -- and who wouldn't?! Highly recommended for anyone who loves romance.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A book with real emotion Sept. 19 2001
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I read a lot of romance and I think it's pretty rare to find an author who can write emotion the way that Barbara Freethy does. So many other writers will write a scene that's supposed to be funny or sad or passionate, and it just won't ring true. This book showcases the entire spectrum of emotion and never does it not feel right. Well done, Miss Freethy, you've written a terrific book.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Story But Not Ms. Freethy's Best
csarpin has pretty much described the story. Matt, Caitlin, with her undisclosed problems, Baby Emily, Sarah, Matt's long lost sister, Jonathan, a young minister, Brian, Caitlin's... Read more
Published on Sept. 15 2001 by Lilly Rabalais
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Story But Not Ms. Freethy's Best
csarpin has pretty much described the story. Matt, Caitlin, with her undisclosed problems, Baby Emily, Sarah, Matt's long lost sister, Jonathan, a young minister, Brian, Caitlin's... Read more
Published on Sept. 15 2001 by Lilly Rabalais
5.0 out of 5 stars Some kind of fabulous!
Another winner from the talented Ms. Freethy. She has a way of turning ordinary people into extraordinary characters that get under your skin and tug at your heart. Read more
Published on Sept. 10 2001
4.0 out of 5 stars Some kind of wonderful is just that!
What happens when you're a bachelor journalist running on three hours sleep out of the last seventy-two; you come home ready to relax, and then hear a baby crying outside your... Read more
Published on Sept. 9 2001 by Freelance Reviewer
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Story!
I have read all of Barbara Freethy's books, and i think this is my favorits. The dialoge in this book is unbelievable. Read more
Published on Sept. 9 2001 by Dena Oliva
5.0 out of 5 stars Some kind of wonderful book!
What a wonderful story. I can't resist those tough heros who are brought to their knees by a woman and a baby! Read more
Published on Sept. 7 2001
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
If you would like to buy Daniel's Gift: &quote;
Highlighted by 74 Kindle users
&quote;
Buy RYAN'S RETURN If you are reading this on a Kindle, click here &quote;
Highlighted by 32 Kindle users
&quote;
I learned a long time ago that you can't make people stay. You can't make them love you, and you can't make them change their minds, not about the things that are important to them, the things they want more than they want you." &quote;
Highlighted by 20 Kindle users

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category