Something Else By The has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Something Else By The Import

5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 21.94 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
17 new from CDN$ 7.93 1 used from CDN$ 128.23

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Frequently Bought Together

  • Something Else By The
  • +
  • Face To Face
Total price: CDN$ 53.87
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 1 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Sanctuary
  • ASIN: B0001XLX2A
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. David Watts
2. Death Of A Clown
3. Two Sisters
4. No Return
5. Harry Rag
6. Tin Soldier Man
7. Situation Vacant
8. Love Me Till The Sun Shines
9. Lazy Old Sun
10. Afternoon Tea
11. Funny Face
12. End Of The Season
13. Waterloo Sunset
14. Act Nice And Gentle
15. Autumn Almanac
16. Susannah's Still Alive
17. Wonderboy
18. Polly
19. Lincoln County
20. There's No Life Without Love
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

UK digitally remastered and expanded edition of this 1967 album from the British Rock band led by the ever-bickering Davies brothers, Ray and Dave. Contains the original album joined by a myriad of non-album tracks, rare mixes and more. 21 tracks. Sanctuary.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
SOMETHING ELSE marks the summit of Ray (and Dave) Davies' songwriting career. It is the Kinks' best album, though others will cite VILLAGE GREEN.
Why is it great? Complex, mature songwriting by not one but two writers: TWO SISTERS (about the sibling rivalry), DEATH OF A CLOWN (ironic, not maudlin, DAVID WATTS (wistful), SITUATION VACANT (fun, but not silly) and WATERLOO SUNSET (romantic).
Like the Beatles' masterpiece, REVOLVER, SOMETHING ELSE doesn't contain two songs that sound the same. Arrangements vary from one track to the next: Elizabethan harpsichord (TWO SISTERS) to bossa nova (NO RETURN) to pub singalong (HARRY RAG).
I never tire of this album and rank it among the top 10 records of the 60s.
This deluxe edition features the mono mix. I've heard the stereo and it's a toss-up regarding which is better. However, this package adds extra tracks that are worth the money. Packaging is first rate with decent liner notes and many graphics.
4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This album is excellent. One of my preferred releases of the Kinks.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9cef266c) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cf3f540) out of 5 stars To counterbalance the previous review Nov. 27 2007
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The previous reviewer's remark about Sanctuary "blowing it" is worth noting. But I think it is important, for anyone approaching the Kinks' catalog, to realize that this is probably the band's single best album---and that is saying something. And whatever its inferiorities to the Japanese import referred to in the previous review, I will attest that this CD sounds fine to my ears, contains all sorts of delightful bonus material, and is, unlike many Japanese imports, readily affordable.

A newcomer to this band looking up the Kinks on would, up until now, see this particular record---a record that begins with "David Watts," ends with "Waterloo Sunset" (before the bonus material starts), and doesn't flag between those two rather dizzy peaks---slapped with a two-star review. This could lead to unthinkable consequences. Someone might buy *Come Dancing* instead, base his or her opinion of the Kinks on THAT, and never experience the pleasure of hearing one of the best albums of 1967---a year that witnessed as many, or more, great albums than any other in rock history. Consumer warnings of the audiophile variety have their place, but it's important that buyers know where to start. Start HERE, with *Something Else*, whether this version, the Japanese version, or an 8-track. It is an album no serious collection should lack.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d560954) out of 5 stars The audiophile is wrong Dec 12 2008
By Nuclear Snake - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Sanctuary didn't "blow it" with this reissue; quite the contrary, this is the best version of this album ever committed to CD for one simple reason: It's the rare original mono mix, which is a lot punchier and brighter than the original stereo mix -- and which also accounts for the alleged crude "fade-outs" (a characterization I would dispute) referenced in another review. But beyond that, the mono mix had been next to impossible to obtain for years -- at least on a clean LP copy; why not reissue it for those interested? (Who cares about some stupid Japanese version anyway. Stereo versions of this album -- including Reprise's still-in-print U.S. CD --are all over the place.)

As for the music, I'll just second what's already been written. No album with songs like "Love Me Till the Sun Shines," "Waterloo Sunset," "Death of a Clown" and "David Watts" should be absent from any serious rock 'n' roll collection. Eight cool bonus tracks (including some Dave Davies solo singles and non-LP Kinks tracks), too.
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4cfb28) out of 5 stars Sanctuary blew it - Avoid This CD Dec 20 2004
By Harman Saddlebow - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I purchased this CD thinking it would be the latest and greatest as far as "Something Else..." was concerned. Unfortunately, not only was I disappointed with the mix, (compare "Situation Vacant" to the Japanese Stereo version released several years earlier), but I was also shocked to hear several tracks ending abruptly with crude fade-outs. "Autumn Almanac" sounded far better on the "Kinks Kronikles" set from 1990 - not to mention I got to hear Ray's final "yes" lyrics and Dave's backward guitar lines. Sanctuary blew it!