Start reading Someplace to Be Flying on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Read books on your computer or other mobile devices with our FREE Kindle Reading Apps.
Someplace to Be Flying
 
See larger image
 

Someplace to Be Flying [Kindle Edition]

Charles de Lint
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 21.99
Kindle Price: CDN$ 9.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 12.00 (55%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.99  
Hardcover CDN $27.40  
Paperback, Bargain Price CDN $7.18  
Mass Market Paperback --  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Amazon

Nobody does urban fantasy better than Charles de Lint. He has a gift for creating engaging, fully realized characters, totally believable dialogue, and a feeling that magic is just around the corner.

Someplace to Be Flying is set in Newford, a town familiar to readers of de Lint. (He set two prior novels (Memory and Dream and Trader) and two anthologies (Dreams Underfoot and The Ivory and the Horn) in Newford.) One late night, as Hank drives his gypsy cab, his reliable though perilous city is transformed. He encounters the mythical "animal people," and the experience leaves him--and the reader--questioning accepted reality.

"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast." --Nona Vero

From Library Journal

A cab driver and a freelance photographer come together in the town of Newford to explore the existence of the mythical "animal people" and discover the hidden world that lurks just outside their normal perceptions. The author of Trader (LJ 12/96) specializes in a unique brand of crossover fantasy that combines elements of magical realism with multicultural myths to illuminate the lives of his characters?the misfits and orphans of the modern world. De Lint's elegant prose and effective storytelling continue to transform the mundane into the magical at every turn. Highly recommended.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 739 KB
  • Print Length: 457 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Triskell Press (Oct. 26 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00G8OUIWW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #121,777 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars it's easy to believe! Nov. 12 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One of my all time favourite books. Charles brings the myths to life, yet the myths are not lost in the telling.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly Away Home Dec 7 2008
By Jamieson Villeneuve TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
There is a myth that is as old as time. The world was created by Raven, the dark bird of mystery, as he stirred magic in an old black pot. The pot created more than the world: it created the Animal People, spirits as old as time itself. They are the First People and they roamed the land, able to change forms.

Out of the pot came the Blue Jay, the Wolf, and The Crow. There also came the Coyote, the Trickster. Always up to no good, he is the outcast of the First People. Most of his mischief is harmless, little tricks to amuse. But sometimes, he causes more trouble; enough trouble to slip through to our world.

Trouble starts when Lily, a photojournalist, goes looking for the famed "animal people" that are supposed to roam around Newford. One night while investigating the stories in a dark part of town known as the Tombs, a strange gray man attacks Lilly. Coming to her aid is Hank, no stranger to the Tombs and the rougher side of life.

He goes to her aid and the man attacks him as well. Lilly and Hank fight there attacker until something distracts him: two small girls who came from nowhere. They finish off the man with small switchblades that fell from their sleeves and Hank and Lilly are left stunned.

Tending to their wounds, pain disappearing at their touch, the two Crow girls sing a soft song with a haunting melody: The cuckoo is a pretty bird, he sings as he flies. He sucks little birds' eggs, and then he just dies.

Dazed from the attack and the subsequent healing of two little girls, Hank and Lilly wander way, changed forever. They can now see the world of Fey, the world of the in between. Unbeknownst to them, they are now entangled in what will become a web of mysteries, a tryst. They have stumbled upon war.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Quietly absorbing Sept. 24 2005
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is the first time I have ventured into the world of Charles DeLint, who has a staggering 5 books in the Modern Libraries' top 100 novels of the century, as voted by the readers, not the critics. Since I am in the process of reading the novels on that list, I am glad that my first reading of a DeLint book was a positive experience, since I have another four to go.
The story opens with a riveting scene of a man spotting a woman being attacked by a man on the side of the road. Hank, the bystander, gets out of his vehicle in hopes that he might be able to put an end to the violence. Caught by surprise, the attacker stops attacking the woman and points his gun at Hank. The attacker shoots Hank in the shoulder.. It looks as if he is done for until two girls swoop down from the trees and one of them stabs the attacker, killing him instantly. One of the girls kisses Hank on the shoulder and his wound disappears. They do the same to the woman who was attacked, her pain evaporating as well. As soon as the two are healing, the mysterious two girls vanish into the night.
After such a charged opening, I was curious if DeLint had the power to evoke these feelings of awe throughout the entire novel. For the most part, he succeeds. The novel is about a wide variety of characters, all of which have some "animal blood" inside of them. Apparently the world is filled with humans and so called animal people. We have the Cuckoos, the Crow Girls, a Jackdawn, a Raven, and other forms of people that can shed their skins and become animals if they please.
The world was supposedly created by the animal people but over the years they have become less in number, even though some species of them can live forever. Now, a battle is brewing in the world of the animals.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Someplace to be Reading Nov. 29 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Not as personally powerful to me as Memory & Dream, but DeLint again here does wonderfuls things with urban fantasy. He draws heavily on Native American beliefs, which is something I'd like to see more of in modern fantasy. His characters are great and well drawn, and Newford becomes more a place I want to visit every time I read about it.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite De Lint (so far)... June 24 2003
Format:Hardcover
For me, this book has all of the strengths (the great ensemble cast, the mythological background, in this case, Native American, and of course, the power of the story itself), and almost none of the admittedly few weaknesses (dialogue tends to ramble a bit in some tales at times) of Charles De Lint.
And then, of course, there are the Crow Girls. Very, very!
There's a lot going on in this story (544 pages worth in the paperback edition), and it's all deliciously satisfying for this reader. In particular, Jack Daw walking into the nest of vermin that tortured and killed his beloved is one of the more compelling and unsettling descriptions of raw violence and vengeance that this reader has encountered from this author.
One of the very best examples of "urban mythology," and if you like that, or you even think you might like that, check it out.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to meet the Crow Girls. March 16 2002
By Verin
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I resisted reading something by Charles de Lint for a long time after one negative review from a friend. Finally, I decided to get a book by him one day just to take a look.
I am so glad I did. This was an amazing book, and by far my favorite urban fantasy. I haven't read much in this genre before, but I certaintly plan to now, as well as read more books by de Lint. The characters were great; there's no way you can get through it without loving Zia and Maida (or laughing out loud at their dialogues), and many of the other characters. While at points, especially toward the end, the plot thinned some, and turned just a bit too much into your typical 'let's go save the world from ultimate evil and make everything good' fantasy, the characters and the great background of _Someplace to be Flying's_ world carried it through. All fantasy lovers, even those who normally stick to a less modern type, should read this.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanna fly?
As always, de Lint's work is full of magic, and "Someplace to Be Flying" is no exception. His characters jump off the page to meet you, grab you by the hand, and take... Read more
Published on Nov. 14 2001 by Julia Rampke
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Book
This wasn't the first urban fantasy I've ever read, but it's certainly one of the best. I won't bore you with a description of the plot- I'd never be able to do it justice. Read more
Published on March 7 2001 by Robin M. Wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!
deLint's construction of Newford and the folk who live there are so entrancing that as soon as you open the book you are there. Read more
Published on Dec 5 2000 by Jenny
5.0 out of 5 stars More magic...
This is my favorite book of Charles' as well as my favorite book-ever. I believe that there's a lot more truth to myth than one may think. Read more
Published on Aug. 3 2000 by BirdFur
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm packing my bags and moving to Newford!
Animal People. The animal characters with human traits and god like powers that are part of the Native American mythology. They're just stories. They aren't real, are they. Read more
Published on June 7 2000 by Darren McKeever
5.0 out of 5 stars Someplace I want to fly!
One of life's greatest pleasures (aside from Belgian chocolates, and these two are best indulged in together! Read more
Published on June 2 2000 by "judithb"
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, bad book
The mix of early mythology and indian folklore is and excellent premise. Too bad the book just gets worse and worse from the beginning. Read more
Published on April 30 2000 by Jason Haddock
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xb3e19768)